We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #27 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We had a huge but dated room,overlooking the sea, we loved it. Check in was a bit tedious as we had to wait while. Parking was painful as there is one very full carpark in front, which they charge for. Maybe try and get there early, we arrived a bit late, hence the check in and and parking issues. The staff were friendly and helpful. We did not have a fridge and as we were doing a driving holiday and had supplies, this wasn't ideal. This a charming hotel, with old world charm. It was easy to catch a tram between hotel and beach to other areas of the front. Loved the boardwalk. The lights at Blackpool were a surprise, somewhat reminiscent of Las Vegas.
As for Blackpool, I can understand the historic draw of this place, its a bit cheesy, but if you relax and take it for what it is you will enjoy. Beware the hens, bucks and footies fans.

Room Tip: If you can get a front room overlooking the beach you will love.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozziwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,156 - 2,162 of 3,312 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

My sister and I spent five nights DBB. The hotel may look a little faded in some areas but the service was excellent. The staff were the most friendly I have met, from the General Manager Alison, through the dining room staff, to our chambermaid Dawn. My sister is disabled and everyone was most helpful. Friendliness and comfort before clinical coldness for me!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

me my husband went for two days this hotel is a two star not what they think they are it needs all refurnishing rite through standard rooms are filthy we upgraded and had to b moved at 2am and never got are water or anythin in new room we will never go again its like an glorified old folks home and dear :(

Room Tip: there isnt one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mazwalsh67li
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We visited for one night on my other half's birthday principally to see the international firework festival & illuminations. We have stayed before & had no hesitation in returning. The hotel is beautiful & ornate. We were pleasantly surprised to have an excellent sea view. Facilities are excellent & of particular note is breakfast. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank No1Janey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I took my fiancé to see the illuminations and was a bit worried it would be disappointing for both of us having not been there for years and having seen a few British seaside towns gone horribly downhill in recent years. I grew up in Manchester and some of my best childhood memories are family holidays in Blackpool staying in cheap and chintzy B&B's off the promenade.

I was pleasantly surprised!

The whole promenade has been developed, the Tower experience was great (loving the action in the tower ballroom dancefloor - oldies and gay men) - and the town as a whole has clearly had a lot of investment. It's not 'posh' by any stretch and we did struggle to find pubs where we didn't feel like we were about to be murdered...but we succeeded in the end! (The Dutton Arms is OK and the new Bar & Bistro near North Pier is a lovely little oasis of refinement for soft southerners)

The Imperial Hotel is grand and beautiful but it is a little shabby at the corners if you look closely. The staff were sparse but extremely helpful. They upgraded our suite to the Royal Suite which was pretty much an entire wing of the hotel - how amazing!

Fabulous original stained glass windows in the bathroom which were unfortunately disintegrating with the sea air. Fabulous grand breakfast but if you want a swim beforehand get to the pool early. It's underwhelming and small and four or five people make it too busy.

The ONLY annoying thing which should be easily redeemable was the lack of information in the room. Nothing about check-out, breakfast, reception services...anything. No paperwork except the bible!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starbracelets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Although my sister and neice and myself experienced problems with our room on arrival, the accommodating Manager sorted us out immediately. We had an enjoyable stay thereafter, and the food (evening meal and breakfast) was 5-star. The hotel structure is absolutely beautiful and one can imagine it's grandeur in Victorian days. It could do with a complete refurbishment, I agree, but a hotel this size would be so costly; finally, the three of us would definitely stay here when visiting Blackpool again. The staff were lovely .. couldn't do enough for you and the rooms were very clean. Considering what we paid .. "excellent value for money". Josephine from Chesterfield.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeminiJosie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

visited Blackpool lots of times, fourth time at Imperial, would not stay anywhere else. As with previous visits the staff were amazing, friendly and helpful. Although we had only booked a double room we were given a suite which was lovely. Yes it is a tired hotel in terms of décor but it has lots of charm and character. The leisure facilities were excellent. We chose to dine from the special offer of £40 with a bottle of wine for two. We felt it was good value and breakfast first class.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,173 reviews
2.7 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#35 of 73 in Blackpool
1,067 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
507 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 73 in Blackpool
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#20 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £47 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Imperial Hotel Blackpool dominates the North Promenade and was one of the first hotels the Victorians built in the new seaside resort of Blackpool.Everything Blackpool has to offer is right on your doorstep and it’s a great base for exploring the surrounding region. Venture out to discover unspoilt beaches on the Fylde Coast and Cumbria’s picturesque lakes and mountains.This stunning Victorian Blackpool hotel boasts 180 modern bedrooms, 9 of which are stunning suites with sea views, it also has an indoor pool and the No.10 bar, which has served drinks to many British Prime Ministers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Blackpool
Barcelo Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing