We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great Hotel Great Staff"”
Review of The Shanklin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Shanklin Hotel
Ranked #744 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 2nights with my boyfriend and another couple. When we arrived John couldn't have done more for us. A bit of a mixup with the booking but due to this error we both got bigger rooms. Rooms we're basic but most of clean! John couldn't have done more for us! Bar was cheap which is always a bonus! Breakfast was great as well! Couldn't fault the stay! Definitely recommend this hotel. It's central to everything which is a bonus! (Saving money on taxis) hoping to be back later on in the year if not will be booking up again for next! Great hotel, Great Staff & great food!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DebbieGarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for The Shanklin Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Was a good stay! Was welcomed well by the manager and staff as I came with friends. The manager sorted everything to our satisfaction and even asked us for our requests for breakfast ! #IWouldStayHere! Close to the beachside, restaurants and also the bus station and Stadium 9/10 Overall

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheese_boii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Clean and great location owner couldn't do enough for you worth every penny
me and my mate went to watch darts at winter gardens and the hotel gave us a key each and wasn't about what time we came in and they even let us leave our bags until we were ready to leave later that day great service

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian Dodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Absolutely devastated at our experience!! Booked this hotel for me and my little girl with it being start of may holidays. Went to check in at 14.15 (check in 14.00-21.00) rang the bell no answer, waited a few minutes and tried again still no answer. Took the phone number and tried ringing..no answer. Tried a couple more times to still have no answer. Went for a walk to coral island and carried on trying. By 15.25 I was getting fed up so rang booking.com who I'd made the reservation with they put me on hold whilst they tried they didn't achieve anything either and told me an email would be sent for the owner to reply within 30 mins. Still at 17.45 no reply had been made. I think its awful to have people booked in and not be there for them. As it is we are currently at home after waiting hours to see what was happening. Safe to say never stayed here and never would!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank jeza84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreCCo, Manager at The Shanklin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Must apolojise to this Lady,the fact is i knew nothing about your booking,otherwise you would have got a warm welcome,booking.com must take the rap for this.You and your child are welcome to come back anytime for a free weekend,once again i apolojise on behalf of Bookig.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Another gud wkend in the shanklin was bit disapointed bar not up and running bedrooms needed heating on but nice breakfast and warm welcome once again fr john he cannot do enough for u john is a friendly and pleasant manager we will certainly return bak nxt time we return to blackpool

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreCCo, Manager at The Shanklin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Once again Lynn thnx,you are always welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed here for two nights friday and saturday, I was very happy with every thing about it , including John I found him very helpfull and eager to help in any way he can.The room was clean and very comfortable. We will definatly stay there again. Ps breakfast excellent need I say more.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 24,039,802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreCCo, Manager at The Shanklin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

thanx Roz & Eddie,your the type of guests this place needs,there"s a room here for you whenever your back in Blackpool....enjoy Turkey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We have just left The Shanklin Hotel and we could not
leave quick enough. When asked if a double room was available for one night we were given room 9. The pictures shown of the en-suite of room 9 are nothing like what we got. The soap dish holder had fallen off the wall and was down the side of the sink along with a black bin liner and some old toothpaste that we left to show the proprietor. The mould and damp on the curtains was nothing short of disgusting. It was actually growing up the curtains!!! There were stains on every wall and the bedding was old and tatty. There was no mattress protector on a very old mattress.
We had no heating and a fire was offered to us. The shower head was rusty and we had no hot water for a shower. Would only accept cash and took the money before we even saw the room. If we had of we would not have stayed.

I know you get what you pay for but this was really horrible, dirty and not worth £50.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreCCo, Manager at The Shanklin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

This Lady told me what a goood nights sleep she had & how she loved the breakfast.Idid give a heater for the room(which is way better than the radiator) the shower was working,all she had to do was ask,lots of people have trouble working that shower...the mould ?,on the curtain was a coffee stain,which the cleaner had overlooked,because the curtain was tucked between the window & sink (a three inch gap),dont understand this type of guest,all she had to do was speak to me...and if she wanted a refund,no problem......really dont like this type of guest...sniper......SPEAK TO ME...I WILL DO MY BEST FOR YOU.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#8 of 73 in Blackpool
1,286 reviews
1.8 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stonehouse Hotel
Stonehouse Hotel
#689 of 859 in Blackpool
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Westbourne House
Westbourne House
#29 of 859 in Blackpool
288 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grange House Hotel
Grange House Hotel
#60 of 859 in Blackpool
186 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#98 of 133 in Blackpool
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shanklin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shanklin Hotel

Address: 17 Vance Road, Blackpool FY1 4QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #744 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £36 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Shanklin Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run hotel with a personal touch. Scots couple Tracy and Wullie make everyone feel at home. Close to the centre of town with all the attractions that Blackpool has to offer only 2 minutes away. Come as guests and leave as friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your The Shanklin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing