We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just dont” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joyce's Plaice - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Joyce's Plaice
Cuisines: Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Takeout
Description: Fish and chip shop
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Just dont”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Awful service. Awful food. Expensive. Save your hard earned money. However long they've been at they've no clue how to cook fish. Thick white grease between the batter and the fish. Swimming in oil. Yuck!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    1
    1
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awful food, awful service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Went there with my partner. I didn't get what I ordered, but was charged for it. The chips were as hard as bullets. An elderly gentleman ordered food in the cafe area and we could hear the girl who served him plus the other staff slagging him off. The fish was swimming in oil which stank to high heaven. Staff are rude. When I asked for a knife and fork that didn't come with the meal anyone would have thought I asked them to run the London marathon with nails tied to their feet! Talk about tutting and sighing. And to add insult to injury I had to wait ten minutes in order to pay for this disgusting mess!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank welldoyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“terrible organisation making the job twice as hard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

have had chippy ourselves and ca only describe this place as chaos, no body takes ordered, joyce asking along the line then cant remember whos had what, its just a mind field!! good variety of food, but very greasy and was very unimpressed on our last vist, will not be using again

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sinatrahotelowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ummm wth?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

went during peak hours (about 6-ish) shop was quite busy, ordered fish and chips, got home, fish was swimming in oil and chips were brown and oily. threw 3 portions of haddock and chips away as we were concened about our health. we'll stay to the extra 20min drive to thornton-cleveleys

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank k k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“My big mistake”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Read the few reviews on here thought I'd give em a try.as my regular shop was closed for holidays.yuk yuk yuk.fried in oil tasted like oil dripping in oil.never again Sorry Joyce.if you just exchanged them for me instead of the argument.i maybe a given you 2 stars.back to my regular shop for me the next time.the Yorkshire fryer in Layton worth the extra mile drive and cooked in beef dripping not cheap oil.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank japdwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joyce's Plaice also viewed

Bispham, Blackpool
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing