We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than a 5 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunrise Avenue Hotel
Ranked #117 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“better than a 5 star hotel”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

THE BEST PLACE TO STAY IN WHILE AT BALCKPOOL
Very welcoming and hospitality was excellent, very pleasant, very clean. Was welcomed upon arrival was shown to room. room was very clean and freash. A HOTEL WORTH A 5* RATING

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    11
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
82
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I have stayed in lots of hotels around the UK, with my hand on my heart the hospitality and welcoming attitude of Jenny and her family was the best iv ever experienced, the owner was just spot on, we was made to feel like part of the family not just a guest in one of there rooms, nothing was to much trouble and the breakfast was out of this world,
The room we stayed in was newly refurbished and was done to a very high spec, you can clearly see that a lot of time, effort and money is being put in to this hotel, with the guests needs being thought about every step of the way,
we booked our room for 3 of us but there was easily enough room for 5,
The hotel is so close to the beach and amenities but with out being on the main strip so u cant sleep or rest when needed, its by far the best place to stay in Blackpool,
HUGS AND KISSES, We will be back soon x x x

Room Tip: this hotel also has large rooms for a family of up to 6, you will not be disappointed,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I organised for a few friends an I to stay at The Sunrise Avenue Hotel in Blackpool over the Easter Bank Holiday and we could not have been happier with the service that we received from John and Jenny.

The hotel has just emerged from a major refurbishment and this might explain some of the negative comments that I'd seen on TripAdvisor.

The Sunrise Avenue Hotel offered my group a tailored boutique service from arrival to departure:
+ Superb location
+ Friendly welcome
+ Immaculate accommodation
+ Excellent shower & WC
+ Great bar facilities to start and end your evening.
++ Olympic breakfast (Thanks Jen)

On the whole.... John and Jenny are genuinely friendly and great fun to be around.

Thanks guys. .. You helped to make our weekend A++

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Booked 3 rooms here, for a 3-night stay in August, for a group of 11 friends & children...and the owners cancelled our booking at short notice.

We made the booking in April, but when another friend tried to book a room, the owner told him they would be closed until October. So, of course, we rang to double check our booking & the owners confirmed that the b&b would definately be open for our stay in August.

3 weeks before we were due to stay, the owner rang us to cancel our booking. He then argued that we'd only booked 2 rooms..thank goodness we had the email to prove that we'd paid a deposit for 3 rooms - what a shambles!! The owner did say he'd ring round other b&b's to try and find us other accomodation & get back to us, but he didn't even bother to do that.

Very poor service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsT1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2013

me and my family stay at the sunrise hotel in Blackpool a few times a year .we always have a very good stay .we wake up 2 a nice breakfast and spend the day out .in the evening we sat down stairs drinking and laughing with the owners joining in and having lots of fun .they always make us feel welcome every time .we just turn up on spec and they still find a room 4 us nothing is 2 much trouble 4 them .its so nice not 2 pay 4 parking its free .the rooms are very clean and tidy tea coffee milk in rooms nice clean towels bars of soap nice hot water. we have recommended your hotel to loads of friends. hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We booked a family room and a double room here for our family of 6. While the double room was not a bad size our family room was tiny, should have been a single really. Only one person could walk around at a time and there was nowhere to put our stuff, not even a wardrobe or drawers or a shelf even. The ensuite was also tiny and very hard to get into the shower. There was no soap or hand wash. When we arrived there was washing all over the lounge floor which put me off! Breakfast was actually very good but the dining room was so shabby.
There were wall lights falling off the walls by the wires on the stairways. The owners were very friendly and it is in a great location but they are the only good points. I usually bath or shower my kids every night but they went without the whole holiday because it was so cramped it would have been an ordeal! I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank owen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennyJohnBlackpool, Owner at Sunrise Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Firstly,the person whose log in you have used may not be the individual who actually stayed here, so please forward this reply to them... Thankyou. The Sunrise Avenue Hotel is a strictly non smoking hotel and if we had known you were smoking in both the double and family rooms we would have asked you to leave straight away as it breaches our guidelines and is against the law, you put the whole hotel at risk. You were quite at ease to mention all the impurities around the hotel in this review, but you failed to notice the many non smoking signs on every floor within the hotel and clear signage on the back of your room door. The very thought of you smoking in a room with your children in there is beyond belief. We aked you if everything with your room was ok to which you replied YES.We have also scoured the hotel for the offending hanging light and cannot find it. The room can't have been that bad as you spent the whole night in there and left your family downstairs for the WHOLE stay which was only one night. We understand that our rooms 3 and 4 are not perfect and are destined for a 5k renovation in January. We admit also that there was probably some ironing on the seating in the lounge whilst our laundry room is being decorated, but can assure you it would have been cleared had you tried to check in at the listed time of 14:00.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Arrived on time, what a shambles. Told to come back after three as she was not ready which explained all the washing all over the lounge and on the landings. arrived back after three and finally shown to our room/cupboard ( washing still all over the place). Where shall we start.
We were greeted by a football sized hole in the ceiling. which was illuminated by a lonely shade less light bulb. no place for the kettle so it was on the floor beneath a pole with was our wardrobe.. There was a crack straight across the window pane. there was a hairbrush in the draws next to the bed which was full of hair.
The bathroom......, the shower cubical was all mouldy with the added attraction of hair. I hadn't been in the room 2 minutes and decided i needed to speak to the owner to highlight these issues. Spoke to Jenny who said that she would speak to her partner. I returned to the room. Jenny and partner came to the room and as i highlighted some of the issues mentioned was asked if i had already paid for the rooms ( we had friends with their children arriving to stay shortly ) which we had . We were then ungraciously refunded our money and asked to leave leaving two families both with children stranded outside in the rain to find other accomodation at such short notice on a bank holiday weekend Annoyed as we had paid a premium price for the rooms going off the pictures which we on their website ( which did not include the room we were given) .
Thanks to the hoteliers around the same location we found a lovely guest house which accomodated us and we eventually enjoyed our stay


Gave an honest review on Sunrise Avenue Hotel website which has been removed

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank kingsley990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennyJohnBlackpool, Owner at Sunrise Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
The mentioned room and one other are soon to be renovated and made bigger at a cost of around 5k.... We decided to give this family a full refund despite them making an error during their booking thinking they had booked the large family room. The full refund was a gesture of good will despite one of the families settling down in the above mentioned room whilst hubby went off to find a better one , lying on the beds with the TV on.... So much for the lucky escape... We did show hubby what he thought he had paid for and ultimately what he could`ve won, which in reflection upset him even more.. We are very pleased that the family found better accomodation and really hope they cheered up enough to enjoy their one night stay in Blackpool..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Blackpool
Aparthotel Blackpool
#54 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Villa Hotel
The Villa Hotel
#203 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Holmeleigh Hotel
The Holmeleigh Hotel
#130 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Withnell Hotel
The Withnell Hotel
#333 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Danescourt Hotel
Danescourt Hotel
#92 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beverley Dean
Beverley Dean
#37 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Avenue Hotel

Property: Sunrise Avenue Hotel
Address: 18 Withnell Road, Blackpool FY4 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunrise Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing