We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A guide to horrible history” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blackpool Tower Dungeon

The Blackpool Tower Dungeon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Journey into the belly of the theatrical Blackpool Tower for the trip of a lifetime; a full cast of brilliant actors, ten shows backed with laughs and frights as well as a whole host of authentic sets, amazing special effects and an exciting drop ride make The Blackpool Tower Dungeon the best attraction for those who like a mix of fun and fear.Take a trip through 1,000 years of Lancashire’s gruesome and funny history and experience the dark and mysterious past of the pool that is black.
Warrington, Cheshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A guide to horrible history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

How to warm up on a chilly afternoon? Try and get the blood pumping in the Blackpool Dungeon. Its dark, scarey and the actors get the audience to participate within the stories as part display of horror and gore to scare and entertain. From the plague to the Pendle witches its a travel through horrid history thst gets the people screaming. Is it fear or hysterical laughter. You decide.

Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,274
    826
    257
    74
    73
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We found this really good value (booked online first for 2 adults, 3 kids (aged 11,15,15) This was really worth every penny £54, really well done, the actors in there are well trained and really enthusiastic about their job, one or two jumpy bits, the drop ride was good, better than York Dungeons, would recommend this, made our trip over to Blackpool worthwhile

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank trevinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Went with friends and what a great time! The actors were brilliant and really creepy. Would definitively go again. I wouldn't take kids under 12 though as it can be pretty scary at times.
Try and find vouchers at your hotel to get the price down abit though!

Overall one of the best things to do when visiting blackpool : )

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Nala2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

This is the third of the dungeon attractions I have now visited, and they just keep getting better! Recommend to anyone that it is a fab place to visit.
Scary and funny all in one! The actors and staff are fantastic. They work very hard and it pays off!

GO! You won't be dissapointed!

Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was not not ment to open to the public until 1st September, it was brilliant it is ok for 14 and over this age group”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Anyone going to this attraction it is very scary and in some parts very funny, I would say maybe 11yrs old upwards to Adults. As very young children and if scared of the dark, things jumping out at you and some of the things they do to kids (Nothing Serious) but could have an affect on them afterwards maybe as well to stay away as it lasts up to 1hr 15mins approx and you can't turn round and go out. I enjoyed it and so did my family I would go again!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank JANINE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blackpool Tower Dungeon also viewed

 
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to The Blackpool Tower Dungeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing