We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smells”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Norbreck Castle Hotel
Ranked #71 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Unfortunetely I was disappointed at this hotel, looks lovely, in desperate need of upgrade, and the balmoral corridor was a distgusting smell, staff also needed customer care lessons. would definitely never recommend or stay here again.

Room Tip: another hotel no matter how cheap, hubby said breakfast was the best part although I was feeling sic...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorraine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,905)
There are newer reviews for Norbreck Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,009 - 3,015 of 5,905 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Arrived lunch time, excellent parking, but check In a nightmare, very slow. Had room key at 2.30 as promised. Room 449 sea view as paid for. Room very small. Windows filthy. Window catches locked and broken, safety chains on windows broken and hanging loose. Bathroom very dated,dirty and a poor standard. Black hairs still in the bath and taps difficult to close after running bath. Room door catch loose and minus a safety chain.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gaz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

room 545 smoking room led on2 fire escape,window was dirty yes needs furniture and tv updating but room was clean,,shower looked very old but was very hot,powerfull, breaky was hot and gurd but not hp sauce and not kellogs cornflakes,the cinema was great,the pool Jacuzzi steam room sauna was lovely and clean,the different areas to sit and have a drink were great,we never heard or seen any drunken louts b4 or after we went to bed,all staff were polite we would stay again evan though it could do with a makeover we had a lovey time...thanx everyone tracy,john halpin..

Room Tip: lots people complain about entertainment keeping them awake we could hardly here it as we was on 5th...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doogle1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I stayed at the Norbreck Castle Hotel 7th to 9th March 2014 as part of a line dancing weekend with Kingshill holidays. A group of us stayed there along with other groups staying there for the same reason. Initially on arriving you are struck by the very nice sea view which the hotel has. Also it has a large car park unlike many hotel car parks in Blackpool. When you look at the outside of the building it is very big but you can't fail to notice that it is not regularly maintained. The writing above the sports bar has letters missing and looked like it had been like that for some time. I saw a drainpipe coming down the building and it literally just poured onto the ground at the side of the building as there was no drain. Unfortunately the same level of maintenance continues once you are inside the hotel. I stayed in room 54 on the ground floor. It was a single room and it was indeed very small. Saying that, as far as the size goes it would have been adequate for sleeping, however there was no working extractor in the internal bathroom. There was a considerable amount of black mould on the ceiling of the bathroom and it smelt of damp. Not really a place you would expect to come out of feeling clean. I would have thought that for some people this could potentially be a health issue. The furniture in the room was very dated and also quite abused. The linen was quite cheap and I had a hole in my pillow case. The cleaners were daily and they changed towels daily, then re-made your bed but that doesn't go any way to detracting from the more serious maintenance issues. There were 4 channels on the television and not one was watchable due to the interference and the remote didn't work properly to allow you to try and retune. You may think why didn't I complain but the faults I am mentioning are extremely clear for all too see so the hotel can't say they need me to bring this to their attention. They know exactly what they expected me to make do with for the weekend. I also explain more later on about other rooms. Where my room was located, it was very noisy during the night and early morning. It was close to a staff entrance and the door was exceptionally noisy going at all hours. Not just squeaking but banging. Additionally staff weren't exactly speaking quietly. I had ear plugs in but still hardly slept. I stuck this out for two days but had I been staying any longer I would have insisted on a better room as it didn't meet the most basic of expectations. The most basic of expectations is somewhere clean to shower and wash and somewhere to sleep. If you cannot sleep because of doors banging at the staff entrance and the bathroom is pretty grim. I'm by no means a snob but expect something to be fit for the purpose it is being sold. Some people who were in our party said their rooms were 'ok' but then there were others who also complained about the damp in their rooms and the faulty heating meaning some rooms were cold. A few also mentioned the noise which I have mentioned and they too had at least one fully sleepless night out of two. The bed in my single room was quite firm and while it did have a thin mattress pad on it, I am quite slim (with not much padding :-)) and I could feel the hardness of the springs. It would put me off going on another line dancing weekend with Kingshill if it was at this hotel as the room needs a full refurbishment however a lot of this is echoed throughout the hotel. Had I booked privately and seen room 54 with the mould in the bathroom etc I would have insisted on being moved. Had I then been moved to a room like my friend had (room) 84, also with mould in the bathroom and noise because it on the first floor above the staff entrance, I would have had to leave and stay elsewhere. There is an abundance of hotels in Blackpool so if you are not part of a prebooked group you can take your pick.
Changing the subject slightly, the food in the restaurant was edible. Not great but it actually matched the way the hotel is presented so after seeing your room and other maintenance issues, you are obviously not expecting great things at dinner or breakfast. There isn't a lot else to say about this really. I guess even a one star hotel you would expect a clean bathroom and a good nights sleep so unfortunately I struggle to even give this a rating at all on here as it not even going to be a consideration in the future. Sorry Norbreck Castle and sorry Kingshill holidays. I can't stay here again despite enjoying the line dancing itself.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Pictures on the booking website did not reflect the actual horror that is the norbreck!! We were very very disappointed with every aspect from the hideously old rooms decorated with grubby dark ripped furniture and bedding that was strewn on the hard lumpy beds. Car,Parking was not secure and the breakfast was a feeding frenzy!! We booked for two nights but only stayed the one and booked into the Blackpool fc hotel which was like another world compared to the tired norbreck. You get exactly what you pay for!! The only plus were the staff on reception who tried to ensure we were happy!! Never ever again!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dez1423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Myself and my partner stayed here on sat 8th march on b&b basis and paid £35 through late rooms. I was pleasantly surprised at the amount of facilities and the size of the hotel. We used the pool and spa facilities which were ok but not brill although for £2 you don't expect much.
The room we got was an executive upgrade with a Jacuzzi bath (no47) It was very small about 8 ft square with a frosted window with crt tv and one bedside cabinet with wardrobe of not very good quality and old wood furniture. Cleanliness not bad and bathroom ok but very narrow (had to get to toilet sideways past sink and bath). Quite dingy to say the least.
The evening entertainment started at 8pm with a male singer who was ok but a bit cheesy then bingo at 9pm and followed with star cabaret at 10 which was called Hollywood nights with dancers and two singers one from earlier and female singer consisting of medleys from films james bond, dirty dancing, mamma mia, etc. It was not that bad though to be fair with a disco to finish night until midnight.
Breakfast was chaos with 480 rooms all wanting breakfast at same time, no fried eggs offered or pastries and fruit was tasteless and tinned not fresh, rest was normal: sausages, bacon etc all ok and edible with cereals and toast.
To finish all in all a good break for price and would return, much better than savoy or metropole hotels at same price and Britannia group but still could do with a million being thrown at it to clean things up which would only impact price though.

Room Tip: use late rooms if only booking for one night and ask for free upgrade.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ratbag1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Where to start, the pool has slimy green mould every where in it. Steam room was dirty. Food was s*** choice of 3 meat and about two veg :/ smelt like poo in the corridors. The room was okay though. Cinema aas rubbish broken seats. Arcade couple machines didnt work . No tv channels and a lack of towels

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,101 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,257 reviews
4.8 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#32 of 73 in Blackpool
3,789 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
515 reviews
2.1 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#59 of 73 in Blackpool
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norbreck Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbreck Castle Hotel

Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £31 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Norbreck Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norbreck Castle Hotel is a fun and vibrant enviroment especially at weekends and during holiday periods. The Hotel overlooks the seafront on the North Shore, and is close to Blackpools' major attractions and entertainment. This stunning Castle like hotel offers a warm welcome to the famous Seaside Resort of Blackpool.The hotel has 480 bedrooms, many with sea views that offer a comfortable and relaxing stay. All tastefully decorated, rooms are en-suite and offer TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Norbreck Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbreck Castle Blackpool
Norbreck Hotel
Hotel Norbreck Castle
Norbreck Castle Hotel Blackpool
Castle Hotel Norbreck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing