We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent short break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent short break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband and myself arrived at the Imperial hotel at 7.30pm after having booked in at another hotel in Blackpool which on arrival our room was nothing like their website showed. The young lady on reception whos name was Carrie was very friendly polite and helpful and after we told her about our experience at the last hotel found us a lovely room, and let us go and view it before booking it for five nights. The hotel was spotless, and the staff were all very friendly polite and helpful. On arrival we didnt have enough coat hangers and after leaving a message for housekeeping that night the additional hangers were in our wardrobe when we returned from breakfast the next morning.

Breakfast was very substantial and the cooked breakfast was one of the nicest we have had (and we have stayed in other4star hotels) the only niggle we have was we had to ask for tea and coffee every morning. The hotel has a very good spa facility with pool etc. We didnt dine in the restaurant in the evening as we prefered to eat in the hotel bar,there was a large choice of food,which was excellent,and we found the bar to be a relaxing place to spend the evening. The bar staff were exceptional,especially Graham,who went out of his way to make sure we were looked after. We would definitely return to this hotel, but would check if there are any large functions being held there, as the bar can be overwhelmed when large groups arrive.

All in all a first class hotel and experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments.

I was delighted to read that we were able to make your time in Blackpool a memorable one, after your initial bad start. I am pleased that my team looked after you well. I consider myself very fortunate to be surrounded by a team who, I believe, genuinely care about our guest's comfort and enjoyment.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

With kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,053
    967
    518
    275
    161
See reviews for
740
1,321
78
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

me and my 14 year old daughter stayed here for a girlie break fri-sun we had a great time our room was clean, huge and warm we loved it.
the staff are the best I have ever come cross they are all very happy and friendly
the 3 course meal we had on the first night was amazing as was breakfast each morning, oh and must not forget the afternoon tea it was so lovely
we would stay here again in a shot, and we would like to try ither puma hotels also

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Helent19710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guest

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and pleased that my team looked after you well.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

With kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Fantastic Hotel in a brilliant location but it's fair to say that the newness has worn off although it still has that grand air and the hustle and bustle of a busy lobby.

The spa is very tired and neglected but everything works; it does let the hotel down.

Very family friendly and has dog rooms which is great given you are right on the beach.

Bar is well stocked and the food is good value but the staff make this venue. There are better hotels but rarely do you get a better experience at this price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.

I was delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, and look forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Booked the hotel for three nights for a business trip along with my wife. The hotel is very impressive from the sea front. The suite was very comfortable and all very clean, towels were changed daily and dressing gowns provided.
The hotel has a very good spa facility with pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Food in the main restaurant and the bar was good with very friendly and welcoming service.
For future business trips to this area I will definitely be using this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments.

I was delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, and my team looked after you well.

I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next planning to visit the area.

With kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

I'm not one to just complain but omg I was taken here for four nights as a birthday gift, after driving 6 hours from the south coast to get here we park up and walk in as you look the hotel looks lovely !! Then you walk in the first member of staff on the reception was so rude was hard to believe she was working in a four star hotel, first there was a problem and they couldn't find my booking even tho I had paid in full and had booking conformation. In the end a lovely lady came over told her what to do she could she just how rude she was being and as a sorry they offered to upgrade us to a sea view room only problem first night there wasn't any, but hey free upgrade nice thing to do thank you, we get to the room start to unpack to find dirty cups toilet and just in al a dirty room and so small how two people could sleep in here I'll never understand! March down complain again tone told I'm so sorry not sure why u was put in that room we have a much nicer room so round two next room and yes lovely room!
Next day we get breakfast I ask for a boiled egg 20 mins later egg comes I cut off top and it's not cooked it just pours on my plate rule don't ask for eggs as chef can hard boil a edd !!
Room upgrade day ! Yay sea view room !! What a joke the old room was nicer the room was just dirty broken heater in bathroom windows and curtains all stained ! My partner goes for bath and the paint of roof by shower just falling In her hair !! Then to top it off I have a bath after asking for a bath Matt I use the rail to get my self up out of the bath for only the rail to come away in my hand n I bust my back joke or what
Not happy was told if we went back this year they would make such changes

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lovell84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest

Please accept my sincere apologies that you found some aspects of your stay disappointing. In order that I may further investigate the issues you have raised, I have sent you a message to contact me, and look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

I recently stayed at the Blackpool Imperial with my husband as a joint celebration for our wedding anniversary and and my husband's birthday. We thoroughly enjoyed it. Each and everyone of the staff were polite,friendly and extremely helpful. We stayed on a bed, breakfast and dinner basis. The food was extremely good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest

I am delighted that my team helped to make your special weekend, a celebration to remember.

I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next planning to visit the area.

With kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the second time in march. Whilst the hotel might benefit if decor was tidied, it is a great hotel. Staff are excellent and location good. Sea views are fab, worth the extra cost. We had dinner and breakfast and the food was really good and well presented. I used the pool and was very happy with the facilities. We plan to return again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank malcjones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest

I was delighted to read that once again we lived up to expectation and my team looked after you well.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,729 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#20 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Imperial Hotel Blackpool dominates the North Promenade and was one of the first hotels the Victorians built in the new seaside resort of Blackpool.Everything Blackpool has to offer is right on your doorstep and it’s a great base for exploring the surrounding region. Venture out to discover unspoilt beaches on the Fylde Coast and Cumbria’s picturesque lakes and mountains.This stunning Victorian Blackpool hotel boasts 180 modern bedrooms, 9 of which are stunning suites with sea views, it also has an indoor pool and the No.10 bar, which has served drinks to many British Prime Ministers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TravelUp, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Blackpool
Barcelo Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing