We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you enjoy grace and grandeur this is for you.”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Lovely old hotel, has lots of benefits, large rooms, corridors, public areas.. Staff attentive and polite and professional, good choice of food and excellent quality. Enjoyed the feeling of space and genteel feel of the luxury around. Some faded areas of decor but lots of comfy chairs, well carpeted corridors and lovely seascapes; Great value for money. Bedroom comfy and quiet.. kinda bliss really ..

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beaujanglesEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,257)
There are newer reviews for The Imperial Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,978 - 2,984 of 3,258 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2010

We visited this hotel with our 5 year old daughter plus other family members.
The hotel looks great from the outside and in the lobby. Our room was clean but the bathroom was a bit grim and not particularly clean. The windows were not double glazed so you could hear traffic noise all night long. Also the windows were big and at floor level, so they are really dangerous if a you child should fall against them (especially as they are old and single glazed). The bar and food prices are excessive (9.20 for two single vodka lemonades, and about £9 for a ham sandwich).
Restaurant food was average, the pool and spa were very good, but the changing rooms left a bit to be desired.
We were woken 6 - 7 times in the night by loud traffic noise and other guests shouting and balling between 2am - 5am.
I know it is blackpool and you should expect all this, but not at how much they charge for a room.
All staff really polite on the positive side!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

the hotel is absolutely MASSIVE when you get in.

They advertise as being not far from Blackpool train station - but in fact it is quite a hike with a suitcase (even one with wheels).

The food is average and the bar prices are quite high.

The hotel was previously used for conservative conferences and so there are many references to politics and prime ministers around the hotel.

The staff are quite friendly and proffessional.

The rooms are large and the bathrooms are well equipped.

Each room has a TV with basic television channels and extras (Such as blue movies haha) that you
can suscribe too.

Hotel is based right on the sea front and has a great view.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank somoslagente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2010

Stayed here for two nights during the Easter Hols on a great rate via laterooms.com. Liked the quieter location of the hotel away from the grubbiness of the town centre but within only 15 mins walk if you wanted to get to the centre of things. We had specifically asked for a quiet room as we were running the Blackpool Marathon, and they took this into account, our room seemed miles away at the end of the third floor but it WAS quiet as requested. No frills room, clean enough allbeit quite tired decor-wise, bathroom had a slight damp smell but nothing too bad. Stayed on a room only basis but were given vouchers for a £5 breakfast which we used on the second day, turned out to be good value as breakfast was perfectly nice, reasonable selection and quite tasty. Used the pool once, quite small but still a bonus, no individual changing cublicles though, didnt bother me but some might not like that.

The hotel reeks of faded grandeur, part of the charm maybe, staff were functional and efficient if not exactly friendly. Considered it good value as we got a great discounted rate, if I'd paid more I would have more to grumble about.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weemoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2010

We booked at short notice as our foreign holiday was cancelled due to the volcanic ash cloud. We wanted to get away for a few days to chear ourselves up. I thought the hotel was really good value for money - we paid approx £65-70 per nights for a double room with breakfast. The room (and hotel in general) was traditionally decorated and was clean. We stayed in a standard room (356) so did not have a sea view but that didn't bother us. We had a tv, internet point, tea/coffe facilities, trouser press and hair dryer in the room and the bathroom had a bath with an overhead shower which was really powerful. My only critisism is that we could hear pigeons outside our window and the external window sill was covered in their droppings. Breakfast is buffet style with a choice of breads/pastries, cereals, fresh fruit, traditional fry up and continental meats/cheese on request. We used the hotel bar and leisure facilities (jacuzzi, steam room, pool, his and hers saunas and a decent sized gym). Decleor beauty treatments and massages are also available. We didn't use the hotel restaurant as we ate out most nights. The location is on the North promenade and it is within walking distance of the piers but it is far enough along that you are not situated within cheesy amusements, chippies and bars. There are bus stops and tram stops directly opposite the hotel and the hotel has a carpark. The staff were really helpful and polite. As a regular contributer to tripadvisor I'm surprised the overall rating for this hotel isn't higher - epsecially given the price.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LozHammersbaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

Have stayed at a couple of other Barcelo Hotels - in Harrogate and Redworth so knew what to expect. Grand exterior, grand reception and bar areas but rooms a bit tired and areas outside of public scrutiny not really of a 4 star standard. Having said that would not stay anywhere else in Blackpool after investigating the competition!
On arrival room not ready ( we were 15 mins early but told 2pm was only a guide time and it could be an hour) children excited but told by receptionist to "be good"!! They were excited but well behaved but I think this probably reflects this hotels attitude to children and I think they would prefer them to be seen and not heard. Three days and 2 nights I dont think one member of staff spoke directly to eithe rof our kids for the entire stay which is unusual.
Our children (8 & 3) loved this hotel and would have been happy in the swimming pool all day. But the pool is really small so if you get a few "serious" swimmers in who tell your children not to shout it is a bit difficult!!!
We booked dinner which i have to say was good. We like nice food and were not disappointed. Children loved getting a three course dinner like mum and dad.
Breakfast not as good as Harrogate hotel - not as wide a selection, not very child friendly really.
We will go back I am sure but personally prefer Scarborough. Check out the Zoo if you have kids, great selection of animals, children were amazed.
p.s. brilliant six foot wide bed, want to trade in our king size now!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiddlesbroughKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

We were delighted to be given an upgrade to a small suite for our one night stay here in October. Amazing view, fantastic room. Breakfast and the evening meal were superb value for money and service second to none. Can't wait to stay again and spend more time enjoying the facilities the hotel has to offer.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lynnecPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,101 reviews
2.7 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
497 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#34 of 73 in Blackpool
1,037 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#18 of 73 in Blackpool
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#20 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £48 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Imperial Hotel Blackpool dominates the North Promenade and was one of the first hotels the Victorians built in the new seaside resort of Blackpool.Everything Blackpool has to offer is right on your doorstep and it’s a great base for exploring the surrounding region. Venture out to discover unspoilt beaches on the Fylde Coast and Cumbria’s picturesque lakes and mountains.This stunning Victorian Blackpool hotel boasts 180 modern bedrooms, 9 of which are stunning suites with sea views, it also has an indoor pool and the No.10 bar, which has served drinks to many British Prime Ministers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Blackpool
Barcelo Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing