We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Awful!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Norbreck Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Norbreck Castle Hotel
Ranked #71 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely Awful!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

I've never written a review before but I feel the need to shout from the roof tops how bad this hotel is.

Myself and my husband stayed for 2 nights 21st feb-23rd feb. On arrival there were no parking spaces so had to park on a side road. When we actually entered the hotel the reception area was very very old fashioned and run down. we were checked in quickly but had to walk through the busy bar area with our cases where kids were just running everywhere knocking into anything and everything.

The lift going up to the room (balmoral, 4th floor) was an absolute disgrace. It was smelly and littered and was also the slowest lift ever! The same litter was still on the lift floor when we left on the sunday. When we eventually got to the room I was genuinely mortified! It was disgusting. Stains on the carpet, bed linen and curtains. The furniture in there was probably made in the 1940s and was falling to bits.

We paid extra for a sea view room but the window was that dirty we could hardly see out of it. Also the window frame had come loose and was constantly banging away in the wind.

We went downstairs to the Copper Face Jacks bar. Again, it was disgusting. mould growing out of the wall and a massive hole above the window were there had obviously been a leak at some point. The whole place was thick with dust and very very out dated.

If you plan on actually sleeping whilst you're in blackpool then this hotel definitely isn't for you! The noise level is ridiculous! Walls are so thin you can hear every cough, burp...etc. There were also water pipes running through our room and every time someone in another room flushed a toilet or turned on a tap they made an almighty roar! The couple in the room next door were constantly argueing or 'making up' very very loudly!! Having the headboard banging against the wall as well as someone screaming is not what you want to be hearing at 3am!!!

Breakfast was embarrassing.... it was like a cattle market! Restaurant staff were rude & unfriendly and the food was just disgusting.

Looking back at the photos of the hotel on the booking.com website they are very very very misleading. The pictures could be of another hotel because what I saw with my own eyes was nothing at all like the photos!

I can't tell you what the pool and spa facilities were like because the pool was full of kids screaming and splashing around so we chose not to go in.

The only good thing about this hotel was the shower! Very powerful!

Its safe to say I will never ever return to the Norbreck Castle Hotel and I will advise others never to go there!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holly_Hanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    782
    1,109
    859
    2,335
See reviews for
1,698
1,812
115
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,458)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed 4 nights and for two people bed & breakfast we paid £100; fantastic value! The hotel is very large, and a little old and tired. We used it purely as a base to sleep but there was live entertainment every night as well as a swimming pool & gym (I think at extra cost).As it was half term it was full of families with young children and the only problem we had was that there seemed to be lots of children running around uncontrolled by parents.

Room Tip: Request a room on lower floors as there were very few lifts which were also slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed here for 5 days with national holidays. The hotel is basic, looks nothing like the pictures and is very old. Clean rooms (small but adequate), 4 channels on the tv and no Wi-fi in the rooms. ( Only downstairs in Reception). Lovely shower in bathroom and facilities downstairs like the Ballroom, Gym & Swim. One thing that i was not happy about was the smoking policy. There are approx 480 rooms consiting of 2 blocks. Floors 1 - 5 in the left block are smoking rooms, but were not made aware of this untill we went downstairs to complain about the corridor smelling of smoke. In general this is a good hotel but could do with ALOT of improvements.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are non smoking rooms and are a lot quieter. The main block of floors 1 -5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 551annonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Northumberland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

4 days with National Holidays staying at the Delightful Norbreck Castle. Absolutely everything you will need. I was allocated top floor sea view single room (534) which was en suite (like all the rooms) The bed was comfortable and the bath was perfect size. Ample room for just me. We had the 99p bat promotion on and I must say it is tremendous, 99P for a pint, 99p for anything, between 6-9pm how good is that, Please note this is only with National Holidays, or if you book one of the hotels 99p bar breaks. The food is beautiful as usual with lots to choose from. Im not going to complain about the 10 minutes queuing in the morning as after all they had 6 coach parties in.

Another huge well done to the staff at Norbreck for making my stay a welcoming one and I look forward to returning in the Easter holidays

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevensliam93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We only stayed for one night and found the norbreck absolutely fine. The one night stay was brilliant value.. a mere £22.90 for 2 adults AND a child.. Staff were friendly and as for the other the negative reviews.. pffft! Ok the hotel is a little dated and needs some tlc but it was clean, warm and the breakfast was great too! Not sure where people were staying when they complain about it being cold.. the heating was definitely cranked up! It's not a place that I'd stay for a week but a night or two. .. smashing!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank hallt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Having read the previous reviews after booking our 3 night break I was ready to cancel. I am delighted we didn't. Ok it's not the flashiest hotel but our room was clean and warm, the food was good and the staff from restaurant, reception, bar and spa were helpful polite and hospitable. I think it is great value for money. If you want the Ritz then pay the price. At £95 for 3 nights b&b for 2 I have had a good time. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanActor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Where do you start without upsetting anybody? You either like Blackpool or you don't. If you know Blackpool, you know what to expect and then you won't be disappointed.
Haven't been for years and decided to stay over. Booked the Norbreck Castle on the last minute and for the price, you can't complain.
The hotel is huge, you could get lost. There were banquet halls, meeting rooms, ball rooms, a cinema, games room (closed) and I don't know how many bed rooms. breakfast was like a military operation and almost of biblical numbers, well not quite 5000!
The staff were friendly and helpful in fact everybody in Lancashire is friendly.
The weather was wild outside and the sea front is only across the road. The hotel is situated outside Blackpool just beyond Bispham but the tram stop opposite can take you to the centre or to Fleetwood in the other direction.
With nightly entertainment, you can't go wrong! I will go again!
PS - forgot to mention it has a pool and gym which I didn't use, looked good though!

Room Tip: We were in an annexe which was newer than the main hotel. I would be interested to see whatthe main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redandy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,741 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#46 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norbreck Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbreck Castle Hotel

Property: Norbreck Castle Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Norbreck Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norbreck Castle Hotel is a fun and vibrant enviroment especially at weekends and during holiday periods. The Hotel overlooks the seafront on the North Shore, and is close to Blackpools' major attractions and entertainment. This stunning Castle like hotel offers a warm welcome to the famous Seaside Resort of Blackpool.The hotel has 480 bedrooms, many with sea views that offer a comfortable and relaxing stay. All tastefully decorated, rooms are en-suite and offer TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Norbreck Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbreck Castle Blackpool
Norbreck Hotel
Hotel Norbreck Castle
Norbreck Castle Hotel Blackpool
Castle Hotel Norbreck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing