We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to bring in the New Year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Charnley Gold Hotel
Ranked #82 of 864 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2011

The hotel is in a central location near to the town center, excellent for shopping purposes. Also the hotel was clean, rooms were cleaned daily. The staff were extremely friendly and they joined into the banter that was held by all members of the coach party and the other guests in the hotel. Nothing was a problem for the staff and if there was something wrong they were quick to fix any problems that you may have had. The food was fantastic. We have stayed at this hotel for about 4 years now and we keep going back because of the reasons mentioned above, we wouldn't think of changing to another hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trickyzicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2010

went here for last min weekend with a few friends...perfect location for everything you need to see in blackpool...friendly owners...and i would recomend this hotel to anyone...a little gem...

Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
Thank chm161210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2010

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel, staff were exteremely friendly and catered to all the needs and requests of our young family.

Rooms and facilities clean and tidy and a thororughly enjoyable stay. thanks and see you again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babymia10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

We booked this a while ago for a party, when we turned up everything seemed fine, we parked our car around the back of the hotel and we left the keys with the owners in case they had to move it. We went up to our room, corridors very narrow, we entered our room which was en-suite, well, we could not believe it, the carpet was disgusting, bed sheets had stains on, toilet seat had marks on, a squashed fly on the side of the tiny single wardrobe. You literally walked into the room, fell onto the bed and then you could have bounced straight into the toilet, the shower was for a person of about 3ft, paint coming off, wallpaper coming off the walls(i wish i had taken pictures to show people). We had to leave after one night so on the Saturday we went and paid the balance in cash and asked for our car keys back, we were, in a way being told off because we were leaving after one night, spoken to like children (owners of any type of these establishments should no way speak to their paying customers like this). To top it all, people from our party who left the next day (sunday) were told that we had left without paying. HOW DARE THEY. How could we have done this when we had to ask them for our car keys back. The owners of this establishment are DIRTY ROTTEN LIARS AND CON ARTISTS. PLEASE DO NOT GO TO THIS ESTABLISHMENT.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JUEStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

We had originally planned to stay 2 nights the 'Charnley Gold' but as soon as we arrived we wanted to leave. The place is dirty, the rooms are tiny, bedding was stained, just awful! We stayed the 1st night (only because it was too late to go anywhere else) and then told the owners the following morning we were leaving. The attitude we got was terrible, we were shouted at like schoolchildren! We settled our bill in cash then when we got to our car, (which they insist on having the keys for at night) everything had been moved, seats, headrests steering wheel etc, it had obviously been used without our permission. Just to top it all off they then told the rest of the group, who had decided to stay, that we had done a runner without paying. We are livid to say the least, the amount of money that 'hotel' had out of us is extortionate. Filthy Rotten Liars, sums it up nicely.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank taz004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

the hotel seemed ok during our stay rooms wernt anything special but ok. they were cramped and the bathroom was tiny but we didnt book luxury so didnt expect it! but a hair in my breakfast wasnt what i ordered on the menu!! we left the hotel on the sunday morning at 10.00am its now tues evening and the hotel have called to say there is a broken bed in one of the rooms we stayed in. why has it taken so long to get in contact for starters and secondly id like to let you all know the women staying in that room were all over 50 one of which is disabled, one having treatment for cancer and the other two who went to bed early both nights we stayed and they accused them 4 of jumping on a bed and breaking it. its a scam so if your going to stay there a warning to you double check your room yourself first and be warned when they ask for your cerdit card details on arrival coz i can guarantee no one damaged anything we are respectable women on a weekend away and this is disgusting!! they want £115 to replace a bed that was in perfect condition when leaving!! *YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED OF THEIR SCAM - GOOD LUCK*

Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
7  Thank mugsandmyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Was a wonderful hotel, Right near the town centre, Great positioning.

Wonderful owners, Made us feel welcome and helped us to thoroughly Enjoy our time.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone else travelling to Blackpool.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank widrugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0 mi away
The Butterfly Hotel - Adults Only
0 mi away
The Lawton Hotel
The Lawton Hotel
#280 of 864 in Blackpool
736 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#89 of 864 in Blackpool
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 73 in Blackpool
3,424 reviews
1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,332 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charnley Gold Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charnley Gold Hotel

Address: 38 Charnley Road, Blackpool FY1 4PF, England (Formerly Goldhurst and Charnlea Hotels)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £36 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Charnley Gold Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charnley Gold is a long established Hotel in Central Blackpool with 19 En-suite rooms (Family, Triple, Twin & Double) sleeping 46 guests, offering a lively party atmosphere at weekends for Stag, Hen, Birthday Parties & Couples that want to party. Our well stocked, residents only, bar is open for you to enjoy through the night (At Owner's discretion). On Monday we transform into a more relaxed atmosphere suitable for Families & Couples wanting to chill out and enjoy all that Blackpool has to offer. Free Wi-Fi, Complimentary hospitality tray, Freeview TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Charnley Gold Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing