We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely looked after by Jenny and John!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunrise Avenue Hotel
Ranked #100 of 858 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Completely looked after by Jenny and John!!”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Just got back from a 2 night stay in Blackpool. Did not originally book the sunrise avenue, we booked the hotel next door... Who, after we'd paid, sold up and moved out!! Luckily for us, Jenny and John contacted us and could fit us in. Car was parked round the back no problem. The owners are wonderful!! They actually couldn't have done more for us! We are a family of 5, with 3 kids aged 5,4 and 1.... Down in the lounge Jenny had a wee stash of goodies to entertain the kids and we had 1 good night down there with the kids playing away and me and my husband enjoying some very reasonably priced drinks from the bar! Breakfast was fab, kids all catered for and they didn't mind our rather noisy 1 year old tearing around! Our 5 year old couldn't get her favourite poached eggs, but settled quite happily on a sausage sandwich! On our 2nd day we got completely soaked... Squelchy trainers, dripping coats soaked, n Jenny put all our wet stuff thru the washer n dryer and got our soaked buggy dry again for morning... Very very grateful for that!! U don't get a personal touch like that in a travel lodge! Our 2nd night we got a take away for tea and took it back to the b and b... Again Jenny got us all we needed, couldn't b more helpful. The room we had had bunk beds and a double bed, it was small but it did all we needed it to do. Lovely big window onto the street, clean n nicely furnished. Could maybe do with a lamp though... For when kids r sleeping but grown ups arent! Hubby ws delighted with the flat screen lcd telly so he could plug in his Hard drive with all our movies on... Kids got to watch all the dora They wanted brought from home! Lounge down stairs decorated lovely, nice furniture and lighting. We had a lovely time, and would definitely ring here to see if they could fit us in before anywhere else when thinking about goin back to Blackpool! Thanks for everything Jenny and John!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mummy2TMandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    11
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
85
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

Had a great stay here Jenny her children &john were very friendly& couldn't do enough for us.Great location next to waterpark the fair&south prom . Room was spotless& couldn't fault it one bit .REasonable bar prices as well breakfast was fit for a king to .We enjoyed it that much that we booked&paid to go back in October .

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorks, England
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed on Bank Holiday weekend (August 2011) and booked quite last minute. On the day of our arrival they phoned us to say they had had a mix up with the bookings, but they managed to squeeze us in. We were in a twin room, which was very very small (a gap of around one foot between the beds) The shower room was also very tight, but it did the job! The staff were friendly and helpful. The location is great as it is only a very short walk from the front. When we arrived there was no where to park and the car park was full (due to someone arriving in a transit van!) So the owners son moved another car and we squeezed in between the two buildings - glad it wasn't me driving!
It could do with a bit of money spending on it for moderisation, but it was clean and comfy enough if a little tired. I think overall I can only give the B&B an average, but the owners as hosts rate much higher.

Room Tip: We were at the very top - lots of stairs and front facing, so we heard people from neighbouring b&am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VFranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Jenny and John could not have been more friendly to us during our 1 night stay.

We'd spoken before our visit as expedia had cocked up our booking and it turned out we weren't actually booked in at all. However, Jenny jiggled everything about to make sure our family of four could stay during an extremely busy week in Blackpool. When we arrived, the car park was full, but John was straight over the road (after pouring me a much needed glass of wine) to another hotel who managed to fit us in.

We've always shied away from B&Bs in the past, but would definitely come here again. The whole family were lovely and we had a good laugh with them in the bar later on.

Our room, although it was only supposed to hold 2, was absolutely fine and the kids were happy. Breakfast was great too.

I don't normally write reviews, but in light of the CH4 documentary last night where serial trip advisors do nothing but complain and wreck family businesses, I felt compelled to write something positive for a much deserved family. They really made our stay and we'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreemanFamilyHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2011

stayed at hotel 7/10/2011 we had a great stay,very welcoming,friendly,and clean
we booked a family room as that was all that was left at the time,when we got there they gave us two double rooms as our boys were older,this was very welcomed.the rooms had all new bed's,bedding etc and very clean.we had full english breakfasts in the morning,which was incd in the price,it was fantastic and i would value that alone at $8-00 pp.so all in all it was well worth the money,defanite bargain ,and the bar was very very cheap,which most hotels charge high prices .would recomend this to a friend if they were to stay in blackpool,we will be booking again.we were 2min walk to pleasure land.and 1min from prom.great location,and noise free.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derrydundee2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Blackpool South Promenade
0.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 69 in Blackpool
3,067 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alfies Hotel
Alfies Hotel
#501 of 858 in Blackpool
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Holmeleigh Hotel
The Holmeleigh Hotel
#133 of 858 in Blackpool
204 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Villa Hotel
The Villa Hotel
#212 of 858 in Blackpool
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Diego Guest House
San Diego Guest House
#115 of 858 in Blackpool
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Avenue Hotel

Property: Sunrise Avenue Hotel
Address: 18 Withnell Road, Blackpool FY4 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 858 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunrise Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing