We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh Dear Oh Dear........”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #26 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oh Dear Oh Dear........”
Reviewed 4 October 2010

The Imperial presents an impressive facade on the quieter North Shore of Blackpool's seafront. Unfortunately when you go behind the facade the picture is very different. The hotel's website prefaces the description of each of its room types with the wording "Retaining the charm and character of the hotel" - well read on and make up your own mind. My room was on the fourth floor, which appears to be shared with staff accommodation. Creaky uneven floors, soap tray in the shower occupied by the previous guest's razor and part-used toiletries, filthy showerhead, mould on the tiles, ill-fitting draughty windows, cobwebs in the lampshade. That was just the inside. The view from my window was over the back of the hotel, revealing broken drainpipes, leaky kitchen extraction, rotting window frames and giving an overall appearance of a building that should be knocked down. It gets worse - I got in the lift with a member of staff who had already pressed the basement button. The doors opened to reveal a tangled mess of wiring coming through a ragged hole in the ceiling and screaming of an electrical fault waiting to happen. It beggars belief that members of the public should be allowed anywhere near the place, let alone being asked to pay for the privilege. The best thing that could happen to this place is a demolition contractor's wrecking ball.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dickydriftwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2010
Dear Guest, thank you for reviewing my hotel on Trip Advisor, I'm only sorry we did not get the opportunity to meet during your stay. I appreciate your comments and am able to identify the room by the photos and will of course tackle this. For your information, we have an extensive external project beginning shortly which involves major cosmetic works to the outside of the building and will address windows and brickwork at this time. Thanks again, Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,083
    986
    536
    285
    168
See reviews for
758
1,355
83
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (773)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Booked a sea view room. This gave a great outlook onto the coastline. Most comfortable and staff more than welcome to assist, always with a genuine smile on their faces. The food was of a very high standard and the staff in the Palm Court were extremely busy at all times but always took leave to ensure that you were individually attended to. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay and will certainly book again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diesdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2010
Thanks so much for taking the time to register your thoughts. I'm delighted that the team looked after you so well and hope to welcome you back soon. Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2010

The staff at this hotel are so helpful and obliging and gauranteed to make your stay a pleasant one

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank powerfullpier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2010
Thanks so much for your kind comments about the staff. I do appreciate how lucky I am with the team I have and will let them know your kind thought. Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2010

bathroom was disgusting, the tiles and the bath surround were covered in mould. The bedroom window would not stay open, had to jam the waste bin so that it would stay open. We asked to be relocated to another room which was only just acceptable. No sky tv available to watch rider cup, just as well it was rained off. Staff not particular apologetic . . Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2jabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2010
Dear Guest, thank you for registering your thoughts on trip advisor. I do apprecaite your feedback. We have recently employed an excellent tiler who is tackling the last of our bathroom refurbishments. I hope he has already got to this one. The hotel embarks on an extensive external project this month which involves some replacement and/or repair of windows alongside some cleaning and decorative work on all elevations of the hotel. I hope you will try us out again in the near future to enjoy the enhancements these projects will bring to the hotel. With kindest regards, Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2010

took the wife away for the weekend and decided to stay in this hotel. superb location to get into the town centre, stayed in room 327 that was perfectly clean and a very good size with a lovely sea view.

Staff were very freindly and always said hello whenever we passed them. Breakfast is superb well cooked and a huge choice.

We will definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fingers666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Visual impression both inside and out is very welcoming. Very comfortable bed and pillows, great to relax and watch tv. Dining room service and food the best I have ever had, everything was exceptionally brilliant. The Health Suite offers a good range of treatments and facilities, I had a full body massage and pedicure by Emily for the first time and I can thoroughly recommend this.
Make a trip, relax and enjoy the whole visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annettequeenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2010
How wonderful to hear how much you've enjoyed your experience! Thank you for taking the time to register your thoughts on trip advisor and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. With kindest regards, Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

I wanted an overnight stay in Blackpool and decided to stay at the Imperial. Some earlier reviews had mad me wary but I was pleased by the hotel. The receptionist was pleasant and helpful, no problem with check in. My room was on the 3rd floor and towards the back. The family room was clean and comfortable, carpets and furnishing were all good and the bed was large and comfortable. Maybe the lighting could have been better, but it wasn't bad. The bar service was a little eccentric and the lady managed to key in my room number so the initial bill was over £3500 rather than a more modest £23, but it was soon corrected.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenisWm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2010
I'm delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you very much for posting your thoughts on trip advisor, I very much apprecaite it. With best wishes, Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,851 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#34 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
2.7 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#31 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#20 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Imperial Hotel Blackpool dominates the North Promenade and was one of the first hotels the Victorians built in the new seaside resort of Blackpool.Everything Blackpool has to offer is right on your doorstep and it’s a great base for exploring the surrounding region. Venture out to discover unspoilt beaches on the Fylde Coast and Cumbria’s picturesque lakes and mountains.This stunning Victorian Blackpool hotel boasts 180 modern bedrooms, 9 of which are stunning suites with sea views, it also has an indoor pool and the No.10 bar, which has served drinks to many British Prime Ministers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Blackpool
Barcelo Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing