We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny room, could'nt move!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunrise Avenue Hotel
Ranked #185 of 864 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We booked a family room and a double room here for our family of 6. While the double room was not a bad size our family room was tiny, should have been a single really. Only one person could walk around at a time and there was nowhere to put our stuff, not even a wardrobe or drawers or a shelf even. The ensuite was also tiny and very hard to get into the shower. There was no soap or hand wash. When we arrived there was washing all over the lounge floor which put me off! Breakfast was actually very good but the dining room was so shabby.
There were wall lights falling off the walls by the wires on the stairways. The owners were very friendly and it is in a great location but they are the only good points. I usually bath or shower my kids every night but they went without the whole holiday because it was so cramped it would have been an ordeal! I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank owen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennyJohnBlackpool, Owner at Sunrise Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Firstly,the person whose log in you have used may not be the individual who actually stayed here, so please forward this reply to them... Thankyou. The Sunrise Avenue Hotel is a strictly non smoking hotel and if we had known you were smoking in both the double and family rooms we would have asked you to leave straight away as it breaches our guidelines and is against the law, you put the whole hotel at risk. You were quite at ease to mention all the impurities around the hotel in this review, but you failed to notice the many non smoking signs on every floor within the hotel and clear signage on the back of your room door. The very thought of you smoking in a room with your children in there is beyond belief. We aked you if everything with your room was ok to which you replied YES.We have also scoured the hotel for the offending hanging light and cannot find it. The room can't have been that bad as you spent the whole night in there and left your family downstairs for the WHOLE stay which was only one night. We understand that our rooms 3 and 4 are not perfect and are destined for a 5k renovation in January. We admit also that there was probably some ironing on the seating in the lounge whilst our laundry room is being decorated, but can assure you it would have been cleared had you tried to check in at the listed time of 14:00.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2012

Arrived on time, what a shambles. Told to come back after three as she was not ready which explained all the washing all over the lounge and on the landings. arrived back after three and finally shown to our room/cupboard ( washing still all over the place). Where shall we start.
We were greeted by a football sized hole in the ceiling. which was illuminated by a lonely shade less light bulb. no place for the kettle so it was on the floor beneath a pole with was our wardrobe.. There was a crack straight across the window pane. there was a hairbrush in the draws next to the bed which was full of hair.
The bathroom......, the shower cubical was all mouldy with the added attraction of hair. I hadn't been in the room 2 minutes and decided i needed to speak to the owner to highlight these issues. Spoke to Jenny who said that she would speak to her partner. I returned to the room. Jenny and partner came to the room and as i highlighted some of the issues mentioned was asked if i had already paid for the rooms ( we had friends with their children arriving to stay shortly ) which we had . We were then ungraciously refunded our money and asked to leave leaving two families both with children stranded outside in the rain to find other accomodation at such short notice on a bank holiday weekend Annoyed as we had paid a premium price for the rooms going off the pictures which we on their website ( which did not include the room we were given) .
Thanks to the hoteliers around the same location we found a lovely guest house which accomodated us and we eventually enjoyed our stay


Gave an honest review on Sunrise Avenue Hotel website which has been removed

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
5  Thank kingsley990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennyJohnBlackpool, Owner at Sunrise Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

The mentioned room and one other are soon to be renovated and made bigger at a cost of around 5k.... We decided to give this family a full refund despite them making an error during their booking thinking they had booked the large family room. The full refund was a gesture of good will despite one of the families settling down in the above mentioned room whilst hubby went off to find a better one , lying on the beds with the TV on.... So much for the lucky escape... We did show hubby what he thought he had paid for and ultimately what he could`ve won, which in reflection upset him even more.. We are very pleased that the family found better accomodation and really hope they cheered up enough to enjoy their one night stay in Blackpool..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Absolutely disgusted with 'service' from owner of Sunrise Avenue, very disappointing considering all the good reviews I'd read prior to booking. We arrived at around 1.30pm after specifically emailing to ask if we could park up should we arrive early (2 parties, myself and my cousin travelling with young kids) and she assured us this would be fine as there was parking available, we could park up and get on with our day, then return later to check in. When we got there, they were not ready, and I was informed that the lady (Jenny, I believe) was on her own and she asked us to come back after 3pm (website did say 2pm), this would have been absolutely fine if we'd been able to park up, as promised, and take the kids to the nearby attractions, but there was only 1 space for 2 cars; apparently the previous guests had checked out but left their car to spend all day at the pleasure beach, Jenny informed us she had no idea when they'd be back. This meant my cousin having to drive around for 40 mins to find somewhere to park (unsuccessful, and kids extremely restless by this point).
When she finally returned hopeful for a change in the situation, there was still no parking space, so she complained that the 'hosts' knew we were arriving this afternoon and therefore should have made sure adequate parking was available in view of the reassurance we'd had regarding this, and that the situation was unacceptable. All we got by way of explanation was that it was 'outside of my control' and that apparently she hadn't seen them before they'd left, even though they'd supposedly checked out!
Clearly unhappy at someone having the audacity to complain, I was told that she didn't like the way my cousin had spoken to her and therefore didn't want us to stay in her guest house so she would be giving us a refund, leaving us (with a total of 4 kids between us) to drive around to find alternative accommodation. Luckily we found a lovely little guest house a few streets away who's owners were charming and, although completely unprepared for the sudden arrival of 2 families, invited us to leave our bags and they would sort our rooms while we went out for the evening. Now THAT'S what I call service, not someone who promises one thing, delivers way short then tells you to leave when you dare complain.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
6  Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennyJohnBlackpool, Owner at Sunrise Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

The irony of the above review is that after spending a good deal of time time trying to find alternative parking in this busy time, both cars were parked in the spaces provided. Which made the search for alternative parking as unnecessary as the verbally venomous assault my partner Jenny recieved.. Jenny didnt deserve this, and therefore didnt want this hateful individual staying in our hotel which is also our home. We do not want this kind of custom. We also have a duty of care for other paying customers at the hotel and made a decision that this family would not be stopping with us.. This terrible attitude is quite clear in the above review..
We would like this review to stay on trip advisor as a sobering reminder to us that not all people are suitable guests, and furthermore, that any family wishing to stay at the Sunrise Avenue Hotel do not have an absolute right to do so and as responsible hard working hoteliers we are not "duty bound" to accomodate them.After the verbal abuse Jenny recieved, we gave both families a full refund and were very relieved they went elsewhere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

they are just on doing hotel up and will be lovely when finished, they are lovely people, but would have liked a front door key as we had to ring door bell all time. then when i went out for cigarette tried to leave middle door on catch but as soon as i opened front door, middle door locked me out at 6am lol..... had to fone hubby and get him to come to open door. i think a back room would be quieter... if you look out front door you can see the pier near pleasure beach, you are literally that close................. great breakfast!!!

Room Tip: ask for a new refurb room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairevodka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Just come home from spending 2 nights at Sunrise Avenue. Jen and John what a great couple you are you made us feel so welcome nothing was to much trouble. room we stayed in was lovely, very clean, breakfast was great (very filling) and prices at the bar were brilliant. Location of the sunrise is great for everything. Real family feel to this hotel and were realy looking forward to booking next year.
Keep up the good work Jen, John and family.
Ray, Nat and Libbie

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

There is nothing that the owners won't do to make your stay as comfortable as possible !! Breakfast as you want it, cooked perfectly!! Rooms are lovely, they are renovating as we speak and you would never know as there is no disruption to guests, will definitely be back and recommend to anyone to stay, what a gem, perfect for pleasure beach and the sandcastle,

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shona1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Stayed for one night with two young children. Will def come back for longer stay. Rooms clean and comfy, owners couldn't do enough for us - even offered tumble dry all our clothes after caught in storm! You can see the Sandcastle waterpark from the hotel and Pleasure Beach / Pizza Hut etc is one minute away. Family room was compact but spotless and great value for money. RIng the hotel direct rather than book through agent. Lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.7 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#86 of 864 in Blackpool
214 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,403 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
563 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#134 of 864 in Blackpool
85 reviews
0.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Avenue Hotel

Address: 18 Withnell Road, Blackpool FY4 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £59 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Sunrise Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing