We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs updating”
Review of The Gynway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gynway
Ranked #524 of 861 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Situated on main road, so some traffic noise if you are at the front. Access to hotel was with five very steep steps,not suitable for elderly or disabled. Greeted by the ladies who run the hotel, payment had to be made upfront, before seeing room.
Room 4 was up 3 flights of stairs and was situated in the attic.The window was that high up, I couldn't see out of it being 5'2'', this gave a very claustrophobic atmosphere. Very shabby room, bedding was all very faded as were the once pink towels, no bath towels.None of the furniture matched and the bedside tables were dirty and stained. Smoking allowed in all bedrooms, so strong smell of cigarettes all the time, not nice for non smokers.
Rooms not en suite, separate toilet and showers dated and tired, but reasonably clean.
Breakfast not so wonderful, cheapest ingredients, very greasy,very minimal. The weakest tea possible,cheapest quality.
All in all a very dated and old fashioned guest house, needing a lot of updating to compete with better quality rooms in Blackpool.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dentrav63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra C, Owner at The Gynway, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Some traffic noise is unavoidable as we are on a main road in a busy town even, with our double glazing, and yes we do have step up too front down, which can be seen clearly on our picture.
We do not though advertise ourselves as disabled friendly, as we also do not have any ground floor bedrooms rooms either.
As for the room, I think you are referring to our room 5 which has slightly higher windows being in a room that was part of the attic before being converted some years ago.
This is the first time we have had complaints about the window height, which without major construction work would be hard to alter.
The room has since been revamped including carpet and towels to match new decor [although the pink towels were actually that colour when purchased] The bedside cabinets did have small marks [caused by previous guests but have also been replaced.

Our breakfasts…
We purchase our bacon, eggs and sausages from a very reputable high quality butchers who also serve some of the larger hotel in the local area, the bacon and sausages are grilled and the eggs are fried in frying pan with a minimum of rapeseed oil. Plus you do have the choice from our menu [it is not a set meal]. Most of our guests find this an ample amount, and of you could have had asked for more.....
The tea we use come from The Garden Tea Company based in Preston and provide quality products.
Thank you for taking the time to read

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2012

On entering this hotel we was asked to pay first if we had gone to the room first we would have left. The room was dirty hairs everywhere IN the bed and drawers . The shower was filthy and also full of hairs . We was awoke early in morning to someone kicking the car mirror off.
We paid for 2 days but left that morning . worst place we have ever stayed

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lindal699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra C, Owner at The Gynway, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Firstly, if you had talked to us, we could have either re-serviced the room or moved you to another or, re-in versed you your money.

We were sorry that someone had damaged your vehicle, but you cannot put this down to our Guest House and hold us responsible.

And as you have only seen one of our rooms, to say there are no good rooms seems a bit hard.

I understand you leaving upset but feel your review is based on that anger...... hope your vehicle was not to badly damaged

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.7 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#98 of 133 in Blackpool
149 reviews
1.6 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#104 of 861 in Blackpool
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#341 of 861 in Blackpool
122 reviews
2.1 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#271 of 861 in Blackpool
153 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#150 of 861 in Blackpool
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gynway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gynway

Address: 205 Dickson Road, Blackpool FY1 2HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #524 of 861 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been updating our rooms to improve our standard and along with this we have taken the step to make all of our bedrooms Non Smoking... We do have a nice seating area to the rear of our property in which smoking is allowed, open most days..... We are very homely and comfortable and have many returnees who come back again and again, a lot of these do not use or post on Tripadvisor. So why not give us a try, families and pets are more than welcome here. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing