We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Norbreck Castle Hotel
Ranked #68 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
hartlepool
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Checked in tonight I thought good service was a thing of the past, certainly not tonight as was served by Debbie,she was very welcoming, helpful, very patient nothing was a problem, checking in was a pleasure

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mikehartlepool013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    825
    1,174
    921
    2,507
See reviews for
1,841
1,917
138
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,550)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We would happily stay over and over again the rooms are clean and your staff are friendly the food was good the only comment we have is the swimming prices need to be advertised on arrival your parking facility was fantastic where as other hotels dont provide this kind of service

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Integrety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed here many times. OK for me as its cheap and chearfull. I always tell people that I would never recommend the hotel. Visiting this week I am really annoyed that they have introduced a £4per day charge for using the leisure complex which is the only reason for me to stay here. I don't think. Will be back because of this new charge.there are lots of hotels in Blackpool crying out for business. I think this is the only one in town barging for the pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philip m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel on a National Holidays Gala Weekend. Had requested a quiet room not near a fire exit or machine room with a front facing view if possible. On arrival was allocated a double room with one side of the bed pushed up against the wall that had the corridor on the opposite side & was directly adjacent to the lift; one window looked directly out to a concrete wall - hardly accommodating the request I had made. It was obvious the heating in the room wasn't working as a portable oil-filled radiator had been left in the room & also the telephone did not work so no communication with Reception was possible; the trek down to reception was a fair way to ask for room re-allocation! We were told that 16 coaches were expected that weekend and the whole process seemed like a production line with no personal touches. Eventually, after joining the long queue in Reception with other disgruntled guests, we were allocated a family room on the top floor which was much nicer than the first and had 5 windows all overlooking the front, both the room and bathroom were spacious. Mealtimes were also like a production line which I suppose was understandable with so many guests staying there, however there was one particular female waitress who was most rude when my partner requested a jug of water without ice; who wants ice in their water during winter? She stated that it was how it was made up in the kitchen and no special request could be accommodated for water without ice; later she was seen relaying the conversation to another waiter and clearly giving hand signals that my partner was crazy for requesting such a thing - the waiter was heard to tell her to just do as had been asked but no she had to make an issue of it - at such times I question who is ultimately responsible for paying their wages and what customer service skills are they trained in. I realise that all guests are not easily accommodated and some can be downright rude towards staff but this wasn't the case with our request. The first evenings entertainment had an Abba tribute group & bingo session. Only one bar was open in the whole hotel and it took an hour queuing to get a drink; many people were complaining of the ridiculous situation - it was no good giving free drink vouchers if it was impossible to obtain a drink - at the end of the holiday we had 10 free drink vouchers remaining - unused! People could be heard complaining to management at having paid in excess of £20 for bingo tickets and then missing the games due to being in the queue for drinks - one guest was threatening to go on the stage and use the PA system to voice his complaint, to which the manager told him he would be escorted from the premises if he did! We didn't attend the 2nd night's entertainment but noticed that another bar had been left open longer for people to obtain drinks from. The excursion to Liverpool was ok. The hotel is in need of refurbishment badly - you get what you pay for I guess. The Blackpool transport system is good and trams & buses are regular outside the hotel - the tram being the smoother option of the two. The hotel has the potential to be better - it is no excuse that because it is a large hotel and caters mainly for coach parties that the standard is not so good; I have stayed at larger hotels abroad which are run more efficiently and of better standard. I would not return to the Norbreck - it was an experience I would prefer not to repeat - the hotel is jaded and in need of refurbishment and should be an on-going project when guests are paying for a standard - Premier Inn & Travelodge are the better option I hate to say.

Room Tip: On the beach would be better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smartiedj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Group line-dance weekend organised by Kingsland. I had read the reviews and was rather worried. I was in a single executive bedroom on third floor (room 370) which had a sea view. The room was small but perfectly adequate for the price paid. Very clean and white towels and bed linen changed daily. Lovely hot shower and bath. It was very windy outside so was quite noisy, but it was freak weather. We had to use the ballroom for the dancing as the norcolympia function venue had flooded because of the severe weather, which I think was a blessing is disguise as the Ballroom was very warm and just the right size for 200 keen dancers. The food was excellent and buffet style, good quality and there was plenty of it. The reception staff were very pleasant, sadly not the same could be said for the Bar staff who seemed unable to raise a smile all weekend. The public areas in the main hotel were cold, but again we had a private function in the ballroom so were lucky.

To sum up a budget hotel, food very good, most of the staff very helpful, so I would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: I found room 370 to be okay, not posh, but you get what you pay for. It was warm, clean and comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrPLater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Just returned from the Norbreck with my hubby for valentines weekend we stayed there on the Saturday night, I don't know what the entertainment was like as we got a tram into town which cost £2 each way per person tram stop is outside hotel, we had a drink in the bar and the bar staff were very friendly but the whole bar/entertainment and reception area was freezing cold we had to keep our coats on like everyone else not really acceptable when your sat inside. We asked for a refurbished room and were given one on the 5th floor it looked like the walls had been recently decorated but the furniture and tv were old, the beds were clean and comfy and the bathroom was decent and clean, the walls were really thin and could hear voices and tv etc from next door. Our evening meal was disappointing not much choice at all only roast potatoes with carrots and brocolli to go with either turkey,salmon or casserole then choice of cake for desert also had dishes left on our table that hadn't been cleared, for breakfast there was a big queue for a start then we had to wait for it food too be refilled it was really busy and crowded, would not recommend..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandyCornwell_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We didn't expect 5* for what we paid but we didn't expect to so cold in the bars,restaurant,entertainment room reception you had to wear your outdoor clothes to keep warm even in the evening!
My girlfriend (it was valentines) had packed nice dresses shoes etc
and had to go back up to the room to change! Ridiculous.
The food was ok but the restaurant was cold and draughty....just what
you need on a romantic weekend! Our room was warm thank god
I went to reception to complain and ask why everywhere was so cold
and was told the wind was blowing in the wrong direction and knocking ALL the heaters off! (you can't swear on this forum!)
Everyone had their coats scarves etc on watching the night entertainment even the hostess who did the bingo had her coat on and the bar staff had fleeces on!
In the so called Sports Bar "Copper Jacks " there was no TV of any kind on...A weekend when it was the F A Cup and winter Olympics ...the staff told us it was broken!
All in all a disastrous weekend.. this hotel chain should be ashamed of the way it treats it's paying customers and maybe the groups of coach parties should boycott this particular hotel until it resolves these issues as they have a louder voice than me!
Can I just point out the high winds were NOT when we were there just your normal feb Blackpool weather

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Aiden M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,040 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,203 reviews
4.8 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#30 of 73 in Blackpool
3,673 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rose Hotel and Spa
Rose Hotel and Spa
#64 of 73 in Blackpool
17 reviews
2.1 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#59 of 73 in Blackpool
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norbreck Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbreck Castle Hotel

Property: Norbreck Castle Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Norbreck Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norbreck Castle Hotel is a fun and vibrant enviroment especially at weekends and during holiday periods. The Hotel overlooks the seafront on the North Shore, and is close to Blackpools' major attractions and entertainment. This stunning Castle like hotel offers a warm welcome to the famous Seaside Resort of Blackpool.The hotel has 480 bedrooms, many with sea views that offer a comfortable and relaxing stay. All tastefully decorated, rooms are en-suite and offer TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Norbreck Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbreck Castle Blackpool
Norbreck Hotel
Hotel Norbreck Castle
Norbreck Castle Hotel Blackpool
Castle Hotel Norbreck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing