We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Melrose Hotel

Melrose Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melrose Hotel
Ranked #635 of 858 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Collins family: Hemel Hempstead
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Stayed over Christmas 2012 for 3 night Feastive break. Absolutely brilliant time with Mick and Sara who made everyone's christmas a special one with great food, entertainment and their hospitality. Room was lovely and Sara even put pressies, fruit and a stocking in the room! Would recommend this hotel to everyone visiting Blackpool. (1 minute from sea front South Shore). Cant wait to go back. Free parking at front, lovely bar area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexc247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    11
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Thank you for helping our weekend go so well. We really enjoyed the street entertainment you told us about, Looking forward to our next visit and the fabulous breakfasts.
Nothing is ever too much trouble for Mick and Sara whatever you ask they will always find an answer if they don't already know.

Room Tip: If your looking for a place which feels like home ,and children are always welcome this is the one f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I can honestly not express in words how wonderful our valentines break was here. The day we arrived the weather was at it's worst, sleet, snow and rain, after about a 5 minute walk from the train station we arrived, easy to find even by my standards. The first thing we were offered was a hot drink, boy my hubby was impressed as we were freezing. Sara and Mick could not have done anything more to make our stay more welcoming. Rooms were clean comfy and warm, even little additional touches especially for valentines day. Request at breakfast were accepted and the food was as lovely as the hotel and the welcome. This is the first hotel in blackpool i would recommend to everyone and as i said we are going back, and i cant wait x

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shhimback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

LOVE this hotel!! It was our first time in Blackpool and it definately won't be our last and we wouldn't stay anywhere else. Mick and Sara were fantastic hosts. The room was very modern and clean and a great little connecting room with bunk beds for our son to sleep in and a cot bed provided for our little one. Nice, clean little bathroom with power shower- all very modern decor. We were shown to our room quickly then enjoyed a cider in the bar area whilst waiting for our family to arrive who were also staying (they also had an amazing time). Mick and Sara helped us to book tickets online for Pleasure beach and Tower as it saved money. Breakfast was LUSH!! Good choice of cereal and juice, tea, coffee, yoghurt then asked what we would like cooked. All very yummy!! Hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk from Central pier but lovely just to mooch along and pop in the shops. Very family orientated and homely place and cannot wait to go back oh and excellent value for money. Thank you again Mick & Sara. xx Marie, Chris, Kyle and little Liam

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsO1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here last weekend and this is a lovely place which is run by a lovely couple !!! We will be back !! Special thanks for posting the t shirts etc that my husband left in the room !!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnasquires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

Just had a great weekend at the Melrose Hotel With my young son and it was a lovely place couldn't of asked for a nicer place or nicer people. Breakfast was delicious, and the room was very comfortable and clean thanks for a great stay Mick and Sara.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank RobMauns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Now my turn to pass it on! Sara & Mike are quite the friendliest hosts we have ever met and run a GREAT business. The house is warm, very clean, and nicely decorated throughout. I had a 'tour' of the bedrooms, with the view to passing on to my family with their own youngsters! 3 lovely family rooms each offering different 'needs' being answered! Mike's ability to produce 20 cooked breakfasts in such a way is something else - Sara making sure that you have everything you want or need - you come out of the pretty dining room knowing you have been well fed!
We haven't been to Blackpool for 15 years, and our 'wish list' included on sight parking (ticked), en-suite room (ticked), licenced - just in case! - (ticked), easy to find (ticked), quite central (ticked), 'select' clientel - couples/families only - (ticked)!!!
We had been offered the opportunity of making use of the dining room for our 'take-away' dinner, which we graciously declined and were allowed to take it to our bedroom. Found out later that a meal could have been made for us if we had asked! Sara phoned Mike while he was out shopping asking him to bring in wine for a guest, as birthday present, and I laughed and asked for him to bring one in for me - to drink in their bar - and he did, bless him!! Sara & I thoroughly enjoyed it too!
So have I reccommended this to my sons who normally stop at 'well known' chain hotels - YOU BET!!
We would just add at this time - while Sara & Mike are relatively 'new' to the business, they cannot get better - only bigger, and more power to their elbows!! Thank you so much for helping to make our impulsive short break so enjoyable!

Room Tip: Room 5 overlooks 'main' road and Friday night proved to be a bit noisy, window had been left...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarmouse60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 69 in Blackpool
468 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melrose Hotel
Melrose Hotel
#718 of 858 in Blackpool
12 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holmlea
Holmlea
#109 of 858 in Blackpool
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wilton Hotel
Wilton Hotel
#149 of 858 in Blackpool
163 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tulip Hotel
Tulip Hotel
#741 of 858 in Blackpool
142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#97 of 128 in Blackpool
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melrose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Hotel

Property: Melrose Hotel
Address: 52 Alexandra Road, Blackpool FY1 6BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #635 of 858 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Melrose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing