We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not good”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here in February 2012, and were very disappointed. We stay in Blackpool quite frequently, and thought we would try the imperial for a change. The imperial looks very grand and impressive from the outside, but looks can be deceiving.
Our room was so cold I had to wear a fleece. One good thing was the shower was very powerful, and the bathroom itself was nice, but the bath was short, too short for anyone really.
Dinner was the major issue. We were quite looking forward to dinner. We went to the restaurant and found a very large room, with approximately 20-30 tables. Only two or three tables had people at them, so the room was 80-90percent empty. Yet when we asked for a table for two we were told the restaurant was full? ? To which we were amazed, and questioned the fact that the room was empty. We were still turned away and it was suggested that we eat at the bar. We thought - ok - it will still be the same kitchen - so we made our way to the bar. My girlfriend had pie and chips, which was ok. I had fish and chips - and was amazed with what arrived. It looked like they had been to Iceland and got a fish and chip dinner out of the freezer section. Truly awful. For dessert - ice cream. When we ordered the ice cream we were asked what flavour ice cream we would like. We asked what flavours they had - and they didn't know? In the end we got two bowls of ice cream that you would expect to get at a children's birthday party - not what you would expect at a 'grand looking' hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel. It seemed like the further you went away from the front, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 999Jonathan999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hello Jonathan, thanks for commenting on Tripadvisor, it's always good to hear our guests experiences. I was not at the hotel in February 2012 and would like to think you'd have a great time if you returned. Our fish and chip supper is superb! Local fish, freshly battered, just as it should be. I hope to get the chance to welcome you back in the future, Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,053
    967
    517
    275
    161
See reviews for
740
1,320
78
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Bought trip on travelzoo and very pleased with price as dinner and afternoon tea included.
The room although at back of hotel with view of roof not great the bed was so comfortable , excellent sleep had.
Bathroom indeed of updating and couple of little issues , but great location to walk into town

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest, so glad you enjoyed your stay, and you're right the location is just perfect isn't it? We're continually re-decorating the hotel and room care is our biggest priority, all rooms will benefit from some re-decorating this year and I hope you'll enjoy many more visits with us.

With kind regards, Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Not 4 star luxury!! Web site not a true reflection of state of repair . Needs a lot of basic refurbishment inside and out. Very overpriced for old and tired double room at £120 for 1 night stay .I doubt whether Prime Ministers would stay now !!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mijas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest

I am sorry that you did not feel you had value for money on your recent stay with us.

I really would appreciate the opportunity to investigate your issues further, and if you could contact me on a.gilmore@pumahotels.co.uk, we can over the problems.

With kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I booked the hotel for a 1 night stay for my boyfriends birthday, we were heading to Blackpool to celebrate a friends birthday so I thought I'd treat us to a nice hotel. We paid £100 for a one night stay with breakfast and afternoon tea.

When we arrived we got given our room and when we asked if we had a sea view we were told we'd just paid for a standard room so no, the hotel was full so not option of changing. On getting into our room the view was of the vents and roof of part of the hotel. The room itself was small and very tired looking. Definitely in need of a refurb. The bed was comfy but the soundproofing was very poor and could quite clearly hear everyone walking past the door and the cleaners in the morning. The kettle provided in the room was filthy inside, we let reception know and it was replaced promptly but was still fairly dirty.

When we arrived for breakfast we asked if we could have a table with a sea view but were laughed at and told they were very busy so no, no offer for us to wait for a table to become vacant. Breakfast was ok but again the cutlery, cups, plates etc were not clean. Again, when mentioned they were replaced but for a 4 star hotel I was disappointed that they were dirty to start with.

We used the leisure facilities too and, again, found them quite tired and not particularly clean.

The afternoon tea was ok but again, cups etc were not clean.

Overall I was very disappointed with our stay. The pictures on the website were very deceiving and the whole hotel is tired looking and could do with an refurb. I think dirty plates etc are not acceptable in a hotel that is meant to be 4 star. I have stayed in numerous Puma hotels previously and have always been impressed but not with this one. Most of the staff were pleasant but we were generally disappointed with hotel and facilities provided.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Kate L,
Kate, I was so sorry to read your comments tongiht about your stay with us last month, and would truly love to be able to follow this up further. You will see by our usual Trip Advisor responses that cleanliness is something very important to us and I'm embarrassed that this was not your impression. If you are able, would you drop me an email directly so that I can investigate how we got this so wrong for you. My email address is a.gilmore@pumahotels.co.uk. With apologies, and thanks, Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Booked after reading reports on tripadvisor. Booked Double Kingsize with seaview when we got to our room we had a suite. First Evening room was a bit cold but was a large room. Hotel a bit tired and dated but still very elegant. Staff very welcoming and Breakfast was excellent, varied and hot, great service. No hairdryer in room but rang reception and it was delivered in 10 mins. Plenty of hot water. Would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Booked directly through hotel as not offered seaview on hotel websites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trisdeccon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you, guest for taking the time to register your thoughts on your recent stay at the Imperial Hotel. I'm delighted you had a great time and appreciate your kind comments. I look forward to meeting you personally on a future visit, with kind regards, Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Lovely hotel, great staff, we had a fabulous weekend. The windows in the lovely breakfast room, the Palm Court were very dirty which was a bit if shame. We had a superior room and it was super. We will would definitely come back.

Room Tip: 306 had a side view of the sea and a view of Blackpool Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Attenborough N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for leaving your comments. I was delighted that overall you enjoyed your time with us. Unfortunately due to the position of the Hotel it is not always possible to keep the windows looking as pritstine as we would like.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Myself and my partner booked to stay for one night and after checking website it looked and sounded great. Luxurious rooms, climate control excellent service. On arrival checked in entered room and view was of back of hotel and lots of beer kegs not exactly romantic. No sign of climate control just one radiator which was off. I therefore went down to reception and asked about the climate control as advertised - the reply I got was well that means WE turn on radiators twice a day and therefore when on if you want you can turn the radiator down. What a joke but insult to injury when heating was supposed to be on our radiator did not work had to call down and in fairness they did bring us a portable heater. For a luxury hotel disappointing no extra pillows or blankets in wardrobe, TV remote did not work properly and back was missing from it, window very draughty and room although had a large bed was quite poky. And the sink in bathroom was peeling whatever it was coated in.

Breakfast was excellent with great service but the actual stay ruined our short break we normally stay at a little B&B and actually wish we had now rather than go to expense like this to be disappointed. Website did not state more money you pay better room and view you get although I am sure people will say that's normal. I genuinely cannot comment on anyone else's stay but ours was disappointing to say the least

Room Tip: Pay more so get a decent room with a decent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

I have already reponded to you directly.

With kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,728 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#20 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Imperial Hotel Blackpool dominates the North Promenade and was one of the first hotels the Victorians built in the new seaside resort of Blackpool.Everything Blackpool has to offer is right on your doorstep and it’s a great base for exploring the surrounding region. Venture out to discover unspoilt beaches on the Fylde Coast and Cumbria’s picturesque lakes and mountains.This stunning Victorian Blackpool hotel boasts 180 modern bedrooms, 9 of which are stunning suites with sea views, it also has an indoor pool and the No.10 bar, which has served drinks to many British Prime Ministers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Lastminute and Odigeo so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Blackpool
Barcelo Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing