We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand seaside hotel”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #25 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Grand seaside hotel”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Another great stay at the Imperial, this time for a friends 30th birthday. This hotel wows me every time with it's elegance, it always makes me imagine how the Titanic would be with touches of grandeur everywhere. We booked a bargain short break and can't believe what good value it was as it included spa treatments, 3 course dinner and breakfast too, all of which were brilliant and the food very tasty. All staff are very friendly and we can't wait to go back again! If you are lunching there, the pizzas are delicious :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoulipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you once again for leaving your comments, following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you appreciated the grandeur of the Hotel and the charm of it.

I am a proud Hotel Manager and consider myself very fortunate to be surrounded by a team who, I believe, genuinely care about our guest's comfort and enjoyment.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,115
    1,005
    553
    293
    173
See reviews for
772
1,391
89
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (794)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We celebrated a birthday party at this hotel. We were pleased with all aspects of the service we received. All the members of staff we encountered were helpful, efficient and pleasant at all times.
The décor and furniture is dated but has a charm and grandeur reminiscent of a bygone age, which contrasts with the sometimes soulless ambience of modern hotels.
The Louis Suite where our soiree was held was well appointed and looked out over the sea, it was complimented by the illuminations viewed from the large windows.
We had no complaints about the standard and the amenities of our rooms, and the evening buffet and breakfast were very good.
We would not hesitate in using this hotel again for a special occasion.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room which most of our guests had. We were in a room at the back of the hotel, whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sabuski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest

I was delighted to read that we were able to make your celebration a little extra special for you, and you were looked after well by my team, who I believe, genuienly care about our guest's comfort and enjoyment. It is always a pleasure when guests appreciate the olde worlde charm of the Hotel, as you quite obviously did.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

From the moment we entered the hotel we were greeted with a smiling face on reception, followed by efficient service. The room was spotless, plenty of space plus a view of the sea. The food was excellent and we were made to feel so welcome by Rachel, the restaurant manager, who was also on top form ensuring we enjoyed our evening - nothing was too much trouble and you could tell her approach had rubbed off on her staff. We look forward to visiting the hotel again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest

It was a pleasure to read your review, and I was pleased that you were so well looked after by my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazel grove
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

I have just recently come back from a weekend break at the Imperial Hotel with my partner. We made the booking via the Internet with easy breaks.
The price was excellent and included in the deal was champagne and chocolates on arrival and an upgraded room(subject to availability).
The booking was made 3 days earlier and as I had paid for the weekend in full,I decided to call the hotel to confirm the payment etc.
The lady from the hotel confirmed the booking and convinced me there would be no problem getting a parking space as their car park is very spacious.
We arrived on the Friday at about 7.30pm.
I was disappointed to see the car park was full so had to park behind another car which I'm sure caused inconvenience to other residence in the hotel.
Check in was very simple and we were directed to our room(third floor)
Upon entering the room, I noticed the champagne and chocolates we had paid for on arrival was not in the room. A quick call to reception soon rectified the problem.
The food in the hotel was excellent as was the service - in particular Andrew who was very helpful and cheerful unlike his colleague who was completely the opposite!!!!
Breakfast was very well laid out and again excellent food and service.
After a brisk walk into the town, my partner and I decided to use spa facilities.
Very clean and good helpful staff.
The hotel in general was very nice but quite old and could do with some refurbishing - loose wallpaper, cracks in the paintwork etc.
All in all a good weekend
Would recommend the hotel weekend package to most couples.
Look forward to our next weekend break at the Imperial Hotel

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 533ManuelaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for leaving your comments.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and that my team looked after you well. I am a proud Hotel Manager and consider myself very fortunate to be surrounded by a team who, I believe, genuinely care about our guest's comfort and enjoyment.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

with kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Had a great time at the imperial hotel this weekend. We had room 124. They made my 5 year old son feel welcome and as it was his birthday they made it special for him in the the restuant. Went out their way to make us feel at home.
As was a premium family room we had a lovely view of the sea. Room was spacious and very clean.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Hinckley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest

I was delighted that we were able to make your Son's birthday extra special for him. I will personally thank the team for you.

I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next planning a visit to the area.

with kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed in the imperial hotel in blackpool the reception is nice but a little dated maybe some knew furniture would brighten the place up. The breakfast was standerd if a little greasy. The first room we went in was at the back of the hotel it was truly horrible old damp and not comfortable, we was moved to another room which was better but really cold, the bathroom was freezing maybe this place is better in summer! The barman was really friendly a real nice guy. The spa was also nice it's not the best place to stay but could think of worse

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaney22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments.

I was pleased that you appreciated the overall charm of the hotel, and hope that you enjoyed your time with us.

I am a proud Hotel Manager and consider myself very fortunate to be surrounded by a team who, I believe, genuinely care about our guest's comfort and enjoyment.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel when you are next planning a visit to the area.

with kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed here for two nights in Feb 2014. I paid for the upgraded room (£40 extra per night) which made the stay quite pricey but when I saw my suite it was wonderful. Absolutely massive bedroom and a separate living room with everything you would expect. Like I said, pricey but lovely.
The hotel is very old and the decor is matched to the age of the building, I loved it all very old English with dark wood, wonderful squeaky floors and the look of a time gone by but I do understand why people may complain as it looks dated and in some parts crumbling, but I see it as adding character rather than neglect. The building is huge and personally I wouldn't like it to be changed, It really has charm and grandeur.
Breakfast was included in the upgrade and was very nice, buffet style full English, or Kippers, eggs to order along with all the fruit, and continental style options you would expect. Nothing out of the ordinary but all fresh, all hot and all very tasty. Well done to the waiters/waitresses, they were very busy all the time and served you immediately.
The gym and the spa area was very good indeed, the gym had a good selection of free weights and machines so all types of training was achievable and the swimming pool/Jacuzzi was clean, nice and well maintained. Again absolutely nothing to complain about.there.
Would I go again, def yes, would i pay for the upgrade, depends on the occasion as it does make for an expensive stay but if I wanted to treat a loved one then definitely yes.

Room Tip: The upgrade to a suite is £40 per night, expensive but you will get a massive three roomed suite wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

I was delighgted that you appreciated the olde worlde charm of the Hotel and the character contained within it. I am a proud Hotel Manager and consider myself very fortunate to be surrounded by a team who, I believe, genuinely care about our guest's comfort and enjoyment.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back when you are next planning a trip to the area.

with kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 69 in Blackpool
3,973 reviews
2.7 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 69 in Blackpool
3,071 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#38 of 69 in Blackpool
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 69 in Blackpool
468 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 69 in Blackpool
998 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 69 in Blackpool
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#20 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Imperial Hotel Blackpool dominates the North Promenade and was one of the first hotels the Victorians built in the new seaside resort of Blackpool.Everything Blackpool has to offer is right on your doorstep and it’s a great base for exploring the surrounding region. Venture out to discover unspoilt beaches on the Fylde Coast and Cumbria’s picturesque lakes and mountains.This stunning Victorian Blackpool hotel boasts 180 modern bedrooms, 9 of which are stunning suites with sea views, it also has an indoor pool and the No.10 bar, which has served drinks to many British Prime Ministers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Blackpool
Barcelo Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing