We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very impressed”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed in The Imperial on 15th February, we were in a premium double room. The room was okay , but was not the biggest we've stayed at, in comparison to other hotels in Blackpool . I have to say we have come across a better standard and more spacious rooms from a couple of two star hotels within a short walking distance from The Imperial.
The restaurant was attractive yet the food was about average, and not really what I would expect from a four star hotel. I was not impressed when we had to queue outside the restaurant for approximately ten minutes prior to going in for breakfast. I overheard a member of staff tell a guest that the delay was due to a member of staff being off work unexpectedly. I don't think this information should have been shared with guests, and perhaps contingencies should have been in place to avoid guests queuing for breakfast in a four star hotel.
I appreciate the hotel is an old historic building, but it could do with some work carried out on the decor.
I found the staff to be polite in general.
Finally I would like to say that overall our stay in the hotel was okay, but in general I would expect much more from a four star hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gary01143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.

I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay, and have taken the liberty of replying to you personally.

With kind regards

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,260)
There are newer reviews for The Imperial Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,934 - 1,940 of 3,260 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

Hotel was scruffy, dated and run down. Our room was big but there were large cracks in the walls and ceiling, paper was hanging from the walls and was torn off in places. The net curtain were an absolute disgrace. There is no excuse for that level of uncleanliness-they were filthy. I would say they had been there for at least 10 years and not been cleaned at all in that time. Thankfully we didn't spend to much time in there during our stay. Only had 1 round of drinks at the bar (2 people)- £10. Wont be in a rush to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JohnDo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Guest

Please accept my sincere apologies that you found some aspects of your stay disappointing. Please be assured that I will be speaking with the housekeeping department, about the issues you have raised.

With kind regards

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I have just returned from this truly wonderful hotel, and I can't wait to return again. The staff were very friendly attentive and extremely efficient. The hotel is one of the best ..no the Imperial hotel is the best hotel Blackpool has to offer....it is full of charm and character and so elegant ... The hotel manager Alison could not have done any more for us than she did...Alison must feel so proud to have such dedicated staff ..and luxurious hotel ..this stay exceeded my expectations ..thank you...for a brilliant weekend break.....

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Nickie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments.

I was delighted that we were able to make your stay a memorable one, and I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With kind regards

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

From the moment we arrived at the hotel. All the members of staff were very helpful as specially receptionist Louise, bar man on the Friday and Saturday night,and breakfast manager were excellent..

The room was a large one very clean, nice and worm on a cooled night.

The hotel is one with character but a bit tired around the edges, when you have positive and good staff it makes your stay a good one. room 109

well done Alison

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zakwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your very kind words. I will pass on your thanks to the team personally.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the n ear future.

With kind regards

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Another great stay at the Imperial, this time for a friends 30th birthday. This hotel wows me every time with it's elegance, it always makes me imagine how the Titanic would be with touches of grandeur everywhere. We booked a bargain short break and can't believe what good value it was as it included spa treatments, 3 course dinner and breakfast too, all of which were brilliant and the food very tasty. All staff are very friendly and we can't wait to go back again! If you are lunching there, the pizzas are delicious :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoulipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you once again for leaving your comments, following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you appreciated the grandeur of the Hotel and the charm of it.

I am a proud Hotel Manager and consider myself very fortunate to be surrounded by a team who, I believe, genuinely care about our guest's comfort and enjoyment.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With kind regards

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We celebrated a birthday party at this hotel. We were pleased with all aspects of the service we received. All the members of staff we encountered were helpful, efficient and pleasant at all times.
The décor and furniture is dated but has a charm and grandeur reminiscent of a bygone age, which contrasts with the sometimes soulless ambience of modern hotels.
The Louis Suite where our soiree was held was well appointed and looked out over the sea, it was complimented by the illuminations viewed from the large windows.
We had no complaints about the standard and the amenities of our rooms, and the evening buffet and breakfast were very good.
We would not hesitate in using this hotel again for a special occasion.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room which most of our guests had. We were in a room at the back of the hotel, whic...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sabuski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Guest

I was delighted to read that we were able to make your celebration a little extra special for you, and you were looked after well by my team, who I believe, genuienly care about our guest's comfort and enjoyment. It is always a pleasure when guests appreciate the olde worlde charm of the Hotel, as you quite obviously did.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With kind regards

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

From the moment we entered the hotel we were greeted with a smiling face on reception, followed by efficient service. The room was spotless, plenty of space plus a view of the sea. The food was excellent and we were made to feel so welcome by Rachel, the restaurant manager, who was also on top form ensuring we enjoyed our evening - nothing was too much trouble and you could tell her approach had rubbed off on her staff. We look forward to visiting the hotel again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Guest

It was a pleasure to read your review, and I was pleased that you were so well looked after by my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With kind regards

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,102 reviews
2.7 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
497 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#34 of 73 in Blackpool
1,038 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#18 of 73 in Blackpool
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#20 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £48 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Imperial Hotel Blackpool dominates the North Promenade and was one of the first hotels the Victorians built in the new seaside resort of Blackpool.Everything Blackpool has to offer is right on your doorstep and it’s a great base for exploring the surrounding region. Venture out to discover unspoilt beaches on the Fylde Coast and Cumbria’s picturesque lakes and mountains.This stunning Victorian Blackpool hotel boasts 180 modern bedrooms, 9 of which are stunning suites with sea views, it also has an indoor pool and the No.10 bar, which has served drinks to many British Prime Ministers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Blackpool
Barcelo Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing