We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very high quality B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Redstone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Redstone
Ranked #37 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bury, Lancs.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very high quality B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

I have stayed in very good hotels all over the country and abroad and the Redstone is right up there with the best of them. I was looking for a quiet, extremely comfortable and modern place to stay and there is no doubt at all that the Redstone fits the bill. The exterior shows considerable signs of improvement and exudes a general classiness, as does the all glass front door and electronic door card system. The welcome from Ursula was warm and genuine and the opportunity to have a cup of tea and a slice of cake while we completed the formalities in the attractive and tasteful reception area was a very nice touch. The room, on the first floor, had an extremely comfortable bed with some of the best pillows I've ever found! There was a good supply of tea and coffee and mineral water and a nice LCD TV of a sensible size. The bathroom had a wet room area and the rainfall shower head provided a nice touch of luxury on a par with some of the best boutique hotels.
In the morning I opted for the main Redstone breakfast; bacon and egg and a great deal more besides in fresh and inviting surroundings. The breakfast was of excellent quality and I can imagine the "Hotel Inspector" offering much praise if she ever came calling - not that the Management need any advice as they seem to be getting everything just right.
The Guest House is a stone's throw from the sea and there's a tram stop very close by.
All in all very highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ringtail_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theredstone, Owner at The Redstone, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Hi.
Thank you very much for all you have wrote.
Your review means a lot and thank you for taking the time to write it.
Hope to see you again.

Best Regards

Ursula & Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
226
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
oldbury
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

we arrived at the redstone to a warm welcome from ursula with a cup of tea and a slice of cake no big chat about rules and regulations just friendly and informative.
the rooms are spotless bed is comfortable with sheets that are fresh and not clinical smelling like theve been washed in starch.
toilet and shower are as i would of expected again spotless with plenty of fresh towels again not stiff as card board, soft and fresh.
water hot all the while no lose in pressure or temperature in a morning when having shower,central heating available all the time if required just on regulator on rad and towel rad .
breakfast freshly cooked every morning ,no long wait even when busy,and enough to keep u going all day.and as ever ursula always had time to have a chat nothing was to much trouble.
overall wot can i say its sounds to good to be true but it is not,the redstone is just how we wanted our stay to be and they have got it spot on.she should be very proud of wot she has achieved.and we will be back

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent .good value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theredstone, Owner at The Redstone, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Hi. Thank you for your kind words, they mean a lot to us here at The Redstone. Its always a pleasure to hear our guests left happy and relaxed, afterall that was your reason for coming!
Hope to see you back here again.

Warm Regards

Ursula & Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Stayed at this hotel for two nights and it was absolutely fabulous, Ursula and her family can't do enough for you. The hotel is decorated to a high standard, and spotlessly clean , the bedrooms are pure luxury , very modern with large flat screen tv, bath robes, slippers ,tea/coffee, hairdryer/straighteners.Ensuite bathroom was of a very high standard and had a fantastic shower . Breakfast was excellent and we had plenty of choice .Ursula gave us plenty of tips on the best restaurants and things to do .The hotel bar is a must to see , we could have stayed in there all night. Ursulas home made cakes are delicious . Definitely go back again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theredstone, Owner at The Redstone, responded to this review, 3 September 2011
Hi

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others.
I am begining to sound the same on each response but when I read all the lovely things people say I dont what else i can say except a very big Thank you.
I look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards

Ursula & Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

From the moment we arrived and saw the classy exterior to this hotel we were impressed and looking forward to a pleasant stay! No canopies over the door or neon lights, it has a very contemporary kerbside appeal, complimenting the even better things going on inside! We arrived earlier than expected but this was fine, and our room was a OMG, WOW factor moment..king size bed, wet room, seating area, loads of extra niceities and spotlessly clean, cool clean palete of colours making the room a pleasure to be in. Beware! bed so comfy if you lay on it just to relax, you could be there and miss all thats going on in Blackpool!!! We were shown around,taking in the welcoming guest lounge and the lovely big breakfast room, homemade cake on the side server, just help yourself...the sooner the better, cause it goes very quickly yummy...the basement bar is another WOW, cool black marble floor, subtle lighting and comfortable modern seating is a must to use..Nothing is too much trouble for the proprietor Ursula and her team. We could not have been made more welcome. Breakfast was a feast for the eyes, fresh berries, cereals, pastries, juices etc along with a marvelous cooked breakfast all with locally sourced produce, very good to set us up for walking our legs off in Blackpool. All in all a fantastic experience, we will be definately returning, we wish we had booked for more than one night. Visit here...you WILL be impressed! Thanks Ursula and team you have a real gem! (Karen & Steve. 31st Aug)

Room Tip: I would imagine every room in this hotel to be all equally impressive
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotlandTigger555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theredstone, Owner at The Redstone, responded to this review, 3 September 2011
Hi to you both

Thank you for the review.
Im glad you loved our guesthouse and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
(thanks again for the Haggis)

Warm Regards

Ursula & Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

This hotel is the best I have stayed in in blackpool and compares to all the top hotels I have stayed in. The staff were friendly the welcoming the accomodation from the rooms to the breafast area to the Bar was done to a very high standard. There has been an obvious attention to detail and class in the way it has been decorated. At only 80 yards to the sea front and right in the middle of the Pleasure beach and the tower it is ideally situated. I will definately stay there again and would well recogmend to anyone who is thinking. We paid the extra for the room upgrade and it was well worth it room 2

Room Tip: Uprgarde it worth it for the larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suggs93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theredstone, Owner at The Redstone, responded to this review, 3 September 2011
Hi

Lovely to read your comments and thank you for taking the time to write them.
I look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards

Ursula & Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

The whole experience of the hotel was excellent. We could not fault it at all. The rooms were of excellent quality and very clean as is the case for the whole of the Hotel, We were made very welcome by all staff. The hotel is located very close to the Sea and is in walking distance to the pleasure beach. The breakfast was lovely. We would definitely go back and would recommend the hotel to anyone we know who is going to Blackpool.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theredstone, Owner at The Redstone, responded to this review, 3 September 2011
Hi
Thank you fro taking the time to write the review.
Your input is very important and appreciated.
I look forward to welcoming you back with us in the future.

Best Regards

Ursula& Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airtrainandplane
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Four of us had a one nighter in this great guest house and it was faultless, rooms were clean, breakfast was tasty, secure parking, free wi-fi and very near to all that Blackpool has to offer. Great customer care from Ursula and Yasmine, well done and thank you. Just a shame they could not fit us in for a second night as we moved into the Imperial Hotel which we found to be inferior to the Redstone.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maxthewax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theredstone, Owner at The Redstone, responded to this review, 3 September 2011
Hi
Thanks for the review. Its nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind words.
I look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Best Regards
Ursula & Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.9 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Number One South Beach
Number One South Beach
#45 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.9 mi away
FouRooms Blackpool
FouRooms Blackpool
#1 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.0 mi away
Number One St Luke's
Number One St Luke's
#69 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redstone

Property: The Redstone
Address: 9 Alexandra Road, Blackpool FY1 6BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Redstone 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a luxurious stay right in the heart of Blackpool? The Redstone Guest House is perfectly positioned a stones throw from the beach and all the major attractions Britain's favourite seaside resort has to offer. Our guest house has been recently refurbished to offer luxury accommodation effortlessly combining traditional features with contemporary twists. The Redstone is perfect for the discerning guest looking for a relaxing base from which to explore Blackpool. Blackpool has so much on offer whether you are simply looking to relax and unwind or whether you are looking for a fun packed holiday! The sandy beach is close by where you can take in some sea air and soak up some rays in the summer months! For thrill seekers, be sure to visit The Pleasure Beach where you can ride the rollercoasters. The world famous Blackpool Tower is within easy reach as is the Winter Gardens and the main shopping area of the town. After a busy day exploring, relax in our welcoming guest lounge and enjoy a drink from our bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Redstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Redstone Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing