We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"don't go"” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Norbreck Castle Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Norbreck Castle Hotel
Ranked #71 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Newton Aycliffe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“"don't go"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 night stay, Friday night hotel was warm, Saturday night was a different story. Down stairs was absolutely freezing. Had to change in to jumpers and coats. Totally unacceptable. Not a word of apology from anyone! As for entertainment, for get it. Stay at home or elsewhere, at least you will be warm.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank emma90_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    782
    1,109
    859
    2,335
See reviews for
1,698
1,812
115
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,458)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed here through discount package in a group of six. Excellent value. Rooms clean and warm. Food certainly value for money. Thought the entertainment finished a bit early and would have liked a late night disco. But no complaints from me. Would certainly go back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

was so looking forward to a special weekend for valentines day and my birthday at this britania hotel .....what a complete and utter disappointment .this hotel is old in dire need of renovation and worst of all freezing!!we had room 89 which was miles from reception in the bowels of the building ,the room was old tatty furniture old tv and not very clean also gale force winds blowing through the closed windows!!the room was cold all weekend had to ask for blankets the bed was old and bumpy !I could of cried ,we went to look at the pool area and gym ...pool was closed gym was ok ,pool and Jacuzzi to be honest did not look very inviting ,it was drafty and cold .went to the conservatory bar area everyone was sat with coats on it was freezing old and scruffy !when you look at the pics of this place it looks so nice !what a complete lie this place just got worse we had to stand for 15 ins for breakfast it was drafty and cold in the dining area people satw ith coats on .we didn't get served a hot drink until we had finished our breakfast it was so busy and disorganised !the food wasn't to bad to be honest but oh my god it was like being in a kids canteen!!it was very windy in blackpool when we went but surely the hotel should have double glazing shouldn't ???haha no chance.the room had clearly not been hooverd there was black mould round the bath and the tiles were dirty ,there was hot water but not hot enough we were cold all weekend !we paid £50 a night which is probs about average ,there was a lot of people complaining at breakfast as to the facilities in this hotel shame on you BRITANIA HOTELS for spoiling my special weekend!!come on blackpool you really need to shape up your standards no wonder its gong under!!we tried to not let it spoil our weekend but I really was looking forward to spending time in the pool area and having some me time .we didn't even go down for breakfast on the sunday as we saw more coach loads of people arriving on sat night and we thought no way were we going to chance it!i would of complained at reception and told them what I thought of there hotel but there was a constant stream of people at the desk .I wasn't prepared to wait in the drafty reception area!if you are reading this don't stay here its just horrible.

Room Tip: get to the door and turn round go and find a travelogue!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agnes187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Northwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Valentines weekend booked for us and our friends at the Grand Metropole. Friends arrived - booking all wrong. To cut a long story short we were moved to Norbreck Castle - very disappointed to say the least. Booked the Metropole to be near the town. Norbreck very tired and dated, in bad need of a complete refurb and the staff (apart from one lady on reception) gave the impression they didn't want to be there, they were rude and abrupt and walked around with sullen faces. As a regular user of Britannia Hotels I have been left feeling very disheartened and extremely disappointed with this visit. Very sad as we had invited our friends to accompany us, just hoping they will still come away with us again!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

The overall temperature of the comunal rooms ie Bars caberet room....restaurant ....freezing!..Cold air blowing on u from overhead vents.. Everybody in outdoor coats and complaining....rooms lovely and warm but u don't go on holiday to stay in your room .....everybody complaining but nothing being done about it ....completely ruined the weekend

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

the room and bed linen were clean,but the room was cold and heater was useless.the reception and bar areas were very draughty and cold.on the plus the food and the waiting staff were both courteous and very good at their jobs.we will not be going back there.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harry l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lothersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

It was our second year at the Norbreck for the North West Stages Rally. I had again seen the reviews on here for recent trippers and was amazed at so many moaners. I mean, if you can review on here, you can certainly read some too and yet they STILL chose to stay here. How can they write but not read and then still book and complain? Its beyond me!

Our second visit was as good as the one a yr ago. We had a fantastic room, yes it was dated and not as modern as I would have liked but for goodness sake, it cost me £58 for 2 nights Dinner, Bed and Breakfast! I coulda gone somewhere very luxurious and paid over £100 per night for room only but this was fine. And check out my pictures, the food was fantastic, yes not The Ivy, but damn good food and lots of choice. The breakfast was great, lots of choice again, cold milk for the range of cereals on offer and plenty of bacon, sausages, etc to go round the 1000 guests. We tried out the cinema. It shows 4 films a day, FREE and was great, nice and cosy. Watched Despicable Me 2 and Iron Man 3.
So, yes its dated, its tired and in need of repair but plates, cutlery, bathrooms, beds, toilets, were clean so like I said, read the reviews and make up your own mind (if you have one) where you wanna stay and how much you wanna spend. It was fine for us but it is horses for courses.

Also I would like to praise the staff at the Norbreck. They do a stirling job and the turnaround in the function rooms is incredible. We found all the staff we encountered to be friendly and helpful which if they read some of the reviews on here, they should be suicidal! Staff, you are doing a great job.:)

Right, here were our gripes this visit...
1. The room was cold on arrival but guess what? I turned up the radiator valve and it was red hot in no time.
2. The shower in our room 530 was really suited for a midget but they didnt know I was 5'8" and my husband was 6' 2"! we managed, and the shower was lovely. Lots of hot water.
3. Bed too hard and pillows not soft enuff. They didnt know we like soft beds and fluffy pillows!

So really, NO GRIPES. But I had to think of some so you dont think I am biased...again.

WELL DONE NORBRECK, Dont let the gripers get you down.

Room Tip: We were in room 530 (double with sea view). If youre not happy, be nice and go tell them your proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank animalhunt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,744 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,980 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#47 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,934 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norbreck Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbreck Castle Hotel

Property: Norbreck Castle Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Norbreck Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norbreck Castle Hotel is a fun and vibrant enviroment especially at weekends and during holiday periods. The Hotel overlooks the seafront on the North Shore, and is close to Blackpools' major attractions and entertainment. This stunning Castle like hotel offers a warm welcome to the famous Seaside Resort of Blackpool.The hotel has 480 bedrooms, many with sea views that offer a comfortable and relaxing stay. All tastefully decorated, rooms are en-suite and offer TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Norbreck Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbreck Castle Blackpool
Norbreck Hotel
Hotel Norbreck Castle
Norbreck Castle Hotel Blackpool
Castle Hotel Norbreck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing