We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Getaway”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #26 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Recently stayed in the Blackpool Imperial Hotel, as part of a 2 night Spa Break package. Had a fantastic time, the twin room small but attractive and comfortable, staff were friendly, and the food was fantastic. Despite the Spa having to close during our stay they called in a member of staff for our treatments, so they could honor our booking. We were two very happy customers!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ginger1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,140 - 3,146 of 3,425 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2010

first impressions great.its the lack of little bits of detail that slowly add up.small car park and had to pay,slow reception,two dirty bath towels on arrival (still changed them very fast),extortionate snack menu(£14 8oz burger),evening meal had very few options and these were of poor ingredients unless you upgrade each course (extra £9.50 for the steak main for ex:),the whole dining experience was uncomfortable due to the horrendous heat,sweating constantly is not my idea of a great meal.the starters were poor,my main was reheated and resembled a school dinner and the sweets amazingly good,they overcharged for the drinks and had to ask for a refund,pretty amazing considering we had 1glass of wine each. breakfast very good.We spoke to several other guests about the hotel who agreed with us and said their bedrooms were worse than ours..We left one day early due to the unbearable heat especially in our room when the window opened only 5 inches and this faced the boiler room keeping us awake all night.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cashman68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

I stayed at this hotel as my regular one was unavailable, what a mistake.
When you enter the hotel, your first thoughts are, this is nice. Clean old fashioned reception with courteous staff who are happy to help. You are then directed to a nice new state of the art lift & you think, hmmm this is nice.
THEN you get away from the public facing side & enter your room. I had room 243 which contained 2 single beds (both had significant dips in the middle of them, not a good sign). As it was a very warm day, I decided to open the window. The catch/lock had been removed & the window was held in place by the arm!! Hardly secure. There was also no limiter on the window so it could be opened as far as you liked (I thought this was a requirement of hotel windows) My view was of a wall & a large number of pigeons who seemed to have set up home.
I then went into the bathroom, it looked alright until closer inspection revealed hair in the bath, sink & on the floor, clearly the maids cleaning skills extended to a quite superficial wipe of surfaces!! The window in here also had the lock removed & there looked like a blind had been there previously but the only traces now were the brackets that had been left up. There was a tile that had been removed from the wall above the door but not replaced & the toilet roll holder was hanging by a thread from the wall.
Then there was the shower. When turned on, the water came from all angles of the shower head.
Sleep was near impossible in a curved single bed but by this stage I was just looking forward to getting out of the place in the morning & hoping that no one would get in through one of the windows that had no lock on it.
In conclusion, I feel that this hotel is living on its history & needs to look closer at its present day appearance. Certainly, from the conversations I had with other guests, there are a number of us that will not be returning & if I had paid for this as a leisure trip, I would certainly be asking for my money back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthEast1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Rooms stank of stale smoke

reception never answer phone despite walking down straight after and seeing an empty reception.

Staff lying straight to your face saying they had been busy!

No irons in rooms. Had to ask for one. Non available so had to wait 2 hours for iron after chasing them

poor service poor manners. Staff called me a bloke when talking to duty manager about me.

Terrible!

My window opens onto a flat roof which is covered in pigeon droppings and stale water and rubbish!!

Do not stay here!!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlennTSpud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

I stayed at the Imperial for 2 nights mid May during a rather unusual hot spell! The entrance is grand and reminds you of days gone by. The staff at check in were friendly and courteous. The rooms were of a good size, well maintained and a big comfy bed! The gym area was fine and reasonably equipped. The restaurant, bar and breakfast areas were all clean. Food was excellent but perhaps a little pricey...£4 tray charge I thought was excessive? The rooms had no aircon and no fans, so it was a bit of a sauna on the top floor. I could only open the window about an inch!
The hotel overall is starting to look a bit dated, don't get me wrong, I like the grand look but it does need freshening up! Its about a 15 minute walk to the center of town / winter gardens but there are buses / trams that pass by every 2 minutes.
Overall, a good hotel and I probably would stay there again considering some of the other hotels I saw on the seafront!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank scopie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

Read the reviews before hand and thought people were being too fussy, we stayed and was extremely disappointed with the décor. Room was and average size and the full breakfast was poor, it’s such a pity as this hotel has so much potential. Unless you get a great deal don’t stay here. And they charge for parking !

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichieRich10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Lovely old hotel, has lots of benefits, large rooms, corridors, public areas.. Staff attentive and polite and professional, good choice of food and excellent quality. Enjoyed the feeling of space and genteel feel of the luxury around. Some faded areas of decor but lots of comfy chairs, well carpeted corridors and lovely seascapes; Great value for money. Bedroom comfy and quiet.. kinda bliss really ..

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beaujanglesEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
576 reviews
2.7 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#9 of 73 in Blackpool
916 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#35 of 73 in Blackpool
1,122 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#15 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £48 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Imperial Hotel Blackpool dominates the North Promenade and was one of the first hotels the Victorians built in the new seaside resort of Blackpool.Everything Blackpool has to offer is right on your doorstep and it’s a great base for exploring the surrounding region. Venture out to discover unspoilt beaches on the Fylde Coast and Cumbria’s picturesque lakes and mountains.This stunning Victorian Blackpool hotel boasts 180 modern bedrooms, 9 of which are stunning suites with sea views, it also has an indoor pool and the No.10 bar, which has served drinks to many British Prime Ministers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Blackpool
Barcelo Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing