We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded Grandeur but OK”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #25 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Faded Grandeur but OK”
Reviewed 28 October 2010

This is an OK hotel. I wasn't expecting it to be anything more than it was, so I wasn't disappointed. The building is quite majestic looking & would have been amazing in it's day, but it is tired & in need of a few million pounds being spent on it. But then again, it's not so very out of character with Blackpool itself, so I'm sure many of it's clients don't blink at eye at the tiredness of the place at all.

The rooms were OK, but again, in need of work. The staff were all very friendly. Breakfast was a little hectic & could have been better but I think there was a convention staying at the hotel so the staff were being kept very busy. Probably the best hotel in Blackpool I guess, so just go with the flow & enjoy the Pleasure Beach! I would stay here again as there was nothing awful about it, just not up to the standard of similar graded hotels elsewhere in the country.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,098
    995
    543
    288
    170
See reviews for
765
1,370
87
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (782)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We would highly recommend it. The staff went out of their way to ensure our stay was extremely comfortable. We found hotel to be clean.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresaknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Fantastic staff, beautiful hotel and superb food. Our annual conference was the best yet and the hotel played a large part in this. If you're planning a conference here I can definitely recommend it, speak to Diane, Alison or Gill for ideas and inspiration. Thank you all.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoulipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Had a wonderful two day break for the Lights. Excellent service .food good & all staff very friendly & helpful.Hopefully,will be going again.soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David187059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

enjoyed everything about this hotel, travelled with family members who also enjoyed their stay. comfortable rooms great choice at breakfast would definately stay again

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elksrufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2010
So glad to read about your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back at a later date. Hope you enjoyed all that's going on in our vibrant town, see you soon, Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We go to Blackpool as a family usually once a year and have stayed in some 3* hotels which have been awful,this time we stayed in the 4*barcelo imperial hotel north shore and can honestly say it's the best hotel we've stayed at in Blackpool,2adults 2 children in a family room,room only at approx £63 per nt,peace and quiet at night family hotel,swimming pool and spa included in the price,would recommend this hotel for any family wanting a quality hotel in Blackpool at a decent price.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2010
Glad to hear that you and your family had such a fabulous time. The hotel is a great location for families at this time of year with the "awe-inspiring" views of the lights from your windows! Magical for youngsters! Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments and we hope to see you again soon, Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

As part of our trade association, every year the incoming president hosts a weekend at a place in the UK of choice. Being a northern guy, my choice was Blackpool. Having checked out 3 other hotels in October 2009 (when we started to organise the event) I had no hesitation in choosing the Imperial. From the moment we sat down with the Manager in 2009 to leaving the hotel on the afternoon after our 2 day / night event, nothing was too much trouble to the staff.
We had 66 guests on Friday and a further 40 on the saturday, both evenings had meals in the hotel which were exactly what and how we wanted them. The Saturday was a black tie dinner dance in the washington suite, which was set out for us just as we wanted (there were also 2 more events taking place in the hotel that evening of similar or greater numbers than ours) We were made to feel that we were the only ones that mattered, and everything went to plan. I personally spoke with all our guests over the weekend and did not hear one bad word about the hotel. Our guests had travelled from all over the UK and many travel the world as I do to conduct business. I am sure we would have had some negative feedback if there was any. Will be back!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonyw6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2010
Dear Tony, Thank you so much for registering your kind comments. Your event was a pleasure to oversee, we very much enjoyed working with you, Carol and Jan and I am delighted that you've started your year in chains with a flourish!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon, Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,910 reviews
2.7 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,042 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#35 of 70 in Blackpool
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
454 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 70 in Blackpool
985 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 70 in Blackpool
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#20 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Imperial Hotel Blackpool dominates the North Promenade and was one of the first hotels the Victorians built in the new seaside resort of Blackpool.Everything Blackpool has to offer is right on your doorstep and it’s a great base for exploring the surrounding region. Venture out to discover unspoilt beaches on the Fylde Coast and Cumbria’s picturesque lakes and mountains.This stunning Victorian Blackpool hotel boasts 180 modern bedrooms, 9 of which are stunning suites with sea views, it also has an indoor pool and the No.10 bar, which has served drinks to many British Prime Ministers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Blackpool
Barcelo Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing