We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect weekend away.”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #26 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend away.”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We had another great stay at this hotel in Blackpool. We usually go in September but decided on an earlier visit this year.
Food is always excellent & well cooked.
Will be going again later in the year.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Tony �
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks once again for leaving your review, and look forward to seeing you later in the year.

With kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,083
    986
    536
    285
    168
See reviews for
758
1,355
83
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (773)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I just wanted to say a few words about the stand out feature of this hotel - the service. Many of the other comments about the physical condition of the building itself are true. It seems to be the tired out grand old dame of the promenade. Very worn in places. Having said that, it fares very favourably amongst the other establishments in that area (I did a recce as a way of making my business trip more entertaining). No-one looking for five star level accommodation would enjoy Blackpool anyway. The condition of the building aside, I was most impressed by the hotel staff. Having raised an issue about the room I had been allocated, the duty manager, Rachel, went to great lengths to resolve the situation. She clearly takes great pride in the hotel, and took my complaint extremely seriously. So much so that in the end she gave me a free upgrade from my original de-luxe double to the enormous Ambassador Suite. I found all of the staff to be courteous, polite and friendly. Thank you Rachel - keep up the good work.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redcap328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments.

I was delighted that we were able to make your stay extra special, and Rachel looked after you well, as did the rest of the team.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My wife and I had stayed at another Puma Group hotel, The Majestic in Harrogate last year. We thoroughly enjoyed it. When we had an offer of a deal on the Imperial in Blackpool, we just couldn't resist. It isn't too dissimiliar to the Majestic. It is showing it's age, and to be brutally honest, the room we had on the 4th floor, whilst having a sea view, was very tired. However, our main concerns wherever we stay, are cleanliness and warmth. We had no problems on either score.
From the very minute we checked in, we found the staff to be professional, and very friendly. Every member of staff we came into contact with could not do enough to make us feel welcome.
We had dinner on our first night and afternoon tea on our second. Both meals were faultless, served by very attentive staff. On both nights we had drinks in the bar, which for a hotel, was very reasonably priced. Our only quibble here though, was the draught. There was a constant chill in the bar which stopped us having more drinks in there.
Overall, we had a lovely weekend. We enjoyed really good food and drink, served by people who cared!
Well reccomended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Phudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

I was delighted that you appreciated the olde worlde charm of the Hotel and the character it has to offer.

I am a proud Hotel Manager and consider myself very fortunate to be surrounded by a team who, I believe, genuinely care about our guest's comfort and enjoyment.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here in February 2012, and were very disappointed. We stay in Blackpool quite frequently, and thought we would try the imperial for a change. The imperial looks very grand and impressive from the outside, but looks can be deceiving.
Our room was so cold I had to wear a fleece. One good thing was the shower was very powerful, and the bathroom itself was nice, but the bath was short, too short for anyone really.
Dinner was the major issue. We were quite looking forward to dinner. We went to the restaurant and found a very large room, with approximately 20-30 tables. Only two or three tables had people at them, so the room was 80-90percent empty. Yet when we asked for a table for two we were told the restaurant was full? ? To which we were amazed, and questioned the fact that the room was empty. We were still turned away and it was suggested that we eat at the bar. We thought - ok - it will still be the same kitchen - so we made our way to the bar. My girlfriend had pie and chips, which was ok. I had fish and chips - and was amazed with what arrived. It looked like they had been to Iceland and got a fish and chip dinner out of the freezer section. Truly awful. For dessert - ice cream. When we ordered the ice cream we were asked what flavour ice cream we would like. We asked what flavours they had - and they didn't know? In the end we got two bowls of ice cream that you would expect to get at a children's birthday party - not what you would expect at a 'grand looking' hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel. It seemed like the further you went away from the front, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 999Jonathan999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hello Jonathan, thanks for commenting on Tripadvisor, it's always good to hear our guests experiences. I was not at the hotel in February 2012 and would like to think you'd have a great time if you returned. Our fish and chip supper is superb! Local fish, freshly battered, just as it should be. I hope to get the chance to welcome you back in the future, Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Bought trip on travelzoo and very pleased with price as dinner and afternoon tea included.
The room although at back of hotel with view of roof not great the bed was so comfortable , excellent sleep had.
Bathroom indeed of updating and couple of little issues , but great location to walk into town

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest, so glad you enjoyed your stay, and you're right the location is just perfect isn't it? We're continually re-decorating the hotel and room care is our biggest priority, all rooms will benefit from some re-decorating this year and I hope you'll enjoy many more visits with us.

With kind regards, Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Not 4 star luxury!! Web site not a true reflection of state of repair . Needs a lot of basic refurbishment inside and out. Very overpriced for old and tired double room at £120 for 1 night stay .I doubt whether Prime Ministers would stay now !!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mijas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest

I am sorry that you did not feel you had value for money on your recent stay with us.

I really would appreciate the opportunity to investigate your issues further, and if you could contact me on a.gilmore@pumahotels.co.uk, we can over the problems.

With kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I booked the hotel for a 1 night stay for my boyfriends birthday, we were heading to Blackpool to celebrate a friends birthday so I thought I'd treat us to a nice hotel. We paid £100 for a one night stay with breakfast and afternoon tea.

When we arrived we got given our room and when we asked if we had a sea view we were told we'd just paid for a standard room so no, the hotel was full so not option of changing. On getting into our room the view was of the vents and roof of part of the hotel. The room itself was small and very tired looking. Definitely in need of a refurb. The bed was comfy but the soundproofing was very poor and could quite clearly hear everyone walking past the door and the cleaners in the morning. The kettle provided in the room was filthy inside, we let reception know and it was replaced promptly but was still fairly dirty.

When we arrived for breakfast we asked if we could have a table with a sea view but were laughed at and told they were very busy so no, no offer for us to wait for a table to become vacant. Breakfast was ok but again the cutlery, cups, plates etc were not clean. Again, when mentioned they were replaced but for a 4 star hotel I was disappointed that they were dirty to start with.

We used the leisure facilities too and, again, found them quite tired and not particularly clean.

The afternoon tea was ok but again, cups etc were not clean.

Overall I was very disappointed with our stay. The pictures on the website were very deceiving and the whole hotel is tired looking and could do with an refurb. I think dirty plates etc are not acceptable in a hotel that is meant to be 4 star. I have stayed in numerous Puma hotels previously and have always been impressed but not with this one. Most of the staff were pleasant but we were generally disappointed with hotel and facilities provided.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Kate L,
Kate, I was so sorry to read your comments tongiht about your stay with us last month, and would truly love to be able to follow this up further. You will see by our usual Trip Advisor responses that cleanliness is something very important to us and I'm embarrassed that this was not your impression. If you are able, would you drop me an email directly so that I can investigate how we got this so wrong for you. My email address is a.gilmore@pumahotels.co.uk. With apologies, and thanks, Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,851 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#34 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
2.7 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#31 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#20 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Imperial Hotel Blackpool dominates the North Promenade and was one of the first hotels the Victorians built in the new seaside resort of Blackpool.Everything Blackpool has to offer is right on your doorstep and it’s a great base for exploring the surrounding region. Venture out to discover unspoilt beaches on the Fylde Coast and Cumbria’s picturesque lakes and mountains.This stunning Victorian Blackpool hotel boasts 180 modern bedrooms, 9 of which are stunning suites with sea views, it also has an indoor pool and the No.10 bar, which has served drinks to many British Prime Ministers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Blackpool
Barcelo Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing