We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain all the way!! ”
Review of Franklyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Franklyn Hotel
Ranked #218 of 858 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Bargain all the way!! ”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

What more can i say. The hosts were so friendly and the value for money was amazing. We will be back. The location is perfect, having been to blackpool a fair few times this is the ideal place to stay, far away from stag and hen doos but central to everything that's going on and there is plenty! We had 2 nights and we could not fault the owners, they were lovely people, the guest house is basic but is clean and very tidy and presentable.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank GarethDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    31
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
63
26
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from my visit to Blackpool and I must say without coming back to Franklyn Hotel the experience would not have been completed. We arrived and were greeted and showed our room which was lovely and clean and a good size ours came with and ensuite which was basic and suited our needs. There is plenty of information on the attractions around Blackpool and the information for the hotel . The welcome book any additional information was given readily. Our host were all friendly, breakfast was amazing tea,coffee, a selection of cereals and cooked breakfast were all availabl between the hours if 8-9.30. All attractions are writhing a ten minute walk. We could come and go as we please as we were given a late key all in all a brilliant stay for families and couples alike will have to stay again soon.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayisha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at Franklyn. Great value and close to all the main Blackpool attractions and public transport stops.
Very clean. Shared toilet and shower room which I knew about in advance so not a problem. Toilet flush was very loud or walls very thin as it woke me up in night but wasnt major issue. TV in room with freeview good if you have kids going to bed early.
Breakfast well worth the extra charge it was so nice and my daughter loved her kids version.
Iain picked us up from train station for free which was a nice touch however we did walk to station on departure and it wasn't too far anyway.
Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessi27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed at the Franklyn on 7th to 11th July 2014. Our room was at the back of the building and was nice and homely. It had everything we needed, TV, tea and coffee making facilities, shower and toilet and plenty storage space. It was bright and nicely decorated. The hotel is in a brilliant location just 5 minutes walk from the promenade, tower, beach and shopping centre and 5 minute drive to Blackpool Zoo. The owners Karen and Ian are a lovely couple who go out of their way to help. Ian picked us up and took us back to the train station. He also took us up to the pleasure beach. We had breakfast every morning and at only £4.50 it was fantastic value. It consisted of fruit juice and cereal followed by tea or coffee and toast then a full cooked breakfast which filled me up until night time. The service was great and there was a friendly atmosphere throughout the whole hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our first stay at the Franklyn and will definitely return and recommend to others. Thanks Karen and Ian for your good hospitality, Kim & Becki :)

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kimmills1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stayed here last weekend 4th July for 2 nights there was 12 of us on my friends 50th birthday weekend we found the hotel fantastic its central to all the things we wanted to do the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was great too we found the rooms very comfortable would def recommend to others there talking about another weekend away so who knows might see us back ;)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starbar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Myself and my auntie stayed at the Franklyn Fri to Sun 20 to 22 June. The hotel was very clean. Our room was for 3 people and was a good size. The bed that I slept in was one of the comfyist I have ever slept in. The breakfast was really good and was served at what time you chose. We ordered an evening meal for the Sat which was very good. The staff were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. The location of the hotel was very good just about 2 mins from the tower and shops. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: We had room no 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billysbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I recently visited Blackpool for the weekend for my birthday with two of my friends, we stayed here at the Franklyn Hotel. This hotel is exactly what you need for a fun weekend away, it's very clean, a great central location, the staff are so friendly and helpful and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay! It is a small family run hotel and has a very basic room and bar area, and this is exactly what you pay for! The value for money for what you receive and where the hotel is located is absolutely brilliant! It is not a 5 star hotel, if you are looking for a posh, luxury weekend then it's not for you, however, Blackpool is not somewhere that you would spend a lot of time in your room so for a weekend of drinking and partying, it is perfect, so I feel that it should not be reviewed as one! Karen and Iain who run the hotel made us feel very welcome, gave us our own keys to allow us to come and go as we please and they also offered us transport from the train station if we needed it, which we felt was a lovely extra touch, we didn't need it as we were not going straight to the hotel, however instead of searching for a hotel that you are unsure of the location, this would have been perfect, had we needed it! The room was stocked with tea, coffee and hot chocolate, and irons etc can be requested if needed. The next time we visit Blackpool for the weekend we will definitely stay here again, after the service we received, I wouldn't go anywhere else. Thanks Karen and Iain, we had a ball, and will be back :) x

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennaTaylor14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 69 in Blackpool
3,124 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 69 in Blackpool
3,964 reviews
0.2 mi away
Franklin Hotel
Franklin Hotel
#372 of 858 in Blackpool
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Arlingtons
Arlingtons
#32 of 858 in Blackpool
234 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Delamere Hotel
The Delamere Hotel
#163 of 858 in Blackpool
123 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#97 of 128 in Blackpool
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franklyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franklyn Hotel

Property: Franklyn Hotel
Address: 33 Charnley Road | Central Blackpool, Blackpool FY1 4PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 858 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Franklyn Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Franklyn Hotel, B&B, Guest House makes an ideal base for your break as we are ideally situated right in the centre of our world famous resort and within a couple of minutes walk from Blackpool's key attractions such as The Winter Gardens, The Tower Complex, Funny Girls, The Theatres and Shops. We are also only a short walk from the Promenade and central pier where trams and buses run every few minutes to whisk you off down to the Pleasure Beach. All at budget prices. All our rooms are equipped with TVs, hospitality tray offering Tea, Coffee and Hot Chocolate and are freshened on a daily basis. We now have 4 family rooms If you are looking for a budget break ring us for a cheap break. We even offer a 'Free' Train/Bus station pick up & drop off service. We have limited free parking but there is a secure car park next to us at a reasonable cost. Prices are from 2.50 for 2 hours £8.00 for 12 hours and £12.00 for 24 hours ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Franklyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing