We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid staying here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Norbreck Castle Hotel
Ranked #69 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avoid staying here”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed in this place for 1 night and believe me that was enough, the place is totally rundown the room we stayed in was freezing cold tv out of the ark and could only get 2 channels and they were poor, furniture in the room was like something from the 80s there was a convention on when we were there but hotel never mentioned this when we booked. Every area of this place is long oversdue a refurbishment. If you are planning on visiting blackpool this place is a fair way outside of blackpool so dont expect a little stroll into blackpool it cost us £8 in a taxi, we booked a sea view yes you could see the sea if you looked past the rubbish tip that was outside!!!! When i spoke to the duty manager he basically said that its a budget hotel, at £65 a night i wouldnt really say its budget i mentioned how far out it was and he said we have a blackpool pistcode !!!!! Truly is the worst hotel i have ever stayed in and would never ever go there again

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WRG64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    796
    1,138
    882
    2,395
See reviews for
1,742
1,851
126
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,487)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Flintshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed with a group of friends although I was at the opposite end of the building to them, as we booked separately. Overall feeling is very tired and dated but staff were pleasant to us and it was very cheap. Breakfast was ok, nothing special but it was fresh when we ate and enjoyed the mini hash browns. Shower leaked and didn't work properly, but it was warm. We only wanted somewhere to sleep and have breakfast, so it was ok for us, but wouldn't stay for longer.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ai1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The days ticked by and soon we were to Visit a Castle...we were so excited...As we approached the hotel.and were welcomed by the lovely screaming kids..which had learned many interesting adjectives not to be found in the dictionary...oh well we hastily headed for the reception..to get the wonderful welcome...you cant come in er till 4pm..oh well not to be put of we found a seat...(will it probably looked liked a seat 40 years ago) aha it was soon time to get out key and fight our way to the only lift...But ahh we had a premier room,,with a sea view..so after 20 mins we got to our room and wow..it was a room...we rushed to look at the. sea ...but oh dear the window was so covered in dirt..we could hardly see anything..oh well it would be warm..but sadly after many phone calls they eventually put the heating on..now the room was so cute...although it is hard to move,and you do have the bonus of the thin walls that you can listen to your enticing neighbors kick the ....... out of each other..oh well after a night of very re-memorable happenings..it time to set of to the restaurant for er breakfast...you arrive to be greeted by a very long queue..but theirs so much of the delicious food piled up on plates left by those lucky punters able to get in..you get the feeling..lets not bother ...and heck its almost time to be kicked out the hotel..its 10am...Now if i could borrow a bulldozer ..I could do you lucky Holiday makers a favor..and put this place where it deserves

Room Tip: Get to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank notgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
leicester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Have always enjoyed previous stays at the Norbreck but this will be my last for the time being.Dining room chairs and carpets filthy.TV'S in copper jacks bar outdated (you couldn't see picture because it was so distorted) been like this since i came 3 years ago ! ,Rooms were not very warm (cold and windy weekend) same old crap entertainment - in house cabaret team similar to pontins etc.... COME ON BRITANNIA HOTEL GROUP - GET YOUR ACT TOGETHER AND MAKE THIS ONCE GREAT HOTEL GREAT AGAIN !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thefoxesleicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We won't be staying here again. Its awful it needs a total upgrade ASAP I booked a Seaview room for 1 night at £45 and I got one but the window didn't shut right and the quilt on the bed was too thin do it was freezing at night. The rooms and the whole decor is very dated and at breakfast you can eat what you want but avoid the bacon as its rank, we will stay elsewhere in future and that's a promise.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank paulandsarah2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Just come back from a one night stay, I can honestly say The Norbreck Castle Hotel has got to be the dirtiest hotel I have ever stayed at, like other reviews say it is an old run down hotel but there is no excuse for dirty rooms. The hospitality tray was dirty the kettle was dirty with black bits in, the cups had scum lines around them. The tv was full of what looked like grease n dust on it, the bathroom was an old dirty wet room something of which we had not been made aware of ! We asked at Reception for our rooms to be cleaned but this never happened, it was as though the staff didn't give a monkey . The breakfast was just as gross, had we not been made to pay on arrival we would have been right out of there, thank god it was only one night, never ever again !!!

Room Tip: Choose a room at a different hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Blackpool... was a shocking experience. In fact I will have to write a diary of places that black families or interracial can visit in the UK and ones which they can't! The first time myself and my white wife arrived at the hotel... I was treated by holiday makers as though I had leprosy! if looks could kill!! The staff was good but the atmosphere during breakfast and dinner was so bad that we did not attend the entertainments in the evening!

I have been to a number of beaches in the UK with my white wife and have to say that this experience has put me off as this has to be a no go area for black holiday makers. I will put this experience onto FB asking why is Blackpool so bad for black people as there has to be a historical reason or the type of people that it attracts

Room Tip: The staff was good but if you are black go to another hotel purely because of the clientèle if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank diamonds183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,851 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,058 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#49 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
4.8 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
4.9 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norbreck Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbreck Castle Hotel

Property: Norbreck Castle Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Norbreck Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norbreck Castle Hotel is a fun and vibrant enviroment especially at weekends and during holiday periods. The Hotel overlooks the seafront on the North Shore, and is close to Blackpools' major attractions and entertainment. This stunning Castle like hotel offers a warm welcome to the famous Seaside Resort of Blackpool.The hotel has 480 bedrooms, many with sea views that offer a comfortable and relaxing stay. All tastefully decorated, rooms are en-suite and offer TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Norbreck Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbreck Castle Blackpool
Norbreck Hotel
Hotel Norbreck Castle
Norbreck Castle Hotel Blackpool
Castle Hotel Norbreck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing