We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of Character”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #26 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Full of Character”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Yes the hotel is old. Yes it's a bit tired in places and No, it's not the most up to date place. However it has all the grandeur and features of days gone by. You feel like a Victorian gentleman in this place. Hayley the receptionist was very efficient, friendly and welcoming. Every member of staff I encountered were extremely polite, helpful and friendly. I really enjoyed my night here and a few bits of wear and tear did not detract from the overall experience. Would definitely go back.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank pscott1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I was delighted that the team looked after you well. It is obvious that you appreciate the elegance and charm of this wonderful building.

I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

with kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,085
    986
    537
    285
    168
See reviews for
759
1,357
83
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (774)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We have stayed overnight at the Imperial hotel 4 years running during the Blackpool illuminations. Upon first noticing the hotel it holds an air of grandeur and looks very impressive. It is a large hotel and therefore does have areas which are better than others but this is probably due to wear and tear and overall cost. The swimming pool is great for the family and has a hot tub alongside. Our rooms have always been nicely furnished with en suites having a bath with over-bath shower. We always have a double room with a view of the sea. The staff are all friendly, the food is lovely and stopping for tea and cake in the afternoon with the sun peeping through the window is so welcoming and relaxing, especially on a cold October day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts. I am delighted that once again your stay was enjoyable, and the team looked after you well.

It is always a pleasure to welcome our guests back and I look forward to meeting you when you are next planning to stay.

with kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

A group of girlfriends and I travelled up to Blackpool for a dancing competition. My friend who was competing booked our accommodation with The Imperial in February of this year as she said rooms get booked up quickly. Bearing in mind we went the first weekend of November 2013 this seemed like we had been sensible and booked well in advance.

However image our surprise that we could have had the rooms £88.00 cheaper had we booked the week before, Bbest rate available" was on the bottom of our confirmation but when we pointed this our we were told "we don't have a standard rate it varies from day to day and that was the best rate on the day you booked" Very misleading I am sure you would agree.

To add insult to injury the hotel was full of coach parties and union reps who filled all public areas and expected everyone to be interested in THEIR POLITICS.

The hotel is rundown and needs a complete update but more importantly a bloody good clean.

We all agreed Blackpool was let down by this hotel and would never use it again. Beware of their room pricing policy too

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 515heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I am sorry that you found some aspects of your stay disappointing on this occasion.

I do hope that if you are attending the dance festival again this year, you will consider staying with us again.

with kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

While the hotel looks grand from the outside the interior is dated and well worn.
The pictures of the spa look nice enough on the website but again the facilities are well used.
The rooms were clean and the staff very friendly.
More than suitable if you just want somewhere to stay but not one if your trying to impress.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I was pleased that overall you enjoyed your time with us.

I hope you will consider staying with us again when you are next in the area.

with kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Great location. Friendly and welcoming staff. Nice leisure facilities. Everywhere very clean but some little things in the room and leisure club looked a little shabby, but probably just due to the size of the hotel it must take a lot of updating!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I was delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, and the team looked after you well.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel when you are next in the area.

with kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Cannot understand why anybody would give a bad review to this splendid hotel. We stayed at the end of October. There was a problem with the door key to our room which the hotel manager "Alison" resolved immediately giving us an alternative room on the 3rd floor close to the lift with superb views of the seafront. All members of staff were very polite and professional. We slept in the biggest, most comfortable bed I have ever seen! Breakfast offered a huge selection of good quality produce. We would recommend this establishment very highly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penguin640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest

It was lovely to meet with you during your stay, and thank you so much for leaving such a positive review.

I am a proud Hotel Manager and consider myself very fortunate to be surrounded by a team who, I believe, genuinely care about our guest's comfort and enjoyment.

I look forward to meeting with you again when you are next in the area.

with kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Very welcoming staff, nothing was any trouble. Good ambiance everywhere in the hotel. Lancaster room and no 10 bar not to be missed. I remember those Prime Ministers at party conferences on the television.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank LHMMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, and that you appreciated the charm and character of the Hotel, in particular the No 10 Bar which has photos of all the Prime Ministers adorning the walls. I was pleased to read that my team looked after you well.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

with kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,854 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
2.7 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,867 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#20 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Imperial Hotel Blackpool dominates the North Promenade and was one of the first hotels the Victorians built in the new seaside resort of Blackpool.Everything Blackpool has to offer is right on your doorstep and it’s a great base for exploring the surrounding region. Venture out to discover unspoilt beaches on the Fylde Coast and Cumbria’s picturesque lakes and mountains.This stunning Victorian Blackpool hotel boasts 180 modern bedrooms, 9 of which are stunning suites with sea views, it also has an indoor pool and the No.10 bar, which has served drinks to many British Prime Ministers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Blackpool
Barcelo Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing