We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand hotel”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #27 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Booked for two nights with full breakfast and also booked spa sessions. The hotel has plenty of parking (£3.50 a day) and is having work done on the front so lots of scaffolding up. Inside it is a grand old hotel with wooden panelling, ornate fittings and a calm friendly atmosphere.

Staff were all friendly and helpful, the hotel itself is still immaculate and the spa/treatments were great. Breakfast was good, and the view out over the seafront makes for a superb start to the day.

I'd suggest buying the all day tram/bus ticket so you can travel up and down the promenade on the frequent service.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank AlistairInCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Alastair,

Thanks so much for taking the time to put your comments on tripadvisor. I'm so pleased you enjoyed yourselves, and your treatments were excellent. I very much look forward to meeting you personally when you next visit.

With very best wishes,

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,257)
There are newer reviews for The Imperial Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,726 - 1,732 of 3,257 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights. Really lovely staff who were very helpful and friendly. The hotel itself has lots of character and is quite dated in places....but we liked that! Our room was very comfortable. The breakfasts were more than adequate and must say I took full advantage!!! Delicious! It is about a 10-15 minute walk into the town but there is a tram stop just outside the hotel. Its a lovely walk along the seafront so we never used the trams but they run every 20 minutes. If you have children, it may be too far from the Pleasure Beach, which is the opposite end of the Prom! A tram would be a must for you!!! My husband used the gym and was very impressed with the equipment there. Absolutely no complaints at all!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank DoubleV&C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Double V&C,
Thank you so much for taking the time to register your thoughts on tripadvisor. I appreciate it and am absolutely delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay. I have to agree with your comments about breakfast, it really is superb isn't it, and really sets you up for exploring our vibrant town!
I'm not sure if we met during your stay, but if not, I very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
With kindest regards,
Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I decided to book The Imperial Hotel for a 2-day trip with my 14 year old son. The hotel was recommended to me by a member of family.

I have been visiting Blackpool since I was a baby, im now 36 and only now can I 100% confirm that iv finally found a Hotel which is a) close to all amenities b)affordable c) classy

An absolutely beautiful old period building steeped in elegance and history. Spotlessly clean, amazing customer service, amazing food, amazing comfortable tack free rooms.

This is something that is not often found in Blackpool believe me!

Amazing. we will be back !!!

PS) For those currently moaning about the refurbishments/scaffolding, its wonderful to see a beautiful old building being respected and properly looked after...thumbs up !

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Sharon D, thank you for your kind comments on tripadvisor. I'm so very glad that you've found us after all these years, and sincerely hope, that like so many families, you will make the Imperial your home when you are in Blackpool.

There's never a good time to do external works but the scaffolding has been erected with care to preserve as much of the views as possilbe and without disruption to services and facilities. We can't wait until it's down and we get to see this old girl after a bit of a facelift!

Thanks again, Sharon,

With very best wishes, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

If clinical and ultra modern with fake wood and tiny 'designed' rooms is your thing then don't stay at The Imperial.

If you appreciate characterful buildings with plenty of history, plus a touch of ageing splendour and friendly helpful staff, then The Imperial is a great place to stay.

The sea view room presented us with amazing sunrises and sunsets. Breakfast was long and tasty, as was Dinner.

Tram stop right outside the hotel made getting around easy.

Room Tip: Sea View room
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank roomno9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for your kind words on tripadvisor. I have to agree that the character and history of the hotel is just of many great things about the Imperial. We've been welcoming famous guests since our first famous resident, Charles Dickens in 1867 and every one of our resdients is as special.

I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope that you were able to take advantage of all of the sights and sounds of our vibrant town.

Thank you once again, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Had a wonderful experience in the Imperial,staff very friendly,food excellent,swimming pool great,pity sauna out of order. all free with your hotel fee.Do not do full English breakfast,so went to wetherspoons,10 minutes walk.Drinks pricey,as expected at a top hotel.Dinner for 2,2 course plus a bottle of wine £40.00 was excellent value.Will definitely go back.Room very clean and comfy,beautiful charming hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Angela B,

Thanks so much for popping your comments on trip advisor. I'm so glad you had so a great time, but am sorry that for some reason you did not think we served a full English Breakfast. We of course, do, and it's so much more than that! I'm sorry you missed out. Next time make sure you sample the fabulous buffet.

I look forward to meeting you personally, next visit.

With kindest regards,

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here at the weekend for one night with my sister and my 2 year old son. I didnt realise how far the hotel was from the Pleasure Beach - opposite end really but there is a tram stop right outside the hotel which was fine!

The hotel itself was clean although dated. No problems with room and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

No complaints!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank smoff12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest

I was delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, and look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

With kind regards

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Nice hotel Stayed here for Europe's tribute to Elvis festival at The Winter Gardens in July. Great hotel great location. There's a tram stop outside nearby where you can get a three day pass to use but it's only a short walk to the winter gardens. The rooms were tidy. The hotel was quiet. i would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fairynuff4313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.

I was delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and that the convention was a great success.

We hope to welcome you back next year.

With kind regards

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,100 reviews
2.7 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
496 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#34 of 73 in Blackpool
1,037 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#17 of 73 in Blackpool
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#20 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £48 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Imperial Hotel Blackpool dominates the North Promenade and was one of the first hotels the Victorians built in the new seaside resort of Blackpool.Everything Blackpool has to offer is right on your doorstep and it’s a great base for exploring the surrounding region. Venture out to discover unspoilt beaches on the Fylde Coast and Cumbria’s picturesque lakes and mountains.This stunning Victorian Blackpool hotel boasts 180 modern bedrooms, 9 of which are stunning suites with sea views, it also has an indoor pool and the No.10 bar, which has served drinks to many British Prime Ministers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Blackpool
Barcelo Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing