We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Norbreck Castle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$115
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sheraton(Blackpool)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Maples Hotel(Blackpool)
US$89
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$90
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$74
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Hotel(Blackpool)
US$93
US$73
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyndene Hotel(Blackpool)(Great Value!)
US$43
US$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Blackpool South Shore(Blackpool)(Great Value!)
US$58
US$54
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (6,224)
Filter reviews
6,224 results
Traveller rating
398
872
1,240
991
2,723
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
398
872
1,240
991
2,723
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,365 - 3,370 of 6,224 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This is a very large old building and does not really afford a cosy retreat. There are approx 480 rooms. The rooms were basic. Clean enough. Reasonable size. Nothing to write home about. Adequate. The hotel decor was reasonable and tidy enough throughout.

The main Ball Room was shut due to the roof leaking in badly. I suppose not the Hotel's fault. The entertainment was put on, in the communal bar area. This consisted of Bingo starting late (after 9pm) for half an hour or so and then a singer, who was done and dusted by just after 10pm. Good singer but blink and you'd missed it. They then just played a CD.

The hotel was warmish on the Friday night but very cold all day Saturday and Saturday night. Take a coat or cardigan. Everyone was shivering.

The dining room was busy and tables packed in close together. Get to breakfast by 8.15am otherwise be prepared to queue to get in. The breakfast food and evening meals were very good.

The swimming pool was closed. It costs £2.00 per swimming session but couldn't test as it was closed all weekend along with jacuzzi etc. There is a cinema showing decent films for the kids.

To travel into blackpool from the hotel getting off near the tower is £2.00 each way by tram. Tram stop across the road. Very Large hotel car park so fairly easy to park if travelling by car.

Checking in was fairly easy and quick. There are 7 floors in some parts of the hotel.

The copper jacks pub (near reception) was shut a lot but if open between 4pm and 7pm it cost £2.20 per pint of Tetley or Carlsberg. Quite a trendy funky bar area. When this was shut, the hotel bar is £3.25 per pint. There is a small arcade with gaming machines opposite the side door of Copper Jacks.

The hotel all in all was okay. Not really cosy however, very impersonal and to be honest too large and cold both in temperature and atmosphere. Okay stay but wouldn't rush back.

Room Tip: Pot luck as approx. 480 rooms. The lifts were slow so a lower floor probably easier and quicker to access.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fair2middling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

So we paid £ 25 for B and B !! Yea 25 quid for the both of us! So of course we took the offer with a little trepidation,I have to admit I am not Blackpool fan per say ,and after visiting on a Monday ( I know ) I havnt changed my mind it is appalling,agreed they have done their best to tart it up,but so far failed miserably,away from the Prom it's ghastly,very few ,if any quirky different pubs bars or restaurants .Come on Blackpool you really need to have a good look at yourselves.
Therefore one of the Norbrecks attributes is that it is 3 mile north ( 1 hour walk ,15 minute tram ride ) of Blackpool tower,almost in Cleveleys,and the sea front there is very nice indeed ,ideal for walkers and the beach is nice too.
So to the 'Castle ' a huge odd looking building ( a failed attempt ) very very popular apparently with coach trips.Our room apart from the appalling view ( hey what do you expect for £ 25)the room was excellent ,small ok but clean ,neat and tidy,lovely scorching hot water for a bath and nicely warm.No problems here.
We checked out the swimming pool which was brilliant,you really couldn't complain.Entertainment provided in the evening a little naff but the singer was excellent ( not our cup of tea) and it was enjoyed by everyone.
Breakfast was served in the huge dining rooms and we did chuckle that we had to queue,but honestly that would be picknicking.
The N C most redeeming factor was for us the plentiful extremely friendly ,efficient and attentive staff.( No I don't work or know anyone who does work here)
We admitted we wouldn't have dreamt of staying here years ago,but that's when we were younger and snobs.
We won't be booking a fortnight here,but what I will do is recommend the Norbreck if you can get a similar deal,especially if you have kids.
Overall we very pleasantly surprised ,and do recommend if you accept it's negatives.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed here for just the one night, The person who checked us in was clearly being trained as his customer service lacked just a little of what youd expect from hotel reception staff.

Our room was warm and comfortable, but you couldn't watch tv in bed as the tv was on a small stand on the floor so you couldn't see it from the bed.

The breakfast was a buffet style but the room in which it is served is so large that the service lacks a bit but the food served was pretty good.

There is a restaurant for use if you haven't booked the set evening meal option but it was closed so we phoned In a pizza from a nearby pizza shop (lol)

Check out time was 10am but at 9am there was a knock on the door from the cleaners waiting to clean the room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

we tried a family break here in feb 14, we did not stay we checked out...the room was basic and badly in need of an update the room was tiny..the food was worse than any school dinner I could ever imagine..when walking about the hotel you stuck to the carpets , the chairs were dirty .
I was surrounded by 4 coach loads of people,the people stood around swearing , hen parties , def not family entertainment

Room Tip: Pick another hotel I have never walked out of a hotel but this was terrible.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westyorkshire-gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Checked in tonight I thought good service was a thing of the past, certainly not tonight as was served by Debbie,she was very welcoming, helpful, very patient nothing was a problem, checking in was a pleasure

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank mikehartlepool013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews