We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“*No way am going there again*”
Review of Brownes hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brownes hotel
Ranked #739 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The Hotel was over booked, they left me and my girlfriend on the street for 30 minutes and I ended up moved to another sister hotel witch is not what I could of booked on the first place, ! I do not really know what the previous Review is on about because there was no reception, apart from a tinny empty bar with no draft or any drinks at all,. Seriously: if you all ready have reservation in this hotel, you better make sure you have make another reservation to another hotel just to save your self a room to sleep, because if you do not, you will end up on the street with your bags in your hands !!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 654Jack654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Brownes hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2012

This was a last minute booking for us, 2 adults and 2 children. Did just what we wanted for the price and the added extras were thoughtful. We arrived quite late to a nice reception, bottles of water in the room, plenty of tea and coffee and lovely biscuits. Nice to still get complimentary toiletries in a room.

We didn't really hang around the hotel so can't comment on other facilities but the breakfast was amazing. You could have pretty much anything you wanted and the presentation of it was lovely.

Have to say that the waiting staff in the morning were so cheery and looked the part all in black, shirts - very smart. Couldn't do enough for you.

We found parking easy enough on the road outside and the tram stop is just at the bottom of the road.

We will be booking again next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KellyjandMarkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed for just one night this weekend in room 1 for our anniversary beautifully decorated bnb great owner. Only down fall is no plug in Baths but a shower head is there for use would definitely recommend x

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashleigh Olivia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Booked 4 weeks in advance to stay at Homecliffe Hotel double ensuite , however received a telephone call from the Manager offering us an upgrade to hie new Hotel Browns with a Seaview ( with no extra charge as we paid £70) on the front we thought this was to good to be true YOU guessed it it was we had been Conned as on arrival after 5 hours journey from London and really looking forward to our short break we were greeted with a side road Hotel where was the Seaview you may well ask it was nowhere to be seen never mind we thought as least we would have a relaxing room to stay in GUESS again NO we were wrong again. The double ensutie room turned out to be a room no bigger than a broom cupboard with single bunkbeds bear in mind we are a couple, the icing on the cake no UNSUITE not even a Loo unless you fancied going down 1 flight of stairs along the corridor where it seemed 1 loo for all however not sure where you are supposed to wash your hands? Apparently we are not the only couple to fall for this SCAM as it seemd that this is a passtime for the Hoteliers across the road to watch to see how long before the Guests arrive only to make a fast exit even those with small chilldren. I feel that this has tainted what we were looking forward to and that thisnwould discourage others to visit this Hotel I am as was advised that Trading Standards should take alook into whatever is going on here. The Owner tried saying that we had no booking after we said we were not happy witht the room even made us provide proof that payment had been taken by him a refund was eventually given .

Room Tip: Not at this Hotel
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank james p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We received a phone call at 14.00hrs(from Brownes international) on sat afternoom, on the day of our arrival informing us there was problem with our room. We were being moved to another hotel(Brownes hotel on Vance road) . I asked if the new hotel had parking, I was told there was NCP car parking near by . I told the manager that would cost us of £14 for parking so he offered to let us park at Brownes international and they would get us a taxis on to Brownes hotel which we perfect happy with . The problem was in the morning when we tried to collect our car from Brownes International . We found out somebody had parked us in and we were told by the manager that the car was owned by somebody who was`nt at their hotel and the hotel had no contact details for them. After been left to wait 3hrs for the owner of the car to return, we then found out from the owner of the car that both the owner and the manager knew whos the car it was and the manager had been given their phone number. Also the manager had told the owner of the car to be out all day...ANY BODY EVER THINKING OF STOPPING IN BROWNES HOTEL OR BROWNES INTERNATIONAL PLEASE DON`T, SAVE YOURSELF THE HASSLE AND STAY AWAY FROM.....IF THESE PPLE ARE TRYING TO REPRESENT BRITAIN GOD HELP US

Room Tip: there is none
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank steviemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We arrived at this hotel on Saturday 22nd sept after a five hour drive from London to find the door locked, after a little while, a young man opened the door and gave us (four couples) the keys.we then went to view the bedrooms. Two of the rooms had bunk beds (we booked for double bed rooms)- the bath was stuck against the wall and you had to walk down a corridor to get to a loo. The other room was so small it should be a wardrobe . The day we booked someone from Brownes phoned us and offered us an upgrade for the same price saying it had good sea views , all bedrooms had en-suite ,  and a bar with all amenities so we accepted and payed £70 for a one night stay per couple. Sounds good I can hear you all say, well here comes the reality:
1. The only way this hotel would have a sea view is if it was demolished and moved 
2. It may have been en- suite, I did not take the time to look under the bunk beds for the chamber pots
3. The bar had no drink in it apart from a sink. So you would be alright if you liked water. 
4. The pool table must have been under one of  the bunk beds , because hard as we tried we could not see it. 

We demanded our money back but this was not forthcoming untill we mentioned certain authorities.  Not worth the money or the hassle

Room Tip: Do not chose this hotel go elsewhere
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I went to Blackpool for a night with my other half and stayed in Browne's International. We arrived at half past 1 in the afternoon, and even though our check-in wasn't until half past 2, we got our keys straight away (even though reception was quite busy with a hen party also checking in - some of whom had already had one too many!)
Went up to the room to find we'd been given a twin room instead of the double we booked, but we went back down to reception and got the room swapped to the double without any trouble.
We dropped our stuff in the room, which was small but the furniture was lovely and it was clean, as was the small en-suite before heading out into Blackpool.

We returned to the hotel at around midnight and headed for bed. We could hear the sound of people speaking, but at this point it wasn't too loud so thought little of it and managed to fall asleep. We were woken up at around 3am by very loud talking/shouting we assume was coming from the hen party above us, but the walls are so paper-thin you can hear every word the guests in the neighbouring rooms are saying. The next thing we know there is a male member of staff up there trying to get the women to be quiet, but making no effort to keep his voice down himself. This continued for the best part of an hour.
Managed to sleep sporadically for the next few hours before the sound of Coronation Street blared through the wall of the next room at 8am.

Showered and went down for breakfast. The menu is lovely. We were immediately brought toast to the table as we sat down. We ordered a pot of tea straight away (which we never need to wait for it to be refilled as a waiter was always there to offer more, without hovering), there was cereal, fruit and fruit juice out to choose from. My other half ordered the full English whereas I opted for the eggs Benedict (I would really recommend this to anyone, it was really, really delicious!).
We handed in our key when we checked out at half past 10, mentioned the incident of the previous night to the receptionist who was extremely apologetic).

I do fully appreciate that the behaviour of other guests is not the fault of the hotel, however if you are a light sleeper like myself, this is probably not the place for you as like I previously mentioned, the walls are extremely thin and you can hear absolutely everything going on in adjoining rooms (especially including those above!). Other than this, the hotel is nicely decorated (the lounge next to reception is lovely, although I only sat in it for about 2 minutes!), the room, as I said had nice furniture, was clean, had a small flatscreen on the wall and the en-suite was also clean and met our needs). The breakfast was beautiful and the staff were friendly and helpful towards us.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hollie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.7 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#98 of 133 in Blackpool
146 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#343 of 859 in Blackpool
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#283 of 859 in Blackpool
150 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belmont Hotel
Belmont Hotel
#136 of 859 in Blackpool
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arlingtons
Arlingtons
#25 of 859 in Blackpool
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brownes hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brownes hotel

Address: 15 Vance Road, Blackpool FY1 4QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #739 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing