We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but very tatty, and overpriced for what you get!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Charnley Gold Hotel
Ranked #81 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2011

PROS - Stayed there last night (Saturday July 30th). Warm welcome, guy was nice to us, gave us free parking around the back of the hotel. Beds were comfy, room was clean.

CONS - There were large holes in the walls, paintwork was dated and peeling, ripped wallpaper, mirrors hanging off the walls. Doors were stiff and hard to open. Bathroom window was painted shut, found it made the room quite stuffy. Few loose wires here and there. Definately needs some work.

Its an ok place if you're just looking for a basic room, and somewhere to rest your head. The people are polite. But for £50 per twin room, its extremely overpriced for what you actually get. Maybe that's just the way it goes in Blackpool. Who knows, but I wouldn't be adverse to staying there again if it came to it.

Room Tip: Barter! We managed to get free parking at the hotel otherwise it would have been £8-10! Ask for a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SightseeingSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

6 of us went down had fab time great host , lovly clean comfy beds, myself and my daughter stayed another nite as we won loads cash in amusements and were going again 12th aug for long wkend recommened hotel fab food plenty of it great atmosphere and such lovly people thanks for making or stay even better then expected

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobby4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

I stayed here for a stag weekend, and the best thing about this place were the hosts and the feeling of being very welcome. They provided such a warm welcome and good atmosphere at the bar, very nice people.

The facilities are basic and lets be honest, could do with being freshened up. However, as said in the title, it did the job, it was a stag weekend afterall! The breakfast service was pretty quick but the food its self could be a bit better quality. Filled a hole though!

Overall, the place provided a basic means of accomodation for a stag weekend, but the great hosts and the welcome they provide could not have been better. Would I stay here again? Yes but only as a group, its certainly not a place to bring your partner!

Room Tip: Very basic, clean enough, could do with freshening up. Make sure you get a room with a toilet / show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamsy1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

just what we was all after, perfect place to stay for out stag party, definately a party hotel, rooms great for what we wanted. Annabelle and martin couldnt do enough for you. bar open all night,i finally went to bed at 5am!will definately be coming back...thanks for a top weekend guys....

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbird1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

couldn't wish for better host's, annabelle and martin make everyone feel at home. whether it's your first stay there or if you are a regular, they make you feel as if they have known you for years. rooms are good, clean, and fresh. food is good, ron's not a bad chef either. would reccomend charnley gold to any of my friends or family.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanbat11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Well what can i say we have been goin to the Charnley Gold now for the past 5 years and haven't missed one yet!!!! Both Annabelle and Martin are fantastic, wonderful people. You couldn't ask to meet 2 nicer people, and how could we possibly could forget Ron "Just in" lol!!!!!! I have read some of the reviews on here and i must say they are not nice at all can't believe people would say such horrible and hurtful things about Annabelle, Martin and Ron at the end of the day they cannot be blamed for the rowdiness that goes off on Charnley Road or the hotel itself Boys will be Boys and Girls will be Girls. We have always been made to feel welcome home from home thats how i would desribe it that's why we will be back in october our 3rd visit this year whoop, whoop. Keep smiling Annabelle, Martin and Ron ...... Lots of ove Libby x x x x

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TarnTarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We have stayed with Annabelle and Martyn on numerous occasions and everything about the hotel and the service has been top class .Their hospitality has been second to none.We have been going now for the last 5 years and never been treated to anything but first class manners,respect and friendship.We would recommend the Charnley Gold to everyone and we have and they have gone .

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcquillan36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#49 of 73 in Blackpool
200 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Beverley Hotel
The Beverley Hotel
#117 of 863 in Blackpool
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gordene Hotel
Gordene Hotel
#78 of 863 in Blackpool
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Hotel Blackpool
The Hotel Blackpool
#10 of 863 in Blackpool
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Address
The Address
#148 of 863 in Blackpool
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arlingtons
Arlingtons
#28 of 863 in Blackpool
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charnley Gold Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charnley Gold Hotel

Address: 38 Charnley Road, Blackpool FY1 4PF, England (Formerly Goldhurst and Charnlea Hotels)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £39 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Charnley Gold Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charnley Gold is a long established Hotel in Central Blackpool with 19 En-suite rooms (Family, Triple, Twin & Double) sleeping 46 guests, offering a lively party atmosphere at weekends for Stag, Hen, Birthday Parties & Couples that want to party. Our well stocked, residents only, bar is open for you to enjoy through the night (At Owner's discretion). On Monday we transform into a more relaxed atmosphere suitable for Families & Couples wanting to chill out and enjoy all that Blackpool has to offer. Free Wi-Fi, Complimentary hospitality tray, Freeview TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Charnley Gold Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing