We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character Hotel”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #25 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Character Hotel”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

A lovely hotel and great service - superb breakfast - good bar menu - warm cosy bedroom with good storage space and very clean. Probably time for maintenance at the hotel - room was a little dated - had cracked floor tiles in bathroom. However, from what we saw this is certainly one of the best hotels in Blackpool.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AdeQuinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest

I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

With kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,099
    996
    544
    288
    170
See reviews for
766
1,370
88
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (783)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We booked at the Imperial Hotel Blackpool in May to take our three grandchildren 13,11 and 2 for a 3 day 2 night stay. From arrival to departure we were really impressed. Yes the scaffolding is an eyesore but once inside our room 124 was more than large enough for the 5 of us. All the staff were very welcoming and happy. The breakfast was buffet and catered for everyone. The leisure facilities were good too the pool, the toddlers playroom only the games room for the older children was a bit of a disappointment but adequate for us. Would definitely recommend this and look forward to a return visit in the future.

Room Tip: 124 Family Premier Room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alden90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments.

I am delighted that you all enjoyed your time with us and we were able to cater for all ages.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My boyfriend booked this hotel for my 21st birthday as it was said to be a 4 star hotel so would be one of the nicer ones in Blackpool. We arrived early and decided to spend the time before we could check in at the spa facilities until our room was ready. The spa was vile. There was mould growing on the steam room ceiling and the seats were plastic so you stuck to them, not very relaxing. The staff were extremely unhelpful, they had booked our massage in for the wrong day and had no slots available while we were there. After our short stint in the spa we went back to check in. The room wasn't quite ready so we waited in the reception for a while. We decided to leave as it became full with drunk swearing men there for the snooker championships or something. We went to get some lunch and our room was finally ready when we came back (around 4pm). Outside our room were dirty plates and cutlery and a beer box full with empty smelly bottles so it was clear the maid was just finishing cleaning. Inside the room stank of alcohol and cigarettes. And I mean really stank. The window was propped open with a toilet roll. Speaking of the windows the room was advertised as a sea view room but you could hardly see the sea and the scaffold all around the hotel front made you feel like you were in a prison. The room was in a bad state, wall paper was starting to peel back and the bathroom looked faded. My boyfriend complained and all I can say is that the staff were very good in refunding us.
We ended up staying at the grand hotel in Lytham St Annes. a beautiful hotel :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Charlotte,

We did actually meet on the day of your stay. I’m so sorry we got this wrong for you and I’m saddened that you felt the need to air your thoughts publically. I hope that in time, you will try us out again.

With kindest regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

6 ladies stayed in 3 twin rooms - unfortunately we got the worst room! There were long black hairs all over the bathroom floor, the carpet hadn't been cleaned for a while - hair pins all over! The radiator didn't work and the duvet cover had holes in it! Other than that it was OK! The evening dinner was OK the staff were working very hard to cope with the volume of people. We had booked our meal in advance, but when we arrived there was no record of our booking. On checkout the bill for B & B was £40 more per room than we had booked and the dinner charge was more than the £20 each which we had booked. Friends in another corridor received a letter pushed under the door accusing them of smoking in that room - neither of them smoke!! When they complained they were told everyone along that corridor had received the same letter! Think the contents should be toned down! Had a good 'girlie' weekend at Mama Mia but would not stay here again! Sorry!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.

Please accept my sincere apologies that you found some aspects of your stay disappointing. With this in mind I have sent you a message asking you to contact us so that we can discuss them.

With kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Had a working weekend in Blackpool and wanted somewhere good to stay.My parents had stayed at the Imperial 40 years ago . It is one if the last Grand Hotels , it's a gem and should be cherished. The staff are some of the most friendliest and hardworking that we have had the pleasure to meet .
Breakfast is superb , but we felt let down by quality of food in the restaurant . My wife had wild mushroom tagliatelle , the mushrooms were like rubber and were left on the side , the pasta was tasteless. We did inform the staff who said they would report this to the chef. Because if this experience we dined the next night in the Number 10 Bar , my wife again had an expensive Caesar salad that was expensive for the quality . We would definitely stay again , but only on B&B basis

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for leaving your comments.

I was delighted that overall we lived up to expectation, the one "fly in the ointment" being the food, for which I apologise that it was not to your taste.

I am a proud Hotel Manager and consider myself very fortunate to be surrounded by a team who, I believe, genuinely care about our guest's comfort and enjoyment.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

With kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay at The Imperial with our grandchildren. Everything was as expected or better. Unlike in other hotels we looked at, they were able to accommodate our 15 yr old grandson in a family room. It was spacious and had a side sea view, and his bed was in an annex off the main room which he loved. It is a beautiful hotel with lots of character. Food and service at dinner were great. Breakfast was much busier and we were glad we went at 9am before the rush but that was very well managed and staff were attentive, friendly and helpful. We are looking forward to returning on Friday 22nd to celebrate our anniversary - no gran kids this time though.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view or side sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeyJude23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments. I was delighted that you all enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope you enjoyed your recent stay for your anniversary.

With kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The hotel enjoys a great location not far from North Pier and there is a tram stop nearby. I am not a fan of big hotels as one tends to lose the personal touch but the Imperial restored my faith courtesy of the reception and bar staff. We were greeted by a lovely young lady who was most welcoming, attentive and interested in our tour of the UK. I loved the traditional design of the hotel; the room was incredibly large and well appointed and we were lucky to have a sea view! We did not eat at the hotel so I cannot comment on that. Parking availability was good and we were informed of the small cost upfront. The spa was a great extra; the massage was relaxing and reviving; the pool and Jacuzzi were great. My only complaint, and it is a small one; big suitcases and small revolving doors do not mix well, but I survived the experience. Thank you. If ever I return to Blackpool I know where to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if they are available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and my team looked after you well. I am proud to be surrounded by them and I believe, they genuinely care about our guest's comfort and enjoyment.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

With kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 69 in Blackpool
3,912 reviews
2.7 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 69 in Blackpool
3,046 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#35 of 69 in Blackpool
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 69 in Blackpool
454 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 69 in Blackpool
987 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 69 in Blackpool
1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#20 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Imperial Hotel Blackpool dominates the North Promenade and was one of the first hotels the Victorians built in the new seaside resort of Blackpool.Everything Blackpool has to offer is right on your doorstep and it’s a great base for exploring the surrounding region. Venture out to discover unspoilt beaches on the Fylde Coast and Cumbria’s picturesque lakes and mountains.This stunning Victorian Blackpool hotel boasts 180 modern bedrooms, 9 of which are stunning suites with sea views, it also has an indoor pool and the No.10 bar, which has served drinks to many British Prime Ministers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Blackpool
Barcelo Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing