We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Charnley Gold Hotel
Ranked #68 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

We have been staying at this hotel every year for 6 years. The owners are extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful they are willing to go out of their way to make sure that your stay with them is enjoyable and stress free. The rooms are very comfy and clean and the breakfast is good and done to your personal liking. This hotel is excellent value for money and has a really home like atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    47
    5
    4
    7
See reviews for
64
27
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Charnley Gold is a great B&B right in the middle of Blackpool and is very handy for the sea front attractions and tower. Also very handy if you're attending a conference or function at The Winter Gardens which is less than 10 minutes walk away. You'll always find a hospitable welcome in the bar, or at breakfast, both of which I heartilly endorse !!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gord1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

A friendly family-run bed & breakfast venue situated near the Winter Gardens. comfortalbe rooms, We had the full Scottish breakfast and a great atmosphere, a well stocked bar which is available 24 hours. thanks for looking after everyone

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Initally upon our arrival we were greeted by a very friendly man - I believe he may have been the owner - but from there it was all downhill. Each of our party's rooms were crammed with beds making moving around the rooms very difficult.
Our room in particular was awful as it was dirty throughout. The carpet was filthy and we had to wear shoes at all times as it was also very sticky in places. There was a lump of plaster missing from the shower room wall. Under the beds did not appear to have ever been vacuumed and the bed linen was stained.
The cooked breakfast on our first morning was awful as the everything was swimming in fat which tasted off. The waiting staff did not speak English so breakfast was very slow and orders incorrect.
The staff were rude in particular another man who tended bar in the evening. Any negative feedback given to the staff was received with a shrug and the statement "This is Blackpool, what do you expect."
Please if given the choice do not stay here.

Room Tip: Don't bother don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Disgruntled1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

PROS - Stayed there last night (Saturday July 30th). Warm welcome, guy was nice to us, gave us free parking around the back of the hotel. Beds were comfy, room was clean.

CONS - There were large holes in the walls, paintwork was dated and peeling, ripped wallpaper, mirrors hanging off the walls. Doors were stiff and hard to open. Bathroom window was painted shut, found it made the room quite stuffy. Few loose wires here and there. Definately needs some work.

Its an ok place if you're just looking for a basic room, and somewhere to rest your head. The people are polite. But for £50 per twin room, its extremely overpriced for what you actually get. Maybe that's just the way it goes in Blackpool. Who knows, but I wouldn't be adverse to staying there again if it came to it.

Room Tip: Barter! We managed to get free parking at the hotel otherwise it would have been £8-10! Ask for a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SightseeingSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

6 of us went down had fab time great host , lovly clean comfy beds, myself and my daughter stayed another nite as we won loads cash in amusements and were going again 12th aug for long wkend recommened hotel fab food plenty of it great atmosphere and such lovly people thanks for making or stay even better then expected

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobby4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

I stayed here for a stag weekend, and the best thing about this place were the hosts and the feeling of being very welcome. They provided such a warm welcome and good atmosphere at the bar, very nice people.

The facilities are basic and lets be honest, could do with being freshened up. However, as said in the title, it did the job, it was a stag weekend afterall! The breakfast service was pretty quick but the food its self could be a bit better quality. Filled a hole though!

Overall, the place provided a basic means of accomodation for a stag weekend, but the great hosts and the welcome they provide could not have been better. Would I stay here again? Yes but only as a group, its certainly not a place to bring your partner!

Room Tip: Very basic, clean enough, could do with freshening up. Make sure you get a room with a toilet / show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamsy1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Springfield Hotel
Springfield Hotel
#62 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westbourne House
Westbourne House
#32 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hotel Blackpool
The Hotel Blackpool
#7 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grange House Hotel
Grange House Hotel
#41 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arlingtons
Arlingtons
#37 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manor Grove Guest House
Manor Grove Guest House
#189 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charnley Gold Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charnley Gold Hotel

Property: Charnley Gold Hotel
Address: 38 Charnley Road, Blackpool FY1 4PF, England (Formerly Goldhurst and Charnlea Hotels)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 911 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charnley Gold is a long established Hotel in Central Blackpool with 19 En-suite rooms (Family, Triple, Twin & Double) sleeping 46 guests, offering a lively party atmosphere at weekends for Stag, Hen, Birthday Parties & Couples that want to party. Our well stocked, residents only, bar is open for you to enjoy through the night (At Owner's discretion). On Monday we transform into a more relaxed atmosphere suitable for Families & Couples wanting to chill out and enjoy all that Blackpool has to offer. Free Wi-Fi, Complimentary hospitality tray, Freeview TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Charnley Gold Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing