We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Through the keyhole!”
Review of The Mercury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mercury
Ranked #11 of 864 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Staying at the Mercury was an absolute pleasure. The room itself was fantastic. I opted for a double en-suite which was lovely and clean and fantastically priced. The stay gets 5 out of 5 because in addition to the above, Deborah, Anthony and Tyson were so welcoming. You can't put a price on this when you're feeling a little sensitive the morning after. Will definitely visit again

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SA_Review1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
696Mercury, Owner at The Mercury, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again and thank you for the review. PS good luck in the new job. Anthony, Deborah and Tyson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Fantastic stay couldn't fault a thing good location good food and rooms where cosy had a great time will be defiantly be going back this summer lovely people . Sharon and darran amy carl jordan shirley and jack

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Shazza T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
696Mercury, Owner at The Mercury, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for the review. It was a pleasure having you all here and we look forward to seeing you again. Anthony & Debs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

this was a surprise break for my partner and i for the bank holiday! Upon arrival was greeted with a very warm welcome and the place oozed character and charm! we stayed in the bar area as arrived evening time and just wanted to chill and relax . I felt at home and relaxed and loved the theme and decor! right up my street, it created just the right ambiance. After retiring that evening.. slept so well the bed was so comfy! Opened the curtains to let the sunshine in and was pleasantly surprised that we could see the sea! The room had all one needed for a comfortable stay . The breakfast was plentyfull and good choice of things and an abundance of fresh orange juice. I opted for the full english and enjoyed it. We then went out for a stroll and before our departure said goodbye to Anthony and Deb who have certainly put thier own stamp on the place and are doing a great job. they are friendly, down to earth and would definatly recommend the Mercury ! And like my review title as in the song ! it does have a kinda magic. Regards Amanda from west yorkshire .

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
696Mercury, Owner at The Mercury, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your surprise stay and we enjoyed your company in the bar that evening. We look forward to seeing you both again in the future (maybe you should book the surprise next time!!), Anthony & Debs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed for one night with our two boys aged 6 & 3. We were instantly greeted with a warm welcome, Anthony and deb are a lovely couple and nothing was a problem, they were always happy to help. The mercury is in the perfect location, right next to the beach and bang centre of the promenade. breakfast was cooked to perfection with plenty of options and extras that set you up for the day. As it was Easter weekend, after breakfast the boys were each given an easter egg which they were very happy with and was such a lovely touch from the owners. The kids absolutely loved staying here as they made a lovely friend in Tyson the family pet. We will definitely be recommending the mercury to friends and family and would definitely stay here again when we're next in Blackpool. Thank you again for a lovely stay, Katrina, Chris, Jake & Luke x

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatrinaGarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
696Mercury, Owner at The Mercury, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us as it was a pleasure to have two well behaved children stay with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Anthony, Debs & Tyson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here for the night with my boyfriend and our friends, staff are lovely and very welcoming on arrival and throughout stay, location is really good right in the middle of everything easy to get to places, would defiantly return here

Breakfast and the morning was lovely too, lots to choose from

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloesmithxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
696Mercury, Owner at The Mercury, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

It was a pleasure having you here and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Blackpool. Anthony & Debs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

i have travelled all over the world and wanted to visit st annes near blackpool as well as visit the pleasure beach.i don't normally book hotels as I just like to go and decide once nearer the destination.i must say that on this occasion I was completely dumbfounded in the way I was treated and the small but real memorabilia that I saw when visiting the hotel. The owners Debbie and Anthony were extremely polite but also the atmosphere was as tho you could come and go as you like without any pressure or hinderence and felt completely as tho at home .The hotel itself was clean with a comfy bed and only a stone throw distance away from the beach .the hotel was in the middle of the pleasure beach and the tower so the location was brill.Thank you to both of you for an enjoyable stay and would recommend the hotel to anyone. A very satisfied guest .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
696Mercury, Owner at The Mercury, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

We are pleased that you chose to stay with us and it was a pleasure meeting you. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again. Anthony & Debs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed on good Friday until Easter Saturday.Booked last minute & could'nt have been more pleased with the location & the Hotel itself.Rooms were spacious & clean,hosts were very welcoming & the breakfast was excellent. It is situated just off the front & central to the pleasure beach & the Tower. Next time we visit Blackpool we will definitely be staying here.Many Thanks to Anthony & Debs for their hospitality they made us all very welcome & the kids loved it too.If you want a good meal out aswell we would thoroughly recommend the LA PIAZZA italian bistro situated behind the church in the centre well worth a walk up there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
696Mercury, Owner at The Mercury, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

It was a pleasure to have you here and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you when you are next in Blackpool. Anthony & Debs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.7 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#23 of 73 in Blackpool
460 reviews
1.8 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
901 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Kenley
The Kenley
#2 of 864 in Blackpool
1,083 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Hotel Blackpool
The Hotel Blackpool
#10 of 864 in Blackpool
229 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Garnett Hotel
The Garnett Hotel
#17 of 864 in Blackpool
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mercury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mercury

Address: 4 Barton Avenue, Blackpool FY1 6AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £52 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mercury 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anthony & Deborah welcome you to the music themed Mercury Hotel. We offer high quality en-suite Bed and Breakfast accommodation with licensed bar which includes a Juke Box and a unique collection of signed music memorabilia (e.g. Queen, Bon Jovi, Guns & Roses - to name a few). We have broken the tradition of the flowers and chintz and brought B&B into the 21st Century with New York, Las Vegas and London themed rooms and also offer themed suites (the flamboyant Superior Suite, the 80's rock themed suite and the 60's music themed suite). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Mercury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing