We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 'Good' Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A 'Good' Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

The Imperial is a bit like a well worn pair of slippers: comfortable, but a bit tatty in places.

I had a large single room at the back of the building, and it was fine overall. The curtains were a bit frayed and the room is ready for redecorating. There had been a problem with the cistern at some stage and the tiling giving access to it had been put back in a very messy way. I think the maintenance team needs to take more pride in it's work.

I found the young receptionists very condescending, and one of the barmen couldn't find it in himself to apologise for a drink served in a dirty glass. On the other hand, another barmen was very helpful when i ordered a bar meal and the staff dealing with a busy breakfast were excellent.

Generally, though, at the right room rate, it's one of the best hotels in Blackpool and would be my first choice.

Top tip: don't book through the hotel's website. I got a much better deal through Tripadvisor than the comparable direct quote.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

with kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,053
    967
    517
    275
    161
See reviews for
740
1,320
78
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Staines, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel for the weekend and was hoping it would be a good place to stay, I have stayed in Blackpool many times and most of the hotels that I have stayed in are dated and run down. That can not be said of the imperial. The imperial met all of my expectations and I would say this was the number one hotel to stay in if your visiting Blackpool. Not the cheapest but you get what you pay for. All of the staff we met were friendly and offered to help and spared time for a chat. I can not praise the hotel enough on here, it by far is the best to stay in if visiting Blackpool THANK YOU FOR AN AMAZING TIME we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest

What can I say! Thank you so much for your glowing comments. I was delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, and that my team looked after you well.

I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

with kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

This is not somewhere to go for comfort, value for money or class. It is a sad and tired place which needs much work. I didn't even bathe the bathroom was horrible. The entrance was blocked on entry due to smokers congregating like a bunch of revellers. Not acceptable and won't ever be back. My husband and I ended up with sore neck and backs the bed was so uncomfortable. Never again. And they've a damn cheek to charge extortionate prices in their bar and restaurant. They would need to pay me to return and even then I would refuse.. Bloody awful. This is so upsetting as this was a present from my husband.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. Please accept my sincere apologies that on this occasion you did not have a pleasant stay with us. I am sorry that you have not left the Hotel with the special memories you should have done.

I do hope that if you are in the area again, you will consider staying with us again.

With kindest regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed there 2 nights enjoying the included in the price indoor swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room.

The bed was more confortable than it looked.

Beach front and well located.

Free parking or at least they didn't charge me for it.

Flat screen and free wifi.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnriqueGarci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, and were able to enjoy the facilties we have to offer.

I hope when you are next in the area, you will stay with us again.

With Kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

I arrived at the hotel through the main entrance and was greeted by a very warm, clean and friendly reception. Upon check-in the receptionist was very friendly and helpful, they knew exactly what they were talking about there was nothing too much for them to do. The room was clean and warm, with a lovely spotless bathroom. The bed was very comfortable, although the blanket would be better if it was slightly larger as it only reached the edge of the bed... The Leisure facilities were very clean & tidy. I would certainly recommend staying here the overall experience is fantastic and based right on the seafront it's even better.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Buxtonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your positive review. I am a proud Hotel Manager and consider myself very fortunate to be surrounded by a team who, I believe, genuinely care about our guest's comfort and enjoyment. I was delighted that you were well looked after during your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

With kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Once again I cannot thank the staff enough for their attentive service during my two night stay.
I would particularly like to thank Louise on reception for her warm welcome also Andrew and Alastair in the restaurant for the 'extra mile' they went to, to make our stay so much more enjoyable.
This was a special birthday weekend for my partner and we felt that, once again, we were made to feel really special.
We are really looking forward to our next stay at Christmas and feel that the level of customer service is exceptional. We had a really, really spacious room and found the meals equally as good as in other visits.
Very well done to all and all I can say is Thank You

Room Tip: Worth paying for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colint_stuartd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I am pleased that once again the team pulled out all the stops to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.

I look forward to seeing you again soon.

with kindest regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Imperial. The location is within easy walking distance of the shopping centre. Easy to park. We were on a DBB deal which included house wine and I felt that the price we paid was good value. The food in the restaurant was very good and the service friendly.
We paid extra for a premium room but I don't think we would bother again: the standard room has everything you need. The pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi were also an added bonus.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back when you are next planning on visiting the area.

with kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,728 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#20 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Imperial Hotel Blackpool dominates the North Promenade and was one of the first hotels the Victorians built in the new seaside resort of Blackpool.Everything Blackpool has to offer is right on your doorstep and it’s a great base for exploring the surrounding region. Venture out to discover unspoilt beaches on the Fylde Coast and Cumbria’s picturesque lakes and mountains.This stunning Victorian Blackpool hotel boasts 180 modern bedrooms, 9 of which are stunning suites with sea views, it also has an indoor pool and the No.10 bar, which has served drinks to many British Prime Ministers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TravelUp, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Blackpool
Barcelo Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing