We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay great hotel”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #27 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I am pleased to say that my wife and I agreed that the choice of hotel was a good one. The room we were allocated was grand with a great sea view. The food was delightful, staff were polite and quick to address any mistakes. We stayed for 2 nights in the tower suite, highest room in hotel. Recommended to all

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank 973craigd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Guest

I was delighted to read your review, and pleased that the team looked after you well.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With kind regards

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,962 - 1,968 of 3,401 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed here for a Friday and Saturday night in May, whilst attending a Wedding on the Saturday. The Hotel is a big old building, the hotel seem very proud that it’s been visited by the majority of the Prime Ministers in the past 60 years.
We were allowed to check in early, the helpful receptionist juggled the rooms to find one which was already serviced and available - this we hadn't expected. Unfortunately the room we were allocated wasn't the best we've ever stayed in. The room was small, tired and smelt musty. The room was so tiny we were amused by the maid trying to fit a cot in for our daughter. Annoyingly the room only had one bedside cabinet and only one electric socket where the kettle was plugged in. Placing cups of tea on the floor at the side of the bed isn't particularly good idea. The bathroom definitely needed a refurb - I don't think I've every stayed in a hotel which was so desperately needing money spending on it. On the plus side the bed was comfy - it's just a shame it wasn't wider, maybe these are reserved for the 'superior' rooms? I did make a comment to my wife during the weekend, which this room could be in any guest house in Blackpool…
The first night we slept ok, on the Saturday night we had a rattling window - we needed the sash window open for ventilation but this rattled with the wind blowing, so we had a choice of a hot stuffy room or rattling window.
The hotels communal areas are good and much more in keeping with the hotel, prices were as expected for a 4 star hotel - around £8 to £9 for a beer and house wine. Breakfast served in the restaurant was very good, a good buffet selection with plenty of choice. Service at breakfast was very good too.
A difficult question is whenever we'd stay at the hotel again if we visited Blackpool? If we were allocated a better room a definite yes, however without paying for an upgrade this could be gamble, and we would maybe better selecting a modern Premier Inn.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room or stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rcmacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments.

I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your time with us, the only "fly in the ointment" being the rather snug room.

I am a proud Hotel Manager and consider myself very fortunate to be surrounded by a team who, I believe, genuinely care about our guest's comfort and enjoyment.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

with kind regards

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We booked a double room and a triple room for a girls night out in blackpool. Whilst the double room had seen better days it was clean and the beds were comfy. However, the triple room was in the Churchill Suite and was absolutely gorgeous! Would highly recommend paying extra to have a suite - was perfect for a girls sleepover after a few drinks! The breakfast was gorgeous with lots of choice, however my issue was - there weren't any hashbrowns! They did have actual potatoes though... Location was right across the road from the beach and tram stops which was handy for us, however it was a little walk up from the main centre which wasn't good with girls and heels.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are gorgeous. Go for a suite if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klievage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Guest

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your Girlie Weekend at the Imperial Hotel.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

With kind regards

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have stayed at this hotel many times and found it dated but traditional. We have always found the staff helpful and our stays have been excellent. Unfortunately, however, we arrived on 22nd April, Easter week, just exactly one month from our last visit. We had booked on line and paid for a SEA VIEW DE LUXE ROOM with afternoon tea on the second day for after completing our busines. Check in was perfect and faultless as usual. The room was very good, with a nice sea view. A small problem with the internet was promptly dealt with by the duty manager. All went swimmingly well, as expected. Breakfast fine. After a short walk following breakfast we returned to the hotel to change, to find a scaffold being erected outside our sea view window and bathroom. Having to attend to business, we had to close the curtains and be VERY CIRCUMSPECT in the use of the bathroom. If we can see and hear the workmen - they can see us - and, unfortunately the toilet was next to the window, and had no curtains. On return for a pre-booked afternoon tea, we wondered why people were musing as to the delay. We soon found out. After complaining twice, we received the tea booked for 4.00p.m. at 5.10p.m. minus the cutlery and beveredge. However, a further round of discussion prompted this to arrive. Dear reader, thank you for "sticking with us so far". Obviously this did not help our appetites for an evening meal, and by the time we were hungry the restaurant had closed - but that's life isn't it? We retired to the room to be gently aroused at 7.50a.m. by the dulcet tones of two scaffolders going about their buiness, as our pictures show, directly outside our window. To be perfectly fair, they must have been as embarassed as we were. Having been awakened by these gentleman we hurriedly washed, dressed and went down to breakfast - remebering they were outside our bathroom window. In the breakfast room we were shown to a table which could only be described as within the "St. Trinian's School Dining Hall". We declined the kind ladies invitation to breakfast there and returned to our room to pack. We received a telephone call from the restaurant manager to say they had a table for us in a quieter area, but by now our "raison d'etre" was to return home. As mentioned, we had paid the room plus sea view supplement in advance. We checked out and paid the bar bill and extras in full, to be requested to wait and speak to the manager, after we had stated we were dissatisfied. The manager spoke to us at length, showed great concern, expressed profusely that she did not know the scaffold was being erected, which was a puzzle as it went up the front of the reception view. The result of our chat was an offer of one night free accommodation, and that the hotel would point out to future customers the fact that the scaffold is there until September, which they have done. How this helps us, we are at a loss to understand. Her reply by e mail, was that room 117, which we had been allocated, was the most affected room. Our contention was that we should have been informed - and offered a suitable alternative room. A little transparency at the outset would have saved this situation, and we doubt we shall ever return as, sadly, our confidence in Puma Hotels may have diminished. beyond repair.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LordPlant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Lord Plant,

Thank you for your comments Sir, we have been in touch for a while and I would prefer to keep our correspondence personal and direct. You are a loyal guest to Puma and the Imperial, and that is very much appreciated. You were unfortunate to be with us on the day the scaffold erection started. I appreciate for you, this was unexpected as we did not know that it was happening. We have endeavoured to inform all of our guests moving forward

I hope to welcome you back soon.

Alison

NB: The scaffolding has been erected with great care to preserve the views as much as possible. The majority of the work is being done at roof level by a small team so we do not anticipate any noise or disruption, and none of the services and facilities in the hotel are affected by the works.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

took my 3 young grandchildren for a seaside night away for May bank holiday. We've been before as it is warm and cosy , even if parts are now a bit dated. Got a very inexpensive deal as a Puma Leisure club member. This gives you extras as well;- no parking fee, late check-out, meal vouchers, money off spa treatments etc. very handy for all fun activities, but nicely outside the noisier parts of the sea front

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Pshrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments.

I am delighted that once again the team have looked after you well and you have enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The hotel has the grandure of hotels from a past era, large public rooms with high ceilings and good sized rooms so pleanty of space for doggy beds of all sizes. The hotel goes that extra mile by displaying where dogs are allowed in the hotel which is a nice touch.
The only downside is that parking can be an issue so arrive early, leave the car and enjoy plenty of healthy walks, or jump on a bus or tram which also welcome dogs.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank j4ewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest

I am delighted that you all enjoyed your time in Blackpool, and appreciated the olde worlde charm of the Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

With kind regards

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is my favourite place we've stayed when we've visited Blackpool. The price of our room was great, we ended up staying an extra night due to the price and how much we enjoyed it there. I think the decor in the hotel is lovely. I also enjoyed the bar, such a relaxing place to have a drink.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monty0151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest

I was delighted to read that once again you enjoyed your time with us. It is always a pleasure when our guests appreciate the grandeur of the building.

I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

With kind regards

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
563 reviews
2.7 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#35 of 73 in Blackpool
1,114 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#10 of 73 in Blackpool
908 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#18 of 73 in Blackpool
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#15 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £41 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Imperial Hotel Blackpool dominates the North Promenade and was one of the first hotels the Victorians built in the new seaside resort of Blackpool.Everything Blackpool has to offer is right on your doorstep and it’s a great base for exploring the surrounding region. Venture out to discover unspoilt beaches on the Fylde Coast and Cumbria’s picturesque lakes and mountains.This stunning Victorian Blackpool hotel boasts 180 modern bedrooms, 9 of which are stunning suites with sea views, it also has an indoor pool and the No.10 bar, which has served drinks to many British Prime Ministers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Blackpool
Barcelo Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing