We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, but a littlemtired in places”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Ranked #37 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Stayed for one night on business. Room was clean, tidy and comfortable, but a little dated - especially the bathroom. However, the hotel was excellent value for money with the pre-pay booking I used. Breakfast was excellent (with both haggis and black pudding on offer along with the usual fare). The lack of WiFi in the bedrooms is poor these days - might be fine for laptop users with a cable, but if you want to connect to the web with a smart phone or tablet, you are stuck with the phone networks - it can't be too hard to extend WiFi beyond the public areas of the hotel.

Service from the front desk was excellent and friendly, as it was in the bar and restaurant.

A good choice if you want to avoid the gamble of some of the other hotels in the town.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJFSwanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,867 - 3,873 of 4,229 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2011

I stayed at the Hilton with high hopes, what a disappointment. The saga began with an extremely rude and unhelpful receptionist, totally ignoring my request for lunch as I had travelled for some time. No information given of breakfast times etc.
Room in dire need of decoration, with the hardest bed i've ever slept on. No air con and unable to leave the window open due to the winds from the sea. Walls extremely thin with adjacent residents banging about until 2am.
Bathroom another joy, mouldy shower head, filthy plug holes and all needed a proper clean.
Returned to hotel at appro 12.00am after a function at another hotel, no hotel security just wandered in from car park open access for all, somewhat of a worry.
Breakfast was ok (gave up hope of ever getting lunch the day before), had to request a pot of tea twice as the clearing of the adjacent table was more important. If you want toast prepare to wait and wait even after 6 times round the toaster bread only slightly toasted.
Don't bother with paying from £20 for a late checkout, as under my window was a man using an electric grinder on the wall.
I suggest you support the local B&B's, the service will be better and I am sure they will welcome the support rather than a big chain.

Room Tip: Don't
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton for one night on our way to the lakes but we are regular visitors to Blackpool and this was not our first stay at the Hilton. I got an exceptional deal for this stay and paid £44 for bed and breakfast that’s only £22 each which is less than you would pay for a little B&B or Travel lodge! Even though they now make a small charge for parking I think i got a good deal!!

The Hilton is in an ideal location -far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the central & south proms but only a short walk or tram ride into town. The facilities are what you would expect but in places, especially the swimming pool and changing area, it is beginning to look a bit tired and could do with a makeover. The rooms are not massive but most have good views - I love being able to see the tower & sea from the room! -and have the usual flat screen tv, tea & coffee making facilities, toiletries etc .Lots of choice at breakfast however as it was busy I did notice staff not as attentative as on previous stays and there was a wait for the hot food to be replenished which resulted in a queue forming. All public areas are clean and I got a much needed costa coffee in the bar!

Overall I would recommend the Hilton to anyone staying in Blackpool but check out regularly for offers especially outside peak holiday months.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsTino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Blackpool is one of those places which lives off tourism, and as such there is so much accommodation on offer that it is difficult to know where to start without some sort of recommendation.

If budget is a main driver, the Hilton is likely not to be for you, as just about every establishment will try to tempt you in with offers and deals - but beware that many offers which look good can be 'per person per night' rather than 'per room'

What the Hilton offers is a guaranteed badge of quality, and this is what you get. A large establishment, comfort if not luxury, large open public areas, pleasant staff, a large buffet breakfast with an extensive range of food and pleasant rooms, most with a sea view.

The hotel does, however, let itself down on a few points. There is no internet (free or paid) in rooms, although there is wireless in all public areas. And when I needed a business centre I was directed to a stand-alone PC and printer which were both broken.

That said I found the room pleasant and bright, if not huge. Good-sized flat-screen TV with plenty of channels, pleasant bathroom (not that well lit) with good accessories. The room was comfortable and quiet.

The Hilton sits a mile north of the centre and Tower, but this means it feels less claustrophobic. It sits in open grounds, has masses of car parking space, a large leisure lower ground with pool and sauna, and is located right opposite a large, sandy beach.

If you need and want to get into Blackpool or to the Pleasure Beach, the tram line is right outside, although this must currently rate as one of the most inefficient tram services in the world. Nonetheless it will link you, at allegedly regular intervals, to the town centre and pleasure beach. If you want to walk to the centre it will take you about 15 minutes, and is a good opportunity to burn off some of the fried breakfast calories.

Finally if you need function or conference rooms, I doubt that there is a better place in Blackpool.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keithmalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA_HiltonBlackpool, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Blackpool Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2011

Thank you for your response. Guest feedback is most important to us. We are situated just outside the main town centre but with plenty of parking spaces and now a fully resumed tram and bus service after a full refurbishment of the promendade it is easy for our guests to get into town. We are currently in the process of changing our internet provider and will be able to provide our guests with a much speedier and efficent internet service soon. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

I have been a guest at the Blackpool Hilton each week for the past couple of months and on each visit I have found the rooms clean and comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful and the breakfasts tempting and delicious.

If you find yourself working in Blackpool or the surrounding area the Hilton is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buttonpuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA_HiltonBlackpool, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Blackpool Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2011

I was pleased to see you enjoyed the hotel services and facilities we have to offer for your business trips, and you particularly enjoyed the famous Hilton Breakfasts, and the staff provided a warm and friendly service for you. Thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back for future business and leisure trips.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I have just returned from the Hilton after staying for one night (Saturday).
The rooms were clean and spacious with some amenities such as tea and coffee facilities. This said the bathroom was quite small but did provide shampoo, conditioner etc.

The bar area was very busy when I visited. It had a nice atmosphere and entertainment was put on in the evening. My only complaint was that there was only one type of Rose available by the glass. Both Red and White wines had a large selection to choose from but I'm a Rose girl and would have liked a choice.

The Breakfast was very nice with a wide selection to choose from, the waiting staff were very friendly and we didn't have to wait long.

When using the lifts be prepared to wait a while especially at busy times as there is only three which for a hotel of that size isn't very many.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Blackpool.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLL28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

A friendly Hilton with staff that care. The hotel sits in good postition, is clean, albeit with some smallish rooms. This was my second stay. A good hotel breakfast, an ordinary bar and pleasant enough food at other times. The pool is a bonus. In Blackpool standards compared to other accommodations this is a castle amongst huts.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank undercoverelephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
543 reviews
2.9 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
1,096 reviews
1.8 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#9 of 73 in Blackpool
899 reviews
2.2 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#32 of 73 in Blackpool
4,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Blackpool Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Blackpool Hotel

Address: North Promenade Sea Front, Blackpool FY1 2JQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £65 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Blackpool Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy all the fun of the seaside at the Hilton Blackpool hotel. Located on Blackpool’s famous Promenade, take in delightful sea views and enjoy easy access to many popular attractions. This central Blackpool hotel near Blackpool Tower offers excellent transport links and ample onsite parking for private cars. Choose from a range of spacious guest rooms, family rooms and suites at the Hilton Blackpool hotel. Surf the web with high-speed internet access, watch an on-demand movie on the LCD TV or simply relax. Upgrade to a suite for extra space and guaranteed sea views. With 11 flexible meeting rooms, business is easy at the Hilton Blackpool. Host an important meeting or lavish reception for up to 800 guests in this adaptable venue and stay in touch with wireless internet access, which is complimentary in all public areas.Enjoy complimentary access to the LivingWell Health Club during your stay at the Hilton Blackpool. Swim in the heated pool, work out in the 24-hour fitness center or de-stress in the relaxing sauna. The hotel’s beauty suite offers a range of luxurious treatments including facials and massages for a spot of pampering. Indulge in a delicious meal from the carvery in the Promenade Restaurant then enjoy evening entertainment most weekends and a relaxing drink in the Lounge Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Blackpool Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackpool Hilton Hotel
Hilton Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing