We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Booked after reading reports on tripadvisor. Booked Double Kingsize with seaview when we got to our room we had a suite. First Evening room was a bit cold but was a large room. Hotel a bit tired and dated but still very elegant. Staff very welcoming and Breakfast was excellent, varied and hot, great service. No hairdryer in room but rang reception and it was delivered in 10 mins. Plenty of hot water. Would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Booked directly through hotel as not offered seaview on hotel websites.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trisdeccon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you, guest for taking the time to register your thoughts on your recent stay at the Imperial Hotel. I'm delighted you had a great time and appreciate your kind comments. I look forward to meeting you personally on a future visit, with kind regards, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,259)
There are newer reviews for The Imperial Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,874 - 1,880 of 3,259 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Lovely hotel, great staff, we had a fabulous weekend. The windows in the lovely breakfast room, the Palm Court were very dirty which was a bit if shame. We had a superior room and it was super. We will would definitely come back.

Room Tip: 306 had a side view of the sea and a view of Blackpool Tower
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Attenborough N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thanks for leaving your comments. I was delighted that overall you enjoyed your time with us. Unfortunately due to the position of the Hotel it is not always possible to keep the windows looking as pritstine as we would like.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With kind regards

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Myself and my partner booked to stay for one night and after checking website it looked and sounded great. Luxurious rooms, climate control excellent service. On arrival checked in entered room and view was of back of hotel and lots of beer kegs not exactly romantic. No sign of climate control just one radiator which was off. I therefore went down to reception and asked about the climate control as advertised - the reply I got was well that means WE turn on radiators twice a day and therefore when on if you want you can turn the radiator down. What a joke but insult to injury when heating was supposed to be on our radiator did not work had to call down and in fairness they did bring us a portable heater. For a luxury hotel disappointing no extra pillows or blankets in wardrobe, TV remote did not work properly and back was missing from it, window very draughty and room although had a large bed was quite poky. And the sink in bathroom was peeling whatever it was coated in.

Breakfast was excellent with great service but the actual stay ruined our short break we normally stay at a little B&B and actually wish we had now rather than go to expense like this to be disappointed. Website did not state more money you pay better room and view you get although I am sure people will say that's normal. I genuinely cannot comment on anyone else's stay but ours was disappointing to say the least

Room Tip: Pay more so get a decent room with a decent view
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

I have already reponded to you directly.

With kind regards

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I took my mother for a lovely afternoon tea at the Imperial in the Derby Room. The staff were attentive and polite and the food was great. The serving trays were polished perfectly and it was like stepping back in time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoralCasey-Stoakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Guest

I was delighted that the afternoon tea was enjoyed by you both, and hope you will return to the Hotel soon.

With kind regards

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Had an £85 1 night stay 27th march (2plp) , inclusive of a 3 course dinner, btl of wine & breakfast. Sadly spent only 1 night, but room, food, service & value for money, absolutely fabulous!!
Spectacular building, full of history & ambiance. Beautiful reception area, lovely staff, checked in very efficiently & politely. Restaurant staff (at dinner) slow to get going, but very attentive & polite, especially the young blonde waitress, working Thurs.27th. The food was exceptional. Breakfast staff excellent, again. Food, excellent choice & plenty of it. Breakfast is a must if you stay here! Highly recommended!!!!!!

Room Tip: They are all good rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 188Faye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts.

I was delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and appreciated the charm of the building. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Got a good deal for a deserved weekend break. Hotel nice, but needs a revamp. Our room clean and comfortable but more 3 star than 4. Noisy doors and noisy guests, with an Under 16s Rugby Tour in the hotel, being served alcohol in Number 10 bar, while their parents looked on! Breakfast good, although had to queue at 9am. Prefer the Hilton, but 4/5 is warranted.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Paul W, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, but was surprised to read your comments. Please be assured we have a strict policy and operate "Challenge 21"at all times in all of our bars. Blackpool are very active at policing underage drinking and we whole-heartedly embrace their strict culture. I have spoken with James, my Bars Manager about your comments. Sir, it is incredibly rare, but on occasions parents purchase a drink for their children. If this is noted we do act immediately on this, as was the case with the individual on the night in question, I hope you also noticed this at the time.

I hope you were able to make the most of the many sights and sounds that Blackpool offer, with kindest regards, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We opted for a short break whilst on business and stayed, once again at The Imperial. The reception was quick, pleasant and efficient. Room 128 was a delight - spotlessly clean and well equipped. Barman was pleasant, efficient and helpful. Restaurant staff, again, courteous, polite and helpful. Nothing too much trouble. Housekeeping were friendly and polite, as were breakfast staff. Overall an excellent stay, as always, and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Westbr00k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Guest

I am delighted that once again you enjoyed your time with us, I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,102 reviews
2.7 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
497 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#34 of 73 in Blackpool
1,038 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#18 of 73 in Blackpool
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#20 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £48 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Imperial Hotel Blackpool dominates the North Promenade and was one of the first hotels the Victorians built in the new seaside resort of Blackpool.Everything Blackpool has to offer is right on your doorstep and it’s a great base for exploring the surrounding region. Venture out to discover unspoilt beaches on the Fylde Coast and Cumbria’s picturesque lakes and mountains.This stunning Victorian Blackpool hotel boasts 180 modern bedrooms, 9 of which are stunning suites with sea views, it also has an indoor pool and the No.10 bar, which has served drinks to many British Prime Ministers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Agoda, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Blackpool
Barcelo Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing