We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired, overpriced hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tired, overpriced hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

We stayed here for a wedding and were very disappointed with the quality of the room. The price of the room was over £150 per night for a twin room, which is great deal more than I would usually spend in the UK even in London. I assumed for this price and having seen photos of the exterior of the hotel I would be in for a real treat. The exterior of the hotel is quite impressive and the lobby is old fashioned but reasonably grand. The room itself was pretty terrible. The carpet was dirty and dusty. There were actually dust bunnies in the corners, which I've never even seen before! There were stains on the wall paper, the wallpaper was coming away around the radiator, the wooden window panes were mouldy and desperately needed to be replaced. The room was pokey with a dirty net curtain over the window which looked out over a brick wall. We actually laughed with disbelief when we saw the view. One saving grace was the bathroom, which was quite large and clean. The sheets were also clean. For the price I was completely shocked and felt totally ripped off. Thankfully the wedding I attended at the hotel was lovely and the ballroom was great. However, had I not been a guest at the wedding I would have been massively disturbed by the noise from the ballroom. My partner returned to the room earlier than me and said the music was so loud in the room the walls were shaking. We did not get to sleep until after the reception had finished at around 2AM. If I had not been a guest at the wedding I would have definitely complained. Breakfast the next morning was excellent, with great choices and the food was really good quality. The breakfast room looked out over the sea. I would not stay here again and would not recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pjbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Thank you for your review. Firstly please accept my sincere apologies for the cleanliness issues in the bedroom, please be assured that I will pass your comments on to the housekeeping team. With regards to the noise issue in the room, we always allocate bedrooms away from any possible disturbance, if not attending the function, but on this occasion as you were with the wedding party, it was thought OK to allocate over the area. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel in the near future. Kind regards, Alison Gilmore, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,055
    969
    518
    276
    161
See reviews for
741
1,322
78
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (759)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Near Liverpool. England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

It was my mum's 70th birthday this week, so as a special treat we took her for a pamper day here with a groupon voucher for a girly spa day including manicure, pedicure and full use of the pool, Jacuzzi etc...

When we arrived, we were informed that one of the beauty therapists phoned in sick so we would have to go one after the other instead of both together, which was fine :) we also requested to not get the pedicure done so we were offered a better quality manicure instead which was really nice :)

The facilities look lovely, the changing rooms were so clean and tidy, the gym looked small but enough for what you'd need. The swimming pool area was lovely and tidy. It was the start of January so too cold for us to use this so we just had our nails done then went for a nice day in Blackpool, the hotel is right on the front of the beach so it is in an ideal location.

Our therapist was Debra and she was lovely, very easy to chat to and did a lovely job on our nails :) This place really made our stay special.

If we ever go to blackpool again we are likely to come back :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dramaqueen86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Thank you for your positive review. I was delighted to read that you had a pleasant day with us and the Beauty girls looked after you well. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

During our two night stay we were made extraordinarily welcome. Staff members from across all departments within the hotel were friendly, engaging and informative.

In spite of the number of people passing through the hotel in the week before Christmas we were always made to feel very special.

Others have already commented on some aspects of the fixtures and furnishings of this magnificent hotel being a little tired, although the benefits of previous and current ongoing investment are clear to see.

We will certainly be returning here in the future and to the sister hotel in Stirling where we were also made very welcome.

Room Tip: Our experience to date has been limited to rooms facing the sea which we have thoroughly enjoyed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
We are delighted to read that once again you have enjoyed your stay at the Imperial Hotel, Blackpool, part of the Puma Hotels collection. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehuddstribe
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

We normally stay for 3 or 4 nights over new year unfortunately this year we could only make 1night but still had a fantastic time.
Checking was quick rooms were ready at 12noon so we could take bags up, the rooms are all different sizes which adds to the charm of the hotel.
Sherry and mince pies where on. Offer as we checked in and at 2.30 afternoon tea was served..well scones, cakes tea and coffee..no sandwiches this year but plenty cakes for a light snack.
The pool area is lovely and the sauna and steam room are excellent
There were 3children in our party and so we go to the family party with tazz.who is fantastic he works so hard all night
The food was a buffet plenty choice hot and cold starters, main meals, kids meals and desserts waiters bringing drinks and then games for kids and adults before a disco and a lively conga into the adults party down the corridor
Breakfast the morning after was the usually full English plenty choice from hot and cold buffets.
The hotel is great we look forward to staying not only at new year but at other times and have never had a cause to complain...roll on the next visit

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thehuddstribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Imperial Hotel, Blackpool, part of the Puma Hotels collection. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the family disco, and look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

Stayed for two nights on a short break whilst visiting the Pantomine at The Grand Theatre. The hotel was very grand as you would expect. My room overlooking the prom/beach was very comfortable, clean and spacious. The staff were excellent. Just one downside breakfast on my day of departure was disappointing, the bacon, sausage and tomatoes had been reheated which you would'nt expect at 7-45am. Yes it was replaced but that was as bad which was a shame as all my previous meals including dinner the night before were freshly cooked. Overall I enjoyed my stay and would stay again at this hotel if I visit Blackpool.

Room Tip: Request a room with promonade/sea view, well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidhammond78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Imperial Hotel, Blackpool, part of the Puma Hotels collection. I have noted your comments about the breakfast and passed these on to the Head Chef. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed here for the New Year Package. On arrival we were greeted with a glass of sherry & mince pie which was lovely, but we would have preferred to deposit bags in our room first.

On arrival in our room we found that that the bathroom had been used. We reported this to reception on our way back to the car and they were most apologetic and sent the housekeeper and maid immediately to rectify the problem. Later a bottle of wine arrived with complements, which was a lovely gesture. There was no information folder, safe or hairdryer which we found rather strange for a four star hotel.

Dinner on the first evening was in the Palm Court and we were shown to our table which was located on the raised area to the left. A cold draft blew from the open doorway straight at our table, so we asked to move. The waiter told us there was a strict seating plan and he would ask. The restaurant manager, Rachel, soon sorted the problem out and we moved tables. We also mentioned to her that the cruets were filthy and she said ‘they were only cleaned a couple of days ago!!!’ Surely if you are going to go to the trouble of having a clean white slip cloth for each guest then surely it makes sense to clean the cruets each sitting! (every table throughout our stay had filthy cruets) We both chose the lamb and were very surprised to see that the food & vegetables came out plated. (fine if nouvelle cuisine – but it certainly was not) The lamb was dry due to being over heated and some of the vegetables were over cooked & roast potatoes appeared to be deep fried. We were not offered any mint sauce or extra gravy and no one asked if everything was alright. The wine we ordered was just plonked beside us in an ice bucket and not opened or served. Rather disappointing experience for a four star establishment.

The first nights entertainment was a singer in the function suite at the other end of the hotel and tea & coffee was being served here. We found pump pots of tea & coffee, no mints or petit fours and self service. Drinks were stewed and really rather unpleasant. The singer was fine, but the atmosphere was lacking as not many people had bothered to come.

New Years Eve started with breakfast which was a total self service affair. Food was fine, but eggs were always cold. Perhaps at this level an egg chef cooking eggs to order is more in keeping. No menus or sign of any vegetarian food or fish.

No real entertainment during the day, just a room set aside for videos and a few board games in another. Perhaps a quiz or something should be incorporated.

We returned to our room until the maid came. We left the tv on and vacated the room for her to service. On return the remote control was missing. We left a note for her the next day, but the remote was still not returned and our notepad had vanished too. The cleanliness of the hotel was good, but table legs were forgotten and corridor dado rails were dusty. Our empty box of tissues was not replaced at all throughout our stay.

The evening began with drinks and canapés then a piper piping us through to the black tie dinner in one of the functions suites. The food this evening was good. Our only comments really would be the placing of the tables (next to a pillar which meant we kept having to squeeze in all the time for people to get past) and unfortunately we were seated with quite a ‘dull’ bunch – but this could not be helped.
The band were good, but played the same songs as the singer the previous evening. We stayed up till 12.30 then headed off to bed as the disco was too loud to talk and our table did not really dance.

Breakfast was a similar experience to our first and dinner too. The dinner menu had a couple of supplement dishes – one was a steak for £7.50 extra, but at 8pm there were no steaks left! We ended up with chicken with peppercorn sauce which to be honest overpowered the chicken. Again vegetables were plated. For dessert we chose apple crumble & sticky toffee pudding. Unfortunately the sticky toffee pudding was cold. No one noticed until the waiter eventually came to clear us. He immediately offered a replacement which we declined then offered complimentary coffee or liqueurs. Entertainment this evening was a singer but this time in the restaurant who finished playing at 9pm and no room to dance. He played all the same songs too – lol! After 9pm there was no entertainment available and many guests headed back to their rooms or off to another hotel to find something to do.

Leisure centre was good & it was nice and clean.

All staff were really friendly and helpful.

Would we stay again – no not for New Year, the package was disappointing and lacking for the price we paid.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maxine10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Thank you for your constructive review. I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. I have noted all the comments you have made regarding the food and the entertainemtn on offer over the New Year period. We will be reviewing all the issues you have rasied prior to determining the programme for this year. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Just stayed at The Imperial for 4 nights over New Years Eve 2012, with a 9 year old and a dog. The hotel is really grand and traditional, we booked a Suite room 218 (The churchill suite) The room was lovely, a huge sitting room with floor to ceiling windows and a fantastic view over the sea, they had even decorated the room for Christmas so we had our own tree! The bedroom was great too, ample storage and everything we needed, comfy beds, nice bathroom with bath and separate shower. The room was cleaned daily to a good standard and the coffee, tea etc always replenished.
Breakfast was good too, we expected it to be busy, but we were always seated quickly without too much of a wait. the food was great, everything you expect.
The main compliment I can give to the hotel is the helpfulness and politeness of the staff. Nothing was too much trouble. The staff were happy and always there to help with everything we needed.
We stayed for the New Years eve family party, and thought this was brilliant! My daughter loved the entertainer, and the food was far better than I expected for this kind of do. The service was great and the the decoration of the tables etc was really special.
The location of the hotel was perfect for us as we didn't want to be in the "thick" of Blackpool, it is located past the North Pier, directly on the sea front.
I think the hotel is really well managed, and this comes across in all aspects of the hotel, it is an old traditional grand hotel with lots of history and was a real pleasure to stay at, I'll definitely be returning!

Room Tip: Try to book a suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Imperial Hotel, Blackpool, part of the Puma Hotels collection. It is quite obvious that you appreciate the olde world charm of the Hotel. I was pleased to learn that you all enjoyed the New Year celebrations and hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,743 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#20 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Imperial Hotel Blackpool dominates the North Promenade and was one of the first hotels the Victorians built in the new seaside resort of Blackpool.Everything Blackpool has to offer is right on your doorstep and it’s a great base for exploring the surrounding region. Venture out to discover unspoilt beaches on the Fylde Coast and Cumbria’s picturesque lakes and mountains.This stunning Victorian Blackpool hotel boasts 180 modern bedrooms, 9 of which are stunning suites with sea views, it also has an indoor pool and the No.10 bar, which has served drinks to many British Prime Ministers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Blackpool
Barcelo Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing