We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Get What You Pay For”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Norbreck Castle Hotel
Ranked #71 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Oldham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“You Get What You Pay For”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

stayed here 2 nights £50 2 people bed and breakfast. Hotel is in need of cosmetic updates but hey! it was ok! our room was clean and tidy along with linnen and towels. ok tv only had 4 channels but you dont go to blackpool to sit in your hotel room and watch tv! Breakfast was fine full english as much as you want, cerials, fruit. for the money, we thought it was ok. The staff were friendly and polite. Each to thier own. you have to find out for yourself!

Helpful?
Thank Adam8267
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

5,517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    789
    1,125
    868
    2,363
See reviews for
1,720
1,833
120
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,472)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

just recently stayed. Booked for 3 nights at first booking in was okay didnt take long our room was 858 on the way up, (hard to find and bad directions) we got a toilet smell all the way up corridor and a smell also coming through the carpet theres chewing gum stood in anf turned black,the window handle is broken very hard to open and close WALLS ARE PAPER THIN! You can hear next doors conversations and snoring. The place also is in need of a very much needed UPDATE. Cant stress how much it needs renovated, prisons are more appealing than this hotel. Staff couldnt care less about anything you say, food was hit and miss cutlery was dirty and glasses, chairs in dining room stained. Never got told much if any information on food times, entertainent, what we had to pay for eg,pool,cinema. (not included in price) T.vs were broken had channel 1 and 2 oh and also had a view out the window to a scrap yard just what we wanted, ha. Overall it was a compleat and utter waste of money We would of rather of gone camping, that would of been probably more luxurious and fun. We just wish we had read the reviews before going ahed money and time wasted. and nothing done about it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sophiewarrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

were given a small double room recently redecorated,you could tell it had been by the paint on the picture frames where they painted round it lol,just in case it was room 109 and the worst mattarass i have ever slept on in my life,we did tell them when we left,they just said ok...on the whole the hotel is dirty,the carpets in the main bar come cabaret room are actually disgusting,also very hot in the bar and dining room,we sat at a table just after some people left,took about an hour before someone decided to clear the empty glasses and crisp packets off,but no cloth to wipe the table,all in all a bit of a hole and will not go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phil y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Unfortunetely I was disappointed at this hotel, looks lovely, in desperate need of upgrade, and the balmoral corridor was a distgusting smell, staff also needed customer care lessons. would definitely never recommend or stay here again.

Room Tip: another hotel no matter how cheap, hubby said breakfast was the best part although I was feeling sic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorraine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanbedr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Arrived lunch time, excellent parking, but check In a nightmare, very slow. Had room key at 2.30 as promised. Room 449 sea view as paid for. Room very small. Windows filthy. Window catches locked and broken, safety chains on windows broken and hanging loose. Bathroom very dated,dirty and a poor standard. Black hairs still in the bath and taps difficult to close after running bath. Room door catch loose and minus a safety chain.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gaz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

room 545 smoking room led on2 fire escape,window was dirty yes needs furniture and tv updating but room was clean,,shower looked very old but was very hot,powerfull, breaky was hot and gurd but not hp sauce and not kellogs cornflakes,the cinema was great,the pool Jacuzzi steam room sauna was lovely and clean,the different areas to sit and have a drink were great,we never heard or seen any drunken louts b4 or after we went to bed,all staff were polite we would stay again evan though it could do with a makeover we had a lovey time...thanx everyone tracy,john halpin..

Room Tip: lots people complain about entertainment keeping them awake we could hardly here it as we was on 5th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doogle1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Norbreck Castle Hotel 7th to 9th March 2014 as part of a line dancing weekend with Kingshill holidays. A group of us stayed there along with other groups staying there for the same reason. Initially on arriving you are struck by the very nice sea view which the hotel has. Also it has a large car park unlike many hotel car parks in Blackpool. When you look at the outside of the building it is very big but you can't fail to notice that it is not regularly maintained. The writing above the sports bar has letters missing and looked like it had been like that for some time. I saw a drainpipe coming down the building and it literally just poured onto the ground at the side of the building as there was no drain. Unfortunately the same level of maintenance continues once you are inside the hotel. I stayed in room 54 on the ground floor. It was a single room and it was indeed very small. Saying that, as far as the size goes it would have been adequate for sleeping, however there was no working extractor in the internal bathroom. There was a considerable amount of black mould on the ceiling of the bathroom and it smelt of damp. Not really a place you would expect to come out of feeling clean. I would have thought that for some people this could potentially be a health issue. The furniture in the room was very dated and also quite abused. The linen was quite cheap and I had a hole in my pillow case. The cleaners were daily and they changed towels daily, then re-made your bed but that doesn't go any way to detracting from the more serious maintenance issues. There were 4 channels on the television and not one was watchable due to the interference and the remote didn't work properly to allow you to try and retune. You may think why didn't I complain but the faults I am mentioning are extremely clear for all too see so the hotel can't say they need me to bring this to their attention. They know exactly what they expected me to make do with for the weekend. I also explain more later on about other rooms. Where my room was located, it was very noisy during the night and early morning. It was close to a staff entrance and the door was exceptionally noisy going at all hours. Not just squeaking but banging. Additionally staff weren't exactly speaking quietly. I had ear plugs in but still hardly slept. I stuck this out for two days but had I been staying any longer I would have insisted on a better room as it didn't meet the most basic of expectations. The most basic of expectations is somewhere clean to shower and wash and somewhere to sleep. If you cannot sleep because of doors banging at the staff entrance and the bathroom is pretty grim. I'm by no means a snob but expect something to be fit for the purpose it is being sold. Some people who were in our party said their rooms were 'ok' but then there were others who also complained about the damp in their rooms and the faulty heating meaning some rooms were cold. A few also mentioned the noise which I have mentioned and they too had at least one fully sleepless night out of two. The bed in my single room was quite firm and while it did have a thin mattress pad on it, I am quite slim (with not much padding :-)) and I could feel the hardness of the springs. It would put me off going on another line dancing weekend with Kingshill if it was at this hotel as the room needs a full refurbishment however a lot of this is echoed throughout the hotel. Had I booked privately and seen room 54 with the mould in the bathroom etc I would have insisted on being moved. Had I then been moved to a room like my friend had (room) 84, also with mould in the bathroom and noise because it on the first floor above the staff entrance, I would have had to leave and stay elsewhere. There is an abundance of hotels in Blackpool so if you are not part of a prebooked group you can take your pick.
Changing the subject slightly, the food in the restaurant was edible. Not great but it actually matched the way the hotel is presented so after seeing your room and other maintenance issues, you are obviously not expecting great things at dinner or breakfast. There isn't a lot else to say about this really. I guess even a one star hotel you would expect a clean bathroom and a good nights sleep so unfortunately I struggle to even give this a rating at all on here as it not even going to be a consideration in the future. Sorry Norbreck Castle and sorry Kingshill holidays. I can't stay here again despite enjoying the line dancing itself.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,803 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,026 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#47 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,967 reviews
4.9 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norbreck Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbreck Castle Hotel

Property: Norbreck Castle Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Norbreck Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norbreck Castle Hotel is a fun and vibrant enviroment especially at weekends and during holiday periods. The Hotel overlooks the seafront on the North Shore, and is close to Blackpools' major attractions and entertainment. This stunning Castle like hotel offers a warm welcome to the famous Seaside Resort of Blackpool.The hotel has 480 bedrooms, many with sea views that offer a comfortable and relaxing stay. All tastefully decorated, rooms are en-suite and offer TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Norbreck Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbreck Castle Blackpool
Norbreck Hotel
Hotel Norbreck Castle
Norbreck Castle Hotel Blackpool
Castle Hotel Norbreck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing