We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Overnight Stay”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #26 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Overnight Stay”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Just returned from an overnight stay at The Imperial Hotel Blackpool. We were in Blackpool to visit an Aunt who was celebrating her 90th birthday. We had requested a family room as our two young granddaughters were with us, we expected a large bedroom in order to accommodate the four of us, we were given the key/card for room 111 on the first floor, which was called 'The Westminster suite'. We were absolutely amazed on entering the suite, it was superb!, there was a large sitting room furnished with a leather Chesterfield suite, dining table and chairs, the table covered with a snowy white cloth, there was a coffee table, side board, fridge with complimentary mineral water, biscuits, tea, coffee etc but the nicest suprise was a little decorated Christmas tree and over the lovely marble fire place they had placed garlands comple with baubles and lights. There were two large bedrooms, one with a hugh four poster bed, the other, very large twin beds both rooms had flat screen tv's in them as did the sitting room, there were bath robes and toweling slippers for us and an abundance of towels. The bathroom, with two sinks, bath and shower was clean and warm as all the other rooms were, which looked as though they had very recently been refurbished with plush carpets and curtains. The swimming pool, gym etc. were spotless and very well maintained, with courteous staff always on hand. Breakfast was plentiful and varied, all in all we have only praise for how we found our stay at the Imperial, our granddaughters summed it up by saying 'it was like staying at Downton Abbey but with TV sets. We would stay again without hesitation, excellent experience.

Room Tip: Room 111 was excellent as said, quiet with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Imperial Hotel, Blackpool, part of the Puma Hotels collection. I was delighted to read that we made your stay special and the team looked after you well. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,083
    986
    536
    285
    168
See reviews for
758
1,355
83
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (773)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Unable to review hotel, services or facilities as following our experience of driving around for 40 minutes trying to find somewhere to park (hotel car park totally inadequate for number of guests), finally arriving at reception trailing luggage for which no offer of assistance was extended we were informed that our room would not be ready for another hour as 'leisure club guests were given an extended check-out' which co-insided with the time we had been given to arrive (and thus paid from). Based on the experience of our first hour my husband and I decided continue our journey home from Scotland to the Midlands without risking any further nasty surprises. I must however praise the member of the reception staff who was the only person who appeared to have any idea of professionalism but was hindered in assisting us by invisable management whom she kept telephoning but who did not appear to speak to us.

Our subsequent written complaint was responded to with an offer of a 50% discount of a future stay with no response or acknowledgement whatsoever to any of the issues raised in the complaint other than to say that they were considering putting back the check in time of arriving guests due to the late check out of leisure club members! The 50% discount is more than safe - this is one establishment I would never considering returning to and would seriously think twice of booking any other hotel within this group if this is an example of their management training programe in practice.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tonybilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your response. I can only apologise that you felt unable to stay at the Hotel, due to not being able to find a parking space, and the late check out of previous guests. We do have 150 parking spaces in the Hotel grounds, but on busy periods it is not easy to find a space. I do hope that you will return with the discounted price we have offered, in order to see what the Hotel has on offer. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I stayed at the hotel on 27th and 28th November. The break was a birthday present for my partner following our Civil Parnetship ceremony at the hotel in July. The staff remembered us and we were upgraded to a deluxe seafront room. We had two very pleasant dinners and on
my Partner's birthday had a specially decorated table for the occasion.
I cannot thank the staff enough for their attention, in particular Paul in the restaurant who went
out of his way to make us welcome.
The whole stay was very pleasant and excellent value for money. We shall certainly return.
Thank you to all

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colint_stuartd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
It was a pleasure to welcome you back to the Imperial Hotel, Blackpool, and delighted to read that once again the team looked after you well. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We stayed here Friday - Sunday with 300 others in our group (a church weekend away).
A very pleasant stay!
I'd describe this as a traditional 4 star hotel. It appears a little old fashioned, but our sea view room was very comfortable, spacious and clean.
Plenty of public spaces to sit and chat and kids loved a games room and the pool!
The staff were fantastic! All polite, friendly and helpful. We had a very minor problem in our room and this was dealt with promptly.
Would definitely recommend the Imperial for a stay in Blackpool!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JozeeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Thank you for your positive review, and for choosing to stay at the Imperial Hotel, Blackpool, part of the Puma Hotels collection. I was delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and the team looked after you well. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed here on a Thursday & Friday night on a Dinner, Bed & Breakfast rate in a Suoerior room. Food and Romm excellent and value for money. Will certainly use the ghotel again. Have stayed at other Puma hotels, but this is the best in our opinion.

Room Tip: We stayed on 2nd floor, no problems, lift excellent and always available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Imperial Hotel, Blackpool, part of the Puma Hotels collection. I was delighted to read that you had a good stay and that the staff looked after you well. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

On arrival at the hotel the reception area looked quite palatial, however on arrival in our room our opinions changed.
Very dull and dreary decor, bathroom in serious need of a make=over, taps loose, horrible shower curtain and taps not cleaned on the bath.
Bedroom itself needed more lighting and the view from the obsure window was of rooftops, which were hiding the rubbish bins which were emptied each morning - not the best thing to be woken up by!
Several poor experiences during our stay caused our complaints to the duty manager who gave us a free bottle of wine with our dinner to compensate. However, we were disturbed in the early hours of the next morning by inconsiderate residents partying for a couple of hours in the room next door, so yet again after complaints at the time to reception, we received apologies from the staff who said the hotel manager would contact us!
To date this has not happened, hence this poor review.
We have never given a bad review before and feel that the previous reputation of this hotel needs to be upheld by the current management. Respect to residents is crutial to the reputation of a hotel and feel that some form of compensation/contact should have been made to prevent a report like this. Very sad that a lovely old hotel like this should turn out to resemble Butlins

Room Tip: avoid an internal room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank einniw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you felt let down by the Hotel in that no one has been in contact with you. I can only apologise that you were disturbed by some inconsiderate guests in the next room, we do try to keep noise to a minimum, but quite obviously this was not the case in this instance. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

The food is well cooked and delicious served by efficient, friendly staff. This 4* hotel is impressive, has good facilities and the room was clean and comfortable. A wonderful weekend break! Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Breakfast is buffet style self-service.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and it's quieter on the 4th floor apparently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geordies94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Thank you for your response. I am pleased that overall you had a pleasant stay with us, and the team looked after you well. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,850 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#35 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
2.7 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,865 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#20 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Imperial Hotel Blackpool dominates the North Promenade and was one of the first hotels the Victorians built in the new seaside resort of Blackpool.Everything Blackpool has to offer is right on your doorstep and it’s a great base for exploring the surrounding region. Venture out to discover unspoilt beaches on the Fylde Coast and Cumbria’s picturesque lakes and mountains.This stunning Victorian Blackpool hotel boasts 180 modern bedrooms, 9 of which are stunning suites with sea views, it also has an indoor pool and the No.10 bar, which has served drinks to many British Prime Ministers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Blackpool
Barcelo Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing