We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Blackpool”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #27 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Teesside UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best in Blackpool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Played in a chess tournament. Stayed in Premier suite room 126. Fantastic weekend. Staff are very friendly and efficient. Food is excellent. My wife and I just love the place. cannot be faulted. Anyone who does not like this hotel simply does not live in the real world. Excellent we will back next year.

Room Tip: Room 126, the Premier suite is excellent if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whiteknight666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

I was delighted to be able to welcome you back to the Imperial Hotel once again, and look forward to seeing you next year.

With kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,068
    980
    532
    280
    163
See reviews for
751
1,341
79
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (768)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Just had a 3 night stay at this hotel, and it was really lovely to stay in a traditional quality hotel, which offers 4 star luxury and service at a reasonable price. Breakfast was excellent, had everything you could want and the No 10 bar is a must to visit for drinks before dinner.
I found all the staff very friendly and helpful and would happily stay there again, and have no hesitation in recommending the Imperial to friends

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a positive review.

I was delighted that you appreciated the ambiance of the building and that the team looked after you well.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

With kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed for one night on 15th February. I agree with another reviewer that the reception area was cold - this didn't make for a very welcoming entrance. The No 10 bar was also draughty when the doors were left open because of the cold reception. But that was all that we found to complain about! The room was adequately appointed, the bedding and towels were fresh and clean and the room, although a little shabby, was very clean too. Due to the horrendous weather that night we stayed in the hotel for drinks and dinner and we are very pleased that we did! The Palm Court Restaurant was lovely. Very warm, well lit and welcoming. The staff were great and the food was excellent. (I would recommend the slightly unusual, but absolutely delicious curried pumpkin and goats cheese risotto.) Once the door was closed, there was also a good atmosphere in the No 10 bar. This is another grand old lady of a hotel in the Puma Group (like the Palace Hotel in Buxton) that could do with a facelift, but I do realise that it would take an enormous amount of money to restore it to its former glory. All in all though I would recommend the Imperial Hotel, particularly if you can pick up a good deal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillizDerbyshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.

I was delighted that overall you enjoyed your time with us and my team looked after you well. Please accept my apologies that you found some areas of the Hotel a little on the cold side.

I do hope that when you are next planning a visit to the area, you will consider staying with us again.

With kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We have just returned from a short break in Blackpool with two other couples, having stayed at the Imperial Hotel on an Amazon Local deal. The hotel itself is a beautiful building and we all had lovely spacious rooms with large beds and plenty of storage room. The en suite bathrooms were nicely decorated and good sizes. All the staff were friendly and helpful. On our first evening we ate in the restaurant and the 3 course meal was lovely. Two of us had birthdays that we were celebrating and the chef decorated the plates our sweets were served on - a lovely touch. As we were going to an evening show the next day, we were unable to eat there the next day but, looking at the menu , we wished we were!
The staff throughout were friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome.
In conclusion I would highly recommend this Hotel for anyone visiting Blackpool - the tram runs from just outside so if you don't feel like walking hop on that though it is well placed for easy access to the Tower attractions.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SanBri2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

I was delighted to read that my team looked after you well, and made your birthday that little bit "extra special" for you. I am proud to be surrounded by a team who, I believe, genuinely care about our guest's comfort and enjoyment.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel in the not too distant future.

With kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Visited the imperial with my mother and friend, we were greeted at reception by a lovely lady who couldn't of been any more helpful, room was lovely very clean and spacious with a lovely view of the front. Staff in the restaurant and bar were great special mention the Matthew who was very attentive, polite and helpful. Food was great too and a very large selection at breakfast.. Swimming pool was great warm, clean and very relaxed Will definitely be back soon.Thanks for a great stay!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GRL2594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments.

I was delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, and my team looked after you well. I am a proud Hotel Manager and consider myself very fortunate to be surrounded by a team who, I beleive, genuinely care about our guest's comfort and enjoyment.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel in the not too distant future.

With kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Shall I start with the negatives, very cold when sitting in the bars and reception. Big cobwebs hanging in private bar. Bathroom in 328 had been updated, but ceiling a mess, bath had rust marks, and wood under sink a mess. Curtains hanging untidily from dirty windows in room.
Positives: They had tried with the bathroom, shame it was not finished off properly. Our room was ok, clean linen and clean towels every day, thanks. Also very quiet, which is worth a lot.
The food at the hotel, yet again fantastic, no complaints here. Also I must commend the staff, all lovely people, and a special thanks to the Maitre de in the restaurant, cheers!

Room Tip: Like I said, room 328 - no view - even if there was the windows were too dirty to see through, but l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voni8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest

I was delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your time with us once again, but was embarrassed to read your comments on your room, please accept my apologies for the shortfalls. Please be assured that I will be addressing the issues with my heads of department.

I am a proud Hotel Manager and consider myself very fortunate to be surrounded by a team who, I believe, genuinely care about our guest's comfort and enjoyment.

I hope to have the pleasure of hosting your event again next year, and to meeting with you.

with kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel as a family of 5 (2 Adults + 3 Children). Had a great stay with excellent staff and cleanliness throughout with lovely food. One of the bonuses for us with this hotel was the games rooms. One of which is for the younger end (under 5's) which included soft play are and lots of toys along with DVD player + tv. The older room (adjacent to the above) had table tennis, table football and pool table. To top it off it was also kitted out with 3 xbox's for the kids, games can be borrowed from reception. The only downside to the games room was the location as they were down on the lower floor but not a major headache. If you do go we'd suggest throwing in some spare table tennis balls as unfortunately they seem to wander!!

Room Tip: Possibly a sea view would be nicer than ours which over looked the road at the back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimKX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for leaving your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the new feature of the children's play rooms, they appear to be a hit with our younger guests. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

with kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,801 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#20 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Imperial Hotel Blackpool dominates the North Promenade and was one of the first hotels the Victorians built in the new seaside resort of Blackpool.Everything Blackpool has to offer is right on your doorstep and it’s a great base for exploring the surrounding region. Venture out to discover unspoilt beaches on the Fylde Coast and Cumbria’s picturesque lakes and mountains.This stunning Victorian Blackpool hotel boasts 180 modern bedrooms, 9 of which are stunning suites with sea views, it also has an indoor pool and the No.10 bar, which has served drinks to many British Prime Ministers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Blackpool
Barcelo Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing