We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #25 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb stay”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Lovely time staff excellent had 4days stay in early august for my 65th birthday it was a treat to stay there would recommend upgrade to sea view room it was luxury to wake up and see that view would recommend this hotel thanks to all the staff will see you again soon

Room Tip: Try for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank don r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,115
    1,005
    553
    293
    173
See reviews for
772
1,391
89
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (794)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham Kent
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed here on a two night break to see the lights. Yes, the hotel is lovely and it does need a good refurbishment. The thing that got to us the most was the noise that came from their function rooms. When we booked we specifically asked for a quiet room. Having a licence to hold wedding is great but not for the noise levels that we could here in our room. Too cut a long story short we were first kept awake by the disco then by screaming beauty pagent girls running up and down the corridors till 4.30am not funny. I went to reception to complain to be told I should of dialled 0 to complain by the time they would of come up they would of gone. Next day we did have our room changed to a quieter room hmm? We could here another wedding, this time they had a live band so all we coul hear was the drum beat. Yes, we did get some sleep but if you want a peace on a weekend break I wouldn't book here. Breakfast was ample but nothing special. Next time I think we will book into a b and b, at least they will be able to control their noise levels.

Room Tip: Try and book a room furthest away from their function rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Couldn't fault anything about our three night stay - the room was ideal for myself and two teenage daughters (premium family), the food was excellent and the staff pleasant and always helpful. The hotel has a very good location facing onto the sea and we enjoyed the view and some walks along the front. If you want to go to the Tower or Pleasure Beach areas there is a tram stop right outside the hotel. This is not the cheapest hotel available but I think it does give value for money - it is classy in a very traditional way.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank rebell62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We came for a hen do and were very satisfied with our stay.

The front is currently covered in scaffolding, but the interior more than made up for it and the customer service was unbeatable.

We all had a spa treatment each (pedicure/facial) which were incredibly luxurious. The staff were incredibly accommodating as well as friendly - they took care of our luggage as our appointments were before check In and brought the robes from our room so we could get comfortable.

We had tickets for Mamma Mia and were running a bit late, so we needed to rush our dinner and yet again the staff went out of their way to help out - they brought our mains out as soon as the starters were done and let us order dessert while we were scoffing the mains.

We were spoiled for choice at breakfast this morning and the staff were very attentive even though it was self service.

£89 for the room, 3 courses, breakfast and a spa treatment - worth every penny.
I'm already thinking of excuses to come back to Blackpool just so I can stay here again!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank feltron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Have just got back from a 2 night stay at the Imperial and we had a lovely time. The decor of the hotel is dated and a refurbishment is overdue! However the hotel is clean, comfortable and otherwise well maintained. The food was tasty and there was plenty of choice for breakfast. The real jewel of this hotel though is the staff, all we encountered were pleasant, helpful and really friendly. I hope the scaffolding on the front of the building at the moment is a sign of the beginning of a refurbishment and not just maintenance works. Would stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed on 4th floor, attic rooms with sloping roof so avoid if you're tall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monkeygirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest

I was delighted to read your comments and am proud to be surrounded by a team who, I believe, genuinely care about our guest's comfort and enjoyment.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

With kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Last weekend was the third time we have taken our Grandsons aged 10 & 8 to Blackpool and this hotel,which,incidentally,both of which they think are "epic",but then they are Southeners!Whilst I can't fault the staff,they are friendly & helpful,I was a little disappointed in our room this time.We upgraded to a suite at an extra cost of £100 to give ourselves extra space.The bathroom door was so stiff one of the kids got stuck & when we finally got it open the metal coat hook fell off & just missed him,one of the put up beds for the boys collapsed and we struggled to put it back up.There were no batteries in the remote control for the tv.That said,the breakfast at the hotel is excellent & the children made welcome.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a sea view,other outlooks are depressing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest

Please accept my sincere apologies that you found some aspects of your stay disappointing. I have sent you a message to contact me at your convenience.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We recently stayed here for a special birthday celebration as we were going to the threatre .the hotel was so out of the way which if you can't drive then it's a long walk into town and back our room was very poky with slanted ceilings we where put on 4th floor facing the sea all we heard all night was the traffic going along the prom and inconsiderate people slamming doors and children running along the corridors till after midnight the bed was like sleeping on a concrete slab so we didn't get much sleep and then we were woken up by a. Tram going past at 5:20am we were supposed to check out of hotel till 11am we checked out early hence to say we certainly WONT be staying here again

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angryhotelcustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 69 in Blackpool
3,971 reviews
2.7 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 69 in Blackpool
3,071 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#38 of 69 in Blackpool
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 69 in Blackpool
468 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 69 in Blackpool
998 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 69 in Blackpool
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#20 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Imperial Hotel Blackpool dominates the North Promenade and was one of the first hotels the Victorians built in the new seaside resort of Blackpool.Everything Blackpool has to offer is right on your doorstep and it’s a great base for exploring the surrounding region. Venture out to discover unspoilt beaches on the Fylde Coast and Cumbria’s picturesque lakes and mountains.This stunning Victorian Blackpool hotel boasts 180 modern bedrooms, 9 of which are stunning suites with sea views, it also has an indoor pool and the No.10 bar, which has served drinks to many British Prime Ministers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Blackpool
Barcelo Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing