We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable overnight stay”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 30 September 2010

I wanted an overnight stay in Blackpool and decided to stay at the Imperial. Some earlier reviews had mad me wary but I was pleased by the hotel. The receptionist was pleasant and helpful, no problem with check in. My room was on the 3rd floor and towards the back. The family room was clean and comfortable, carpets and furnishing were all good and the bed was large and comfortable. Maybe the lighting could have been better, but it wasn't bad. The bar service was a little eccentric and the lady managed to key in my room number so the initial bill was over £3500 rather than a more modest £23, but it was soon corrected.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenisWm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2010

I'm delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you very much for posting your thoughts on trip advisor, I very much apprecaite it. With best wishes, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,264)
There are newer reviews for The Imperial Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,940 - 2,946 of 3,264 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2010

We have just returned home having stayed one night at the Blackpool Imperial Barcelo Hotel (25/09/10)

We were attending the Ladies Circle event and stayed in room 351.

The evening meal was excellent - the service was about the best I have come across in other 30 years of attending this type of event - one of the biggest issues with large functions is poor service - each of the tables was served with each course within a very short timescale per table such that everyone on that table received their meal within minutes of the others - no one was left waiting - I was left very impressed

I would definitely stay at this hotel again and recommend it to others

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenDarwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2010

Dear Stephen, I think we spoke on the night in question, thank you for sharing your thoughts with trip advisor visitors and you're right the team do a great job particularly for parties and events. Glad to hear how much you enjoyed your weekend! With kind regards, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

I stayed at this hotel for the first time with colleagues on the 15/9. The bar prices are high and there are no snacks served as advised by the bar tender. My room was of poor quality, very dated and with no wi-fi. The bathroom was actually dirty and needed a good clean and redecorating. I returned to my room in the evening to find the heating on full - the room was a sauna. I opened the window which was overlooking overflowing bins at the rear of the hotel. I needed to leave early the next morning after a poor nights sleep and had to wait for somebody to do my checkout. Overall a very poor experience. As a business customer i was poorly treated.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthewcooperuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2010

Dear Mr Cooper, thank you so much for registering your thoughts. I am confused about your comments about bar snacks which are served throughout the day up and until 10.30pm at night. Wi Fi is available in every room in the hotel and is complimentary in our lounge area on the ground floor. It is such a shame you did not mention your disappointment to anyone on site, but I will investigate where we went wrong and will contact you directly by mail. With kindest regards, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Not quite a 4* it falls short in a few areas, but generally a good hotel. Our only gripe would be the prices of food and drink in the hotel was expensive. For 4* would expect free wifi and free car parking. located on the sea front on the north of the promenade.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sayers17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

The Imperial is a grand looking hotel with good quality apparent throughout. Our room was spotlessly clean and tidy and very quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful, particularly at breakfast. Breakfast was excellent, and the chefs kept the buffet well stocked and nicely hot (we didn't use the hotel for lunch or dinner). Located at the north end of the front it's easy to get to the pleasure beach and central attractions by tram but they were busy at times. The only fault we had was we weren't able to turn on our towel rail but the manager offered us the use of a tumble drier. The spa was a little disappointing, I would have thought a big grand hotel would have a big grand spa, but the treatments were good, just the facilities were a little lacking. The hotel seems like a great place for weddings and conferences too. I would stay at other Barcelo hotels in future!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArnoldTheCat939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We stayed here recently for a long mid week break and found the hotel to be very nice. Especially after walking past all the other hotels and bed and breakfasts we realised we had found a lovely place to stay. It certainly looked one of the best from the outside.

The hotel as some says seems to be relying on its pasts and certainly in its day it was magnificent, it is slightly worn in places admitedly but you still can feel the grandeur as you walk around the place. Nothing was terribly worn either, the halls we walked down still felt grand and the carpets and wallpaper were inkeeping with what you would expect from a hotel of this age with patterns and deco features.

All in all it was very nice, slightly dated decor but in its grandeur it pulled it off. modernising it would ruin the whole feel and atmosphere of the place.

Our room was on the second floor looking into the centre of the hotel and was pleasant, the bath was handy and the shower over this worked fine, yes you had to be light on the controls but once your ideal temperature was found it stayed constant. it was nice and powerful and was what we needed. The bed was comfy and the large tv a bonus with lots of digital channels itv2, bbc3, news24, itv+1 etc.

All in all it was a very pleasent stay, after reading some reviews i was aprehensive thinking it would be tired and worn down. This simply wasn't the case on our floor or room, they were very nice and only faults could be found if you look hard enough for them. We just went there to relax and enjoy ourselves.

If you dont want an old hotel with charm, history, atmosphere and elegance then go to the Hilton.

If you stay at the imperial you wont go wrong

We paid £55 a night for the room and was happy with what we received

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghockley1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2010

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your thoughts on Trip Advisor, the team and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We stayed at the hotel over this weekend.

The room key machine failed but i have to say the staff were so very helpful and always ready to take you to the rooms.

Biggest problem with this hotel is the rooms are gettting tired and it is in need of refutrbishment. Also the bar rates are very high. £9.95 for a BLT!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripperBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,105 reviews
2.7 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
497 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#34 of 73 in Blackpool
1,039 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#18 of 73 in Blackpool
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#20 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £50 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Imperial Hotel Blackpool dominates the North Promenade and was one of the first hotels the Victorians built in the new seaside resort of Blackpool.Everything Blackpool has to offer is right on your doorstep and it’s a great base for exploring the surrounding region. Venture out to discover unspoilt beaches on the Fylde Coast and Cumbria’s picturesque lakes and mountains.This stunning Victorian Blackpool hotel boasts 180 modern bedrooms, 9 of which are stunning suites with sea views, it also has an indoor pool and the No.10 bar, which has served drinks to many British Prime Ministers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Blackpool
Barcelo Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing