We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff so helpful and approachable”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 9 October 2010

The staff in this hotel are amazingly helpful and friendly, always appearing with a smile. Hotel is well organised and although a little old fashioned (which gives it character ) everything is in place for a pleasantly relaxing and comfortable stay. If you are looking for a special place to stay in Blackpool then this is it!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearlfisher123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2010

Thank you so much for your kind comments. I'm glad to read that you had such a great time and I hope you were able to enjoy the many sights and sounds of our vibrant town! We look forward to welcoming you back, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,259)
There are newer reviews for The Imperial Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,926 - 2,932 of 3,260 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2010

We stopped off at Blackpool on our way home and we drove into the car park of the Imperial with fingers crossed, we got an excellent offer for me, my wife and 2 young children 3 years and 4 months for 2 nights.
The entrance hallway dazzles you with it's victorian look, my wife was thrilled. the room was of exceptional quality, a massive bed, big television for my son. the swimming pool and leisure facilities were second to none. th staff were nothing but friendly even giving advice on heating up baby milk. we will use this hotel on every visit to blackpool and will certainly look for the barcelo name on other hotels. Thanks for a lovely break. the buffet breakfast was great and good value. if only all hotels were like this.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank choppylegges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2010

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your kind words after your recent stay. I'm delighted that the team looked after you so well and hope the children enjoyed the magic of "Blackpool Illuminations", I'm sure you'll agree the town is looking fantastic with all of the refurbishment work which has been going on and I hope you'll be back again next year to see the results of the improvements. With kindest regards, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Some 25 years after our last visit we returned to the Imperial wondering what to expect. It was like we had never been away!
Having attended many licenced trade banquets at the hotel it was a delight to see the old place had not been altered , but preserved. OK it is a little tired in places but it would appear the Management are working thir way through with improvements to the fabric.
A special mention to the friendly staff, who were splendid.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tommoSaleCheshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2010

It's lovely that so many of our guests return to rekindle old memories, and I love to hear their stories from years gone by. Thanks for your report on the hotel and I hope you were able to enjoy the aspects of the town itself too! The council are nuturing it's heritage whilst updating and improving the infrastructure very quickly and with style! We look forward to seeing you again soon, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

We were lucky enough to get a sea view. The room was clean and furnished to a good level. The room also had a flat screen tv which was nice to watch at the end of the day. Bathroom was modern and clean. The staff were extremely helpful and had a genuine interest in the residents of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank don_williams09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2010

Dear Mr williams, Glad to hear you and your family had a great time. I appreciate your comments about the team and will pass them on. Hope you enjoyed Blackpool and were "Wow"ed by all that's going on! With kind regards, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

The Imperial presents an impressive facade on the quieter North Shore of Blackpool's seafront. Unfortunately when you go behind the facade the picture is very different. The hotel's website prefaces the description of each of its room types with the wording "Retaining the charm and character of the hotel" - well read on and make up your own mind. My room was on the fourth floor, which appears to be shared with staff accommodation. Creaky uneven floors, soap tray in the shower occupied by the previous guest's razor and part-used toiletries, filthy showerhead, mould on the tiles, ill-fitting draughty windows, cobwebs in the lampshade. That was just the inside. The view from my window was over the back of the hotel, revealing broken drainpipes, leaky kitchen extraction, rotting window frames and giving an overall appearance of a building that should be knocked down. It gets worse - I got in the lift with a member of staff who had already pressed the basement button. The doors opened to reveal a tangled mess of wiring coming through a ragged hole in the ceiling and screaming of an electrical fault waiting to happen. It beggars belief that members of the public should be allowed anywhere near the place, let alone being asked to pay for the privilege. The best thing that could happen to this place is a demolition contractor's wrecking ball.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dickydriftwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2010

Dear Guest, thank you for reviewing my hotel on Trip Advisor, I'm only sorry we did not get the opportunity to meet during your stay. I appreciate your comments and am able to identify the room by the photos and will of course tackle this. For your information, we have an extensive external project beginning shortly which involves major cosmetic works to the outside of the building and will address windows and brickwork at this time. Thanks again, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Booked a sea view room. This gave a great outlook onto the coastline. Most comfortable and staff more than welcome to assist, always with a genuine smile on their faces. The food was of a very high standard and the staff in the Palm Court were extremely busy at all times but always took leave to ensure that you were individually attended to. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay and will certainly book again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diesdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2010

Thanks so much for taking the time to register your thoughts. I'm delighted that the team looked after you so well and hope to welcome you back soon. Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

The staff at this hotel are so helpful and obliging and gauranteed to make your stay a pleasant one

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank powerfullpier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2010

Thanks so much for your kind comments about the staff. I do appreciate how lucky I am with the team I have and will let them know your kind thought. Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,102 reviews
2.7 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
497 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#34 of 73 in Blackpool
1,038 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#18 of 73 in Blackpool
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#20 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £48 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Imperial Hotel Blackpool dominates the North Promenade and was one of the first hotels the Victorians built in the new seaside resort of Blackpool.Everything Blackpool has to offer is right on your doorstep and it’s a great base for exploring the surrounding region. Venture out to discover unspoilt beaches on the Fylde Coast and Cumbria’s picturesque lakes and mountains.This stunning Victorian Blackpool hotel boasts 180 modern bedrooms, 9 of which are stunning suites with sea views, it also has an indoor pool and the No.10 bar, which has served drinks to many British Prime Ministers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Blackpool
Barcelo Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing