We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely seafront hotel”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #30 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 5 August 2014

lovely seafront hotel a short walk to the north pier staff friendly and very helpful, good buffet breakfast with quality produce nice bar area and outside seating with sea views room was clean and comfortable

Room Tip: higher floor for quieter rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank RotherhamJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and that my team looked after you well. I am proud to be surrounded by them.

I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next planning to visit the area.

With kind regards

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,819 - 1,825 of 3,376 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

First class as usual, staff outstanding always smiling nothing too much trouble, great stay food and accommodation brilliant, looking forward to seeing you all again , Thank you all.our next visit can't come quick enough.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Gordonwross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Gordon

Thank you for your lovely review.

I am delighted that once again my team have looked after you well and made your stay comfortable.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Didn't know what to think as a lot of people put this hotel down .I travelled with 2children and my husband and as soon as we walked in it was lovely staff very friendly and yes the hotel is old but it's lovely that way couldn't fault anything only it was very hot in the room could do with a bit of air con in the summer but wwe had a fan and that was ok my children felt very welcome from the minute we walked in its a good location and would definitely return

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank lou2299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.

I was delighted that you all enjoyed your time with us, and I hope you were able to visit some of the attractions our town has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

With kind regards

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just returned from another lovely stay in the Imperial. We specifically choose to return to this hotel, it is about a 10-15 minute walk from the Tower and there are bars and restaurants nearby. It is a traditional hotel, but with lovely character and features. What makes this hotel exceptional is the quality of customer service, the staff throughout the hotel are excellent - really courteous and professional. Probably amongst the best service I have experienced globally. The overall facilities are really good, although the leisure facilities are a little dated, it all works. There is a good range of spa treatments which are reasonably priced, the staff in the spa are fantastic too. The bedrooms are traditionally decorated and lovely, comfortable and clean. The corner rooms are larger. The food is excellent for both breakfast and room service. The bar is nice, plenty of choice and the staff are great, really welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank SJBFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest

I am delighted to read that once again you enjoyed your time with us, and appreciate the olde worlde charm of the building.

I am proud to be surrounded by a team who, I believe, genuinely care about our guest's comfort and enjoyment.

I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next planning to visit the area.

with kind regards

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Last stayed at the Imperial 27 years ago!! This time got a fair rate on Superbreaks (cheaper than Hotel Central Booking although they claimed Superbreak site was dearer). This time it was to celebrate my 62nd birthday!!!

Arrived earlier than 3 PM but very friendly reception staff found us a room that was ready.

Went to room to drop bags off. Small room with double bed clean and comfortable. Lack of air con would have been a problem week before when weather was hot but OK for our stay.

Went downstairs for drink in no 10 bar, again very friendly staff on duty.

Main reason for not rating higher was the shower which changed temperature from nearly cold to very nearly slipped when moving out of reach when went hot.hot not very good.

Received letter stating that breakfast was likely to be busy.

Went down for breakfast and was slight delay but nothing like a long wait.

Buffet selection was good and of good quality, partner requested poached eggs which were delivered to table quickly by friendly staff.

On second day, shampoo and body wash were not replenished despite body wash being used up bit penny pinching.

Overall Grand old hotel which could do with refurbishment to bring it up to 21st century standards but suspect Blackpool cannot attract top dollar customers anymore (unless they get the political conference trade back/becomes the Las Vagus of the UK). Real plus is the friendliness of the front line staff.

Will stay again if the rate is right..

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank philfromliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review.

I was delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and it is always a pleasure to read that our guests appreciate the charm and elegance of the building.

I am a proud Hotel Manager and consider myself very fortunate to be surrounded by a team who, I believe, genuinely care about our guest's comfort and enjoyment.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

with kind regards

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This hotel, along with Blackpool, has seen better days but for me its a historically important beautiful building that is trying to survive a holiday market it was never built for. If you do not want to mix with a large element of Blackpools 'kiss me quick' over weight and tattooed football supporter types with kids you may not enjoy Blackpool anyway, never mind this hotel. If you however you come to Blackpool with some realistic down to earth expectations come and stay at The Imperial. The staff are mostly all lovely and helpful. Full marks to Jay (reception) and Alberto (waiter) and the young star chef who produces the excellent value dinner menu. Even come for dinner, its excellent value. Real star was duty manager at breakfast and later in reception(no name badge). Great choice at breakfast, beats most B & B's hands down
For B & B prices you can come and stay at a hotel built for royalty and prime ministers, dont miss the opportunity

Avoid 3rd floor = noisy
Good deals on Amazon local

The downsides
The cups in the dining room were unacceptably stained(even the replacements)
Cannot someone paint a window without getting paint all over the metal bar(dining room bay window on northern side)-so sloppy.
This same sloppiness was visible in our room too around the bath. Toilet seat needed replacement and no spare toilet roll in room.
The peculiar smell in male toilet by downstairs bar is unacceptable (toilets very good). I mentioned this to a member of the bar staff and he just ignored me and walked out!

This hotel needs support, it would be criminal if it ever closed so come and stay at The Imperial


-oOo-

My reviews are based upon my experience both socially and professionally and should be read along with other comments I have made about other establishments as well as considering all other reviewers comments. My objective is to make a fair comment on the experience I received but my expectations may be vastly different from others, I try to be fair. I believe that managers/owners who do not respond to TA comments have little interest in customers expectations or experiences. Retail is detail, even in service industries. Its the little things that can make a big difference!

Room Tip: Avoid 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Acallerinspects
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest, thank you so much for taking the time to register your thoughts, we do appreciate it. I have spoken with the team regarding your comments about maintenance and the toilets and wil action these points as soon as we are able. I'm sorry that the reaction you got from one of the bar team was unusually curt, and not what either of us would have hoped. I will follow this up.

I'm pleased however that you had such a fantastic time and hope you were able to to enjoy the many sights and sounds our vibrant town has to offer.

With very best wishes, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The service and location were both superb but room was disappointingly small,shabby and unbearably hot as rooms were not able to be opened. The hotel was tatty and undergoing improvements but the staff were all charming and the food was delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 813Sue813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest

Please accept my apologies that you found some aspects of your stay disappointing.

I am a proud Hotel Manager and consider myself very fortunate to be surrounded by a team who, I believe, genuinely care about our guest's comfort and enjoyment.

I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

With kind regards

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
549 reviews
2.7 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
1,106 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#24 of 73 in Blackpool
1,974 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#17 of 73 in Blackpool
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#15 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £43 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Imperial Hotel Blackpool dominates the North Promenade and was one of the first hotels the Victorians built in the new seaside resort of Blackpool.Everything Blackpool has to offer is right on your doorstep and it’s a great base for exploring the surrounding region. Venture out to discover unspoilt beaches on the Fylde Coast and Cumbria’s picturesque lakes and mountains.This stunning Victorian Blackpool hotel boasts 180 modern bedrooms, 9 of which are stunning suites with sea views, it also has an indoor pool and the No.10 bar, which has served drinks to many British Prime Ministers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Blackpool
Barcelo Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing