We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“coming back in oct & november”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Charnley Gold Hotel
Ranked #71 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
“coming back in oct & november”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

couldn't wish for better host's, annabelle and martin make everyone feel at home. whether it's your first stay there or if you are a regular, they make you feel as if they have known you for years. rooms are good, clean, and fresh. food is good, ron's not a bad chef either. would reccomend charnley gold to any of my friends or family.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanbat11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    47
    5
    4
    7
See reviews for
64
27
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

Well what can i say we have been goin to the Charnley Gold now for the past 5 years and haven't missed one yet!!!! Both Annabelle and Martin are fantastic, wonderful people. You couldn't ask to meet 2 nicer people, and how could we possibly could forget Ron "Just in" lol!!!!!! I have read some of the reviews on here and i must say they are not nice at all can't believe people would say such horrible and hurtful things about Annabelle, Martin and Ron at the end of the day they cannot be blamed for the rowdiness that goes off on Charnley Road or the hotel itself Boys will be Boys and Girls will be Girls. We have always been made to feel welcome home from home thats how i would desribe it that's why we will be back in october our 3rd visit this year whoop, whoop. Keep smiling Annabelle, Martin and Ron ...... Lots of ove Libby x x x x

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TarnTarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We have stayed with Annabelle and Martyn on numerous occasions and everything about the hotel and the service has been top class .Their hospitality has been second to none.We have been going now for the last 5 years and never been treated to anything but first class manners,respect and friendship.We would recommend the Charnley Gold to everyone and we have and they have gone .

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcquillan36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

Well what can i say, after staying in charnley on our first visit to blackpool we knew that we would return infact we were so confident we even arranged our civil ceremony reception to be held there. Staying at charnley for us is like home from home they welcome is so friendly and annabelle and martin would do anything for you if you ask them they will chat with you for hours keep the bar open for you and just make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. i could not of asked for anything better for our wedding reception they made the room look beautiful and did all our catering and had great care in our special day. I would say to anybody if your looking for a totally relaxed atmosphere with people who will treat you as friends and not just as pound coins then this is deffinetly the place for you. Thank you annabelle and martin we love you xxxx

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojofoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

We stayed here with a group of friends - in fact if we had not been in a group, we would have gone and stayed somewhere else once we'd seen the room. As others have said, it's near the centre and the people are friendly. Our room was so tiny, we couldn't actually open the door properly to get in it. The ceiling was stained, the windows have paint splodges on, decor shabby. There was so little storage space, we couldn't put away our 3 days worth of clothes. The bathroom was so tiny that you have to be on the toilet to shut the door - though the door didn't close properly and the light wouldn't turn off - which we did report, but nothing was done about it. The shower cubicle was so tiny, it made it difficult to wash without accidently hitting the controls and turning it off completely - but the shower did work well and I managed to get warm showers every day (though my husband did not). The food was ok - no choice at all, but nice enough if you liked what they served. The waitresses (and kitchen staff) worked very hard and made every effort. The bread rolls were deliscious. From other postings and our parties 'saturday night experience' of rowdy party keeping our friends awake most of the night, I would say it's appropriate for people on a hen /stag type do where they just want a bed for a couple of hours sleep and don't care too much about anything else. We didn't sleep very well, bed not very comfortable and worried about our cases (balanced precariously on the wadrobe) falling on our heads.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

13 lads from dublin went here 4 a stags and it was a mad one at that .1martin and co are all so nice they will do anything 2 help you .2 the bar did not close at all and i meen did not close the crack was that god other people from the other hotels came in and some off them even stayed the next night there and thats no messing .3 the rooms were clean and the beds were good when we got to them that is the breakee was dang on and chef and staff were great to all i can say is there is talk off going back soon .cant wait .once again thanks to martin and co from all the lads in dublin

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrkotoole30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

we went up to Blackpool and stayed at the Charnley gold, we went up for a party and we had one. The parking was free round the back. The room was big enough for 4 people to sleep in comfortably. The bathrooms were clean, with loads of towels, bedding was heavenly, The bar was open as long as we were drinking what more could i ask for. we had a wonderful time and will be going back again and again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princesssrachael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Springfield Hotel
Springfield Hotel
#62 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westbourne House
Westbourne House
#25 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hotel Blackpool
The Hotel Blackpool
#6 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grange House Hotel
Grange House Hotel
#40 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arlingtons
Arlingtons
#34 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manor Grove Guest House
Manor Grove Guest House
#189 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charnley Gold Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charnley Gold Hotel

Property: Charnley Gold Hotel
Address: 38 Charnley Road, Blackpool FY1 4PF, England (Formerly Goldhurst and Charnlea Hotels)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 911 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charnley Gold is a long established Hotel in Central Blackpool with 19 En-suite rooms (Family, Triple, Twin & Double) sleeping 46 guests, offering a lively party atmosphere at weekends for Stag, Hen, Birthday Parties & Couples that want to party. Our well stocked, residents only, bar is open for you to enjoy through the night (At Owner's discretion). On Monday we transform into a more relaxed atmosphere suitable for Families & Couples wanting to chill out and enjoy all that Blackpool has to offer. Free Wi-Fi, Complimentary hospitality tray, Freeview TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Charnley Gold Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing