We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bleak!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Norbreck Castle Hotel
Ranked #69 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Pictures on the booking website did not reflect the actual horror that is the norbreck!! We were very very disappointed with every aspect from the hideously old rooms decorated with grubby dark ripped furniture and bedding that was strewn on the hard lumpy beds. Car,Parking was not secure and the breakfast was a feeding frenzy!! We booked for two nights but only stayed the one and booked into the Blackpool fc hotel which was like another world compared to the tired norbreck. You get exactly what you pay for!! The only plus were the staff on reception who tried to ensure we were happy!! Never ever again!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dez1423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,082)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,188 - 3,194 of 6,083 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

Myself and my partner stayed here on sat 8th march on b&b basis and paid £35 through late rooms. I was pleasantly surprised at the amount of facilities and the size of the hotel. We used the pool and spa facilities which were ok but not brill although for £2 you don't expect much.
The room we got was an executive upgrade with a Jacuzzi bath (no47) It was very small about 8 ft square with a frosted window with crt tv and one bedside cabinet with wardrobe of not very good quality and old wood furniture. Cleanliness not bad and bathroom ok but very narrow (had to get to toilet sideways past sink and bath). Quite dingy to say the least.
The evening entertainment started at 8pm with a male singer who was ok but a bit cheesy then bingo at 9pm and followed with star cabaret at 10 which was called Hollywood nights with dancers and two singers one from earlier and female singer consisting of medleys from films james bond, dirty dancing, mamma mia, etc. It was not that bad though to be fair with a disco to finish night until midnight.
Breakfast was chaos with 480 rooms all wanting breakfast at same time, no fried eggs offered or pastries and fruit was tasteless and tinned not fresh, rest was normal: sausages, bacon etc all ok and edible with cereals and toast.
To finish all in all a good break for price and would return, much better than savoy or metropole hotels at same price and Britannia group but still could do with a million being thrown at it to clean things up which would only impact price though.

Room Tip: use late rooms if only booking for one night and ask for free upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ratbag1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Where to start, the pool has slimy green mould every where in it. Steam room was dirty. Food was s*** choice of 3 meat and about two veg :/ smelt like poo in the corridors. The room was okay though. Cinema aas rubbish broken seats. Arcade couple machines didnt work . No tv channels and a lack of towels

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Room very out dated, dark and pokey, bed linen was inside out, heating pipes made a terrible noise in the early hours, thick layer of dust on top of the wardrobe, sink kept blocking up and the hot water took ages to come even Luke warm. Towels were hard. Food was ok but very busy and had to wait for fresh cooked food to be bought out. Parking was a joke people seemed to dump there vehicles where ever. Won't stay again

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank blondeylaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We had a weekend getaway in Blackpool with my family during the school break. The kids had a wonderful time and we all enjoyed the buffet meals for breakfast and dinner. Our room was immaculately clean.

The staff were very friendly and always happy to serve.

We had a meal in Boston Restaurant a more formal setting with table service and the menu selection was excellent.

Our kids enjoyed the swimming pool so much. I am very impressed on how clean it was.

I will certainly recommend this hotel to all my family and friends and certainly we shall be back!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I booked the Norbreck Castle hotel for a two day break 01/03/14 till 03/03/14. When my wife read the reviews she wanted to cancel the booking, I am really pleased that we did not!. I had booked a double room without a sea view and we were surprised that we had been upgraded with a sea view. Because the hotel was full on the Saturday night we were worried that there would be a long wait at dinner but there was no waiting at all. We were shown to our table, served with our starter and the main course and sweet were from the buffet. The food was excellent and the plates and food were very hot. As stated our room had a nice view of the sea and was cleaned each morning, also we had fresh towels each day. The bar prices were not unreasonable with a pint of lager £3.25 and a glass of wine at £3.00. The entertainment was excellent as was the breakfast the next morning. I really don't understand why the reviews are so bad. This hotel is not a 5 star but you do not pay 5 star prices. We paid £90.00 for 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast which was excellent value. I really think people should remember this when writing their review. We will certainly return to "The Norbreck Castle Hotel. Malcolm Dobson, Telford.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the front with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malrich2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I have never felt the need to write a review before now and unfortunately the first review I will write is a poor one so ok let's start with the positives the staff were lovely and very helpful the room was large and clean . Now for the negatives the hotel is dirty it smells dirty and looks dirty ,the food was cold and unappetizing and the entertainment second best guests seem to be allowed to run riot even after midnight running up and down corridors shouting and this was ADULTS . We paid for a 2night stay and left after 1

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Margaret rose W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#30 of 73 in Blackpool
3,375 reviews
2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,255 reviews
3.5 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#32 of 73 in Blackpool
4,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
549 reviews
4.8 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,244 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norbreck Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbreck Castle Hotel

Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £25 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Norbreck Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norbreck Castle Hotel is a fun and vibrant enviroment especially at weekends and during holiday periods. The Hotel overlooks the seafront on the North Shore, and is close to Blackpools' major attractions and entertainment. This stunning Castle like hotel offers a warm welcome to the famous Seaside Resort of Blackpool.The hotel has 480 bedrooms, many with sea views that offer a comfortable and relaxing stay. All tastefully decorated, rooms are en-suite and offer TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Norbreck Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbreck Castle Blackpool
Norbreck Hotel
Hotel Norbreck Castle
Norbreck Castle Hotel Blackpool
Castle Hotel Norbreck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing