We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother!”
Review of New Douglas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Douglas Hotel
Ranked #669 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't bother!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Just booked a last minute 2 night stay at what looks from the outside like a pleasant hotel. How wrong we were! To be fair our room was quite adequate apart from the milk being off! However my mum who had a single room had no electricity for half the time and no hot water for the duration. When she brought it to the landladys attention she just started complaining about having to pay for a plumber! We went down for breakfast on the first morning which was stone cold so we didn't bother after that which was just as well as when we passed breakfast room they were't there anyway! So all in all we won't be visiting again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanette m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn J, Owner at New Douglas Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
I am so sorry to hear you didnt enjoy your stay with us. I appologise for the lack of electric and heating, as a fault accured with the boiler the fail safe was tripped and the electric was cut off. I did offer the customer another room as the hotel is on two boilers but she did not want to move as she was settled. I appologise for the milk it may have tasted a bit funny as it is uht milk. If you believe that freshly cooked breakfast was cold i appoligise, but we had 20 other guests that morning and no other complaints. On the second morning you was the only guests in the hotel and i apreciate it may not have been clear that the dinning room was open this has now been recitified. We are sorry you was not happy with the value or clenlesness or service. I appologise again for the power cut wich was beyond our control
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    9
    1
    3
    7
See reviews for
17
13
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I came to stay for the first time with my son over the Christmas period and had a really good stay. We were welcomed by the new owners Dawn and Steve who were very friendly throughout our time at the New Douglas. We were given a large room with a double and a single bed and I requested a bed guard which wasn't any trouble. Breakfast was really nice and was a good start to the day. We spent time in the bar in the evenings and was always made to feel at home, the drinks were nice and cheap too! Will definitely be returning in the summer for another break away.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vikkiandkristopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is the fourth time we have stayed at The New Douglas and not once have we been disappointed. I have to concur with everyone concerning Ian and Moya, they are just the best. So friendly and warm. We had tried other hotels but they were not a patch on the New Douglas.

Mick, Dolly and Ross.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickster-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Stayed at this hotel quite a few times..couldnt ask for better people to meet than moya and ian
The rooms are immaculate as well as decorated lovely..beds are that comfy didnt want to get up!
Moyas breakfast is superb really filling
Both moya and ian are brilliant people and we now class them as family(not forgetting the lovely anne)
Would strongly recommend this hotel to all my friends xxx

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 175nicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I have just returned from a weekend at the New Douglas Hotel. I read the reviews before I went and thought that they were probably too good to be true. I now know that all the glowing tributes are well deserved! The accommodation, food and entertainment all lived up to expectation but the overwhelming impression I carried away was the memory of the friendliness and hospitality. I would be happy to nominate the New Douglas as the Blackpool hotel of the year every year as long as Moya and Ian intend to stay there. I have already booked my next stay and may even return sooner.... David M

Room Tip: I heard no complaints about any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I would like to thank Moya &Ian for a fantastic stay at new year .they are both so freindly and go out there way to make you welcome .I go on a regular basis and would recomend this Hotel to anyone looking to stay in Blackpool .Looking foward to my next trip in feb xxxxx Mave xx

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mave d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Just got back from a two night new years stay at new douglas hotel in blackpool we could not of asked for better accomodation or more friendly owners who go out of their way to make you feel at home & most welcome. The hotel was spotless clean with great food in ample quantaties moya even went & made sandwhiches for us at no extra cost while we drank in the bar in the evening, We were lovely & warm in the hotel being as it was winter time & the beds was really comfy to sleep in & we could not of asked for better value for money, There was 20 of us went & nothing was too much trouble for Moya & Ian the owner's who will now deffinately be firm friends of ours & this is one hotel we will be returning to many times in the future I cannot fault this hotel. The hotel & it's owners made our break away much more better than we could of anticipated. I will deffinately recommend this hotel to friends & family & anyone reading this review I can honestly say I could not give one negative comment to anyone thinking of staying here at the new douglas , get booking & I know you will have a warm welcome & a great time .

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.4 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#227 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Minotel Lucena
Minotel Lucena
#92 of 126 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#326 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,060 reviews
1.1 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Douglas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Douglas Hotel

Property: New Douglas Hotel
Address: 9-11 Wellington Road, Blackpool FY1 6AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #669 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Hotel Class:3 star — New Douglas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Douglas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing