We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I have ever stayed in by far.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Norbreck Castle Hotel
Ranked #71 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We booked another hotel on phone whilst driving to Blackpool,when we got there that was full so they sent us to the Norbreck.Dump the steps going in were full of rubbish,the guys on reception were nice with a bit of personality,I guess u have to to work there.Room was a dump,nothing worked like faulty towers,cleanliness I'm not going into Cuz if I right what I saw I will be sick.I have never not eaten breakfast anywhere,I would would never eat that it's awful.1 Star tops 2 many bad things to mention.Standards are animal like up your game Norbreck it's basic cleanliness the mmystery shopper would have a field day.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dazzyb73uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,907)
There are newer reviews for Norbreck Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,870 - 2,876 of 5,907 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel this weekend
It is very run down and smells very musty not what you expect from a Britannia hotel
The room we stayed in the carpets were dirty and coming away near the walls
The beds were clean the bathroom was very basis but not 100% clean especially behind the toilet
There was a massive queue at breakfast and ended up coming away with out having it
This whole hotel needs a make over and brining up to 2014
I would not stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annaob2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

the norbreck castle hotel is a nice hotel with friendly staff and good meals i will be going back to this hotel. and they are in the middle of redecorating and nothing is to much trouble the staff go out there way to help you

Room Tip: pay the suppliment and get a sea view room the views are fantastic
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malcolmlissenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The Norbreck Castle Hotel is located at Norbreck which is about a ten minute tram ride from the heart of Blackpool. There is a tram stop across the road from the hotel and it is beside a main road which means that the transport links are good and frequent. There is a large free car park at the hotel which means that it is an ideal opportunity to park the car and leave it whilst you head off into Blackpool to have a couple of drinks by the pier.

The hotel itself is absolutely huge and dominates the sky line from the first point you notice it. Looking like a cross between a child’s play castle and something out of a cartoon, the hotel’s pink and white exterior stands out and is unique. The hotel itself houses a ballroom, a banqueting hall, a leisure suite, an indoor restaurant, a customer lounge and two bars. There is a cinema also there somewhere but we could not locate it as the building is so big.

We booked up on the day that we were travelling and we were able to get a double en-suite room for around £39 which is incredibly good considering how last minute it was and the fact that it included a buffet-style breakfast for both of us.

When we arrived through the main door, there was a queue at the reception and the hotel appeared to be incredibly busy with people milling around and coming and going. The clientele (on the time we visited) appeared to be older adults in their late 50’s, 60’s and 70’s who I suspect were repeat visitors and stay there because of the value for money. At times, the décor and the atmosphere did remind of being in a working men’s club (complete with cheesy night time entertainment and bingo) and it did put me in mind that I may have joined a bus man’s holiday but the atmosphere was relaxed, pleasant and sociable.

I queued for about fifteen to twenty minutes at reception whilst my friend found the bar (having spent about three and a half hours driving down, he was desperate for a pint) and I was greeted politely and sincerely by a nice member of staff. The lady was incredibly helpful at answering my questions about how to get into Blackpool, where everything was and what time breakfast was served which made the wait to check in less boring.

As you enter the hotel, reception is straight ahead, there is a lounge, restaurant and bar off to the left and another bar off to the right. If you walk in toward reception and turn left into the lounge, you come into a long (but slightly narrow) communal lounge area with a small stage. The restaurant is off the right of the lounge and the bar is towards the bottom area of the lounge. There are doors leading out from the bottom of the lounge so that anyone who smokes can do so without a long walk but with sea front views.

We were staying in the left hand side of the hotel on the second floor in a double en-suite room. The room itself look dated, with dark wooden furniture, old fashioned décor and floral decoration. It reminded me of a room in Grandma’s house that you wouldn’t mind sleeping in because it’s clean but not somewhere that you would spend a lot of time in. That said, it was £39, clean, tidy and other than the furnishings (which were not to my taste), it was worth the money.

The room came with tea and coffee making facilities, a trouser press, two towels and a TV (all be it, an older TV…again, probably like Grandma would have in the spare room). The room was adequately sized for two people but there was no where to sit except on the bed.

The bathroom was a big surprise and was by far the selling point of the room. It was clean, light and came with a Jacuzzi bath that two people can fit in. Simply fill the bath with water until it covers the jets, press the button and relax.

We went out around Blackpool and then returned for a good night’s sleep; unfortunately, this was not possible due to the mattress being incredibly hard (like sleeping on concrete but warmer). Needless to say, we managed to get to breakfast on time the following morning.

Please note: Breakfast is served from 7.30am until 9.30am so I would set your alarm if you want to catch it and be prepared to wait as queues form to enter the restaurant. There is also a small self-service breakfast stand (with eggs, bacon, sausage, toast etc) on just by the bar and we found this quicker than queuing for the restaurant (the only difference in the restaurant is you have to be seated).

Breakfast was hot, plentiful and fast although it did take us quite a while to find a vacant table in the lounge to eat. Tip number 1: Take the family down, secure a table and then go up for your breakfast one at time to ensure you have somewhere to sit, otherwise you may end up walking around with a really hot plate and nowhere to eat.

Tip number 2: There is a cashpoint on site but it is chargeable so it may be adviseable to get cash prior to arrival. This is also probably a good idea in case you would like to use the tram.

Tip number 3: Use the tram to get into the heart of Blackpool and see the sea views as you travel in. For around £4.50 per adult, you can hop on and off (the bus or tram) for as many times as you want throughout the course of the day and night.

Tip number 4: Check the last tram times. We managed to get a tram about half eleven, which got us back to the hotel in time for drinks at the bar but double check the last tram to reduce the need for a taxi.

Tip number 5: The bar in the hotel can be quite expensive so if you are planning on drinking alcohol, keep the drinks at the bar in the hotel to a minimum and seek out a Whetherspoons (of which there are a few) in Blackpool to save money.

Overall Verdict

The Norbreck Castle Hotel is a basic hotel that offers good value for money for those who do not mind being a bit out of the way. It caters for all client groups but it is probably best suited to couples on a budget or those older folk who enjoy good old fashioned entertainments and ‘turns’ on the stage. The hotel offers a good service at a low price but without the frills or fun of some other hotels. For the sea views alone, this place is worth a visit and with friendly staff, a positive atmosphere and a low cost, chances are you will return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We booked a weekend family break, on arrival the man on reception was very helpful and friendly. Room was a little dated with deco but clean enough.
In the evening we went down to the entertainment which was ok, however the lady behind the bar was so miserable and rude. Which was our only let down.
Slept well, breakfast was good with a wide selection of food. All in all was a nice break.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ds200411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife and 2 year old son over the bank holiday weekend, yes the hotel is quite dated and could do with some re modernising but the staff were very friendly and helpful the rooms were basic but very clean and the good was great plenty choice. I will be returning during the illuminations and will be staying here again.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank carlson2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed here for four 3 nights . When I got there i checked in got my key it was miles away . When I got in to my room there was packets of crisps in the drawers empty bottles under the bed . I looked out the window the view was a building yard . The room was dirty I went back down and complained . Got a new room with a sea view much better . The other things that were not good was the games room for children closed . Pool table broken and they charged adults to go in the swimming pool . The hotel needs a real uplift not impressed at all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,101 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,257 reviews
4.8 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#31 of 73 in Blackpool
3,789 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
515 reviews
2.1 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#59 of 73 in Blackpool
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norbreck Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbreck Castle Hotel

Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £31 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Norbreck Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norbreck Castle Hotel is a fun and vibrant enviroment especially at weekends and during holiday periods. The Hotel overlooks the seafront on the North Shore, and is close to Blackpools' major attractions and entertainment. This stunning Castle like hotel offers a warm welcome to the famous Seaside Resort of Blackpool.The hotel has 480 bedrooms, many with sea views that offer a comfortable and relaxing stay. All tastefully decorated, rooms are en-suite and offer TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Norbreck Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbreck Castle Blackpool
Norbreck Hotel
Hotel Norbreck Castle
Norbreck Castle Hotel Blackpool
Castle Hotel Norbreck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing